Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars50
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2010
This book was smaller than I thought it would be, but then that was good as it fits in a bag well. Full of interesting info and pics and good maps, perfect for the traveller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
ideal travel guide for Malta.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
Very concise and informative, exactly what I was looking for. It is lightweight too which means it is an excellent choice to fit in my handbag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This was a great help on a recent visit to Malta and we were able to go about without spending a lot of money on guides and expensive places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Very useful for our short holiday break, small and easy to carry Useful local information for walks, buses, places to see and places to eat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
I have always been a fan of Eyewitness Guides, but this is the first in their Top 10 series that I have used. For each of the headings there is a list of the top 10 sites or things to do. This means there is a lot of repetition as sites are listed under several different headings.

To give two examples:
Hal Saflieni (Hypogeum) is listed under Malta and Gozo highlights, Temples and Ancient Sites, Around Southern Malta and also has a two page spread.
Azure Window is listed under Around Gozo and Comino, Dwejra and Top 10 diving and snorkelling sites.

Very often the information is similar for each of the listings.

There is little information about history and culture of the islands or getting around.

There is a small scale map in the front cover which marks towns and villages and shows main roads. The pull out laminated map in the back is the same scale. This is adequate for planning but is useless for navigating once on the island. It does have a map of Valletta, Senglea and Vittoriosa and part of Sliema. There are a few basic street plans showing the location of the listed sites for some towns.

There are also suggestions how to spend one or two days in each place. There is a brief section at the back with suggestions for accommodation.

I was very disappointed in this book. I felt it is geared at the lazy traveller who wants to be told what the must sees are and what to do. Don't waste your money. There are better books around.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Five star service and guidebook. I have no hesitation in recommending DK eyewitness guide and Wordery to anyone! Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
fit easily into a small bag is concise and easy to follow. useful maps. plenty of things to do for a weeks holiday
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
a lovely gift for the traveller who needs that extra bit of information to make the holiday special and relevant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
As a result of buying this I am keen to visit both Malta and Gozo. I will probably do so in the spring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse