Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars48
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2009
Planning a holiday on Gozo I was concerned I'd made a poor decision when I received this book and found that there were only 6 pages dedicated to Gozo out of a total of 117.

Not so.

The book lists Top 10's that include both Malta and Gozo so you'll find Gozo references sprinkled throughout the lists-on history, churches, restaurants, local food, beaches and areas of natural beauty- to name just a few.

The guide is well illustrated in colour throughout, has all the usual DK production qualities and includes maps that you can use separately.

It enabled me to prioritise easily and when I wanted more information provided web site references etc.

One essential list is the `10 things to avoid'. Item 2 `Driving' is spot on. Take it from me!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I have a large number of these travel guides. What I like about them is their format - each book gives an overview (rather than lots of detail). It provides a summary of what is on offer. Inside is not just the obvious i.e. the Top 10 sights to see. Also you get things like the Top 10 museums & galleries, Top 10 markets, Top 10 Arts & Crafts, Top 10 events etc. - even the Top 10 things to avoid. That makes them very useful, and a unique approach to travel guides. I use them to decide what to do, and then use another book (or a website) to give me more detail if I need that.

This book covers, for example:
 Grand Master's Palace, Valletta
 Magar Qim & Mnajdra Temples
 Marsaxlokk
 The Citadel, Ir-Rabat/Victoria, Gozo
 Dwerjra, Gozo
 Comino
 Top 10 Moments in History
 Top 10 Temples & Ancient Sites
 Top 10 Grand Masters
 Top 10 Churches & Cathedrals
 Top 10 Museums & Arts Centres
 Top 10 Areas of Natural Beauty
 Top 10 Walks & Drives
 Top 10 Beaches & Resorts
 Top 10 Outdoor Activities
 Top 10 Children's Activities
 Top 10 Restaurants
(This is some, not all)

The book in its physical format is small - just small enough to fit inside a DL envelope (i.e. the standard white envelope, designed to accept a sheet of A4 paper folded twice). It is actually a few centimetres shorter than a DL envelope. This compact size makes it easy to fit into your pocket.

This book can't provide detail - it can provide `the big picture'. I now normally take two travel guides with me - a DK Top 10 one like this and a detailed travel guide, to get the best of both worlds. If you just have a detailed travel guide, you can miss out on things that you wish you had visited.

On a separate issue, I originally bought my Top 10 books in the Kindle format (because I am a Kindle lover) and to my surprise found the Kindle format terribly irritating. It taught me that when using a travel guide, you want to be able to flick quickly through it and jump around easily - that's SO much easier with a physical book. In addition, you want it to be in colour - you can cure that by taking your iPad with you but an iPad is bigger and heavier than this book in its paperback version. You can get round that if you have an iPad mini or a large screen smartphone (neither of which I had when I bought this) but you are still left with the problem of being unable to flick around the book quickly. Travel guides just don't work well in the Kindle format, in my opinion.

You may feel otherwise but that is how I feel. I found the relative awkwardness in flicking around the Kindle book a major handicap. And this is despite the fact that I buy most of my books in Kindle format.

The beauty of these books is that they give you an overview, which means that you end up doing things that you would not have done otherwise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 8 July 2015
This 128-page book - the July 2015 print edition - is a colourful and informative guide to the attractions of the Central Mediterranean islands of Malta and Gozo; for real visitors and armchair travellers alike. It has all the usual features, including excellent maps and articles. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for. It is a handy up-to-date guidebook, with all the usual topics a tourist guide provides, as well as chapters on the top ten sites (Grand Master’s Palace, Valletta; St John’s Co-Cathedral, Valletta; Hagar Qim & Mnajdra Temples; L’Imdina & Ir-Rabat; Palazzo Parisio, In-Naxxar; Marsaxlokk; Hal-Saflieni Hypogeum; Paola; The Citadel, Ir-Rabat/Victoria, Gozo; Dwerjra, Gozo; Comino).

The Contents include -
P007: Malta and Gozo’s Top 10
P060: Around Malta and Gozo (6 entries)
P106: Streetsmart (practical touristy information); including -
P112: Places to Stay
P118: General Index
P126: Phrase Book
P128: Map Indexes (sic)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 12 December 2011
A Great general guide to Malta and Gozo. It would be better to have more details on the places in island and more information on the best ways to get to visited the sites. Overall it is a good introduction the the Island of Malta and Gozo and is a handy size to take on holiday as a reference book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 January 2011
I always get the DK Eye witness travel guides for my holiday adventures if they are available. The introduction of the top 10s is just great. Sometimes there is so much to see and explore that this format makes it easy to pick the parts you want and avoid getting home and realising you missed the best bit. Do get the main guide also though, the top ten is someone elses view and it may not be the same as yours but it does help to set out very simply the best bits. There's a section on the top ten of everything for the whole island, then a top tens for each area of the island covering churches, shopping, best places. A joy to read and useful companion
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 24 March 2010
Only had 6 days in Malta, which was not nearly enough time for all the amazing sites to see, however this book was invaluable. The maps are accurate and the advice sound. Would definitely reccommend it you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Top 10 Malta and Gozo was an excellent little guide that came everywhere with us on our holiday. Packed with lots of interesting information not usually found in tour guides (such as historical facts) it also covered all of the best sites and attractions on the islands.

The book gives information in lists of top 10, covering all the major attractions with tips on what features to look out for to ensure you got the most out of the visit. Also gave comprehensive information on all the key resorts including restaurants, shopping and places of interest. We particularly liked the itineries which helped us plan our days to fit in as much as possible and even included cafe's and coffee shops to stop and rest at! It did not lead us anywhere we did not find worth a visit and we did not stumble across anywhere spectacular that was not covered in the guide. It also provided lots of helpful tips on travelling around Malta, things to try, local delicacies, moments in history... lots and lots of lists!

The only drawback was the restaurants sections. This was what we wanted most from a guide as we know dining abroad can be very hit and miss. There was not a ton of information and we could not always find the places listed. Obviously restaurants constantly come and go so we can't purely blame the guide. This shouldn't be something to put you off purchasing it, but would recommend the Time Out guide to Malta as a better resource for foodies!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
The DK series has a good name in our household. The books are reasonably resistant to folding, and are durable enough to survive the handling which travel guides often experience.As there is only a certain amount of Malta to write about, so this volume is quite slim.
The attempt to include several maps to different scales, which fold up into the rear flap, succeeds, but contains a serious error. It advertises the island's ten best beaches, but even the travel trade there admit to there being only three. It runs foul of the Trade Description Act. You don't go to Malta to have the family build endless sandcastles in the sun. For a start, those same authorities confess to summer temperatures in the mid, or even upper, 40s.
Another weakness is the means of treating the history of the island. You don't visit passively and expect to be entertained. To get the best out of the experience it's necessary to be familiar with the history of the island.. The DK guide deals with this in bite-size chunks, based upon the location being described at the time. Thus there is no continuity which allows a clear picture of how events have followed, one after the other, to interact. A short history need not be formidable, but doesn't find a place in this slim volume.Get yourself better informed elsewhere before your departure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 28 February 2010
I have purchased a number of the DK Top 10 guides for various holiday destinations. They are ideal for finding things to do on a 1-2 week break. There is not a great deal of depth to them but if you are looking to get a bit further than the local beach or hotel pool for a few days during your holiday or are on a short city break they cover the main areas of interest. Not going to Malta for a few weeks yet but this guide looks as if it is up to the usual standard.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2010
Very handy to carry around being pocket sized with plenty of top 10 information for all of the areas of Malta. We used the top ten items as comparisons with other information such as trip advisor to decide on restaurants and places to visit. The book is broken down into assorted general top ten lists and then top ten lists by 5 seperate regions. This makes it very easy to look at differnet things to do when you are in each region.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo by Mary-Ann Gallagher (Paperback - 1 July 2015)

Lonely Planet Malta & Gozo (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Malta & Gozo (Travel Guide) by Lonely Planet (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2013)

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo by Mary-Ann Gallagher (Paperback - 1 July 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.