Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are going to Malta or Gozo, buy this
Planning a holiday on Gozo I was concerned I'd made a poor decision when I received this book and found that there were only 6 pages dedicated to Gozo out of a total of 117.

Not so.

The book lists Top 10's that include both Malta and Gozo so you'll find Gozo references sprinkled throughout the lists-on history, churches, restaurants, local food,...
Published on 3 Sept. 2009 by CRP

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars moderate guide book
Not as good as other eyewitness guides we've used, and we've used a lot. Prices and times not accurate, and we prefer more cultural and historical information.
Published on 19 Feb. 2011 by Evelyne Kennedy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Another good value DK guide, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
The DK series has a good name in our household. The books are reasonably resistant to folding, and are durable enough to survive the handling which travel guides often experience.As there is only a certain amount of Malta to write about, so this volume is quite slim.
The attempt to include several maps to different scales, which fold up into the rear flap, succeeds, but contains a serious error. It advertises the island's ten best beaches, but even the travel trade there admit to there being only three. It runs foul of the Trade Description Act. You don't go to Malta to have the family build endless sandcastles in the sun. For a start, those same authorities confess to summer temperatures in the mid, or even upper, 40s.
Another weakness is the means of treating the history of the island. You don't visit passively and expect to be entertained. To get the best out of the experience it's necessary to be familiar with the history of the island.. The DK guide deals with this in bite-size chunks, based upon the location being described at the time. Thus there is no continuity which allows a clear picture of how events have followed, one after the other, to interact. A short history need not be formidable, but doesn't find a place in this slim volume.Get yourself better informed elsewhere before your departure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal holiday guide, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
K. Sharp (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have purchased a number of the DK Top 10 guides for various holiday destinations. They are ideal for finding things to do on a 1-2 week break. There is not a great deal of depth to them but if you are looking to get a bit further than the local beach or hotel pool for a few days during your holiday or are on a short city break they cover the main areas of interest. Not going to Malta for a few weeks yet but this guide looks as if it is up to the usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy size and useful, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
G. Miles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very handy to carry around being pocket sized with plenty of top 10 information for all of the areas of Malta. We used the top ten items as comparisons with other information such as trip advisor to decide on restaurants and places to visit. The book is broken down into assorted general top ten lists and then top ten lists by 5 seperate regions. This makes it very easy to look at differnet things to do when you are in each region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DK Malta and Gozo, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
John A. Day "Daisy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent book. Picks out the highlights. Upto date and accurate. A good book to read before and during the trip. Would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - superficial and lacks depth, 20 Jun. 2012
I have always been a fan of Eyewitness Guides, but this is the first in their Top 10 series that I have used. For each of the headings there is a list of the top 10 sites or things to do. This means there is a lot of repetition as sites are listed under several different headings.

To give two examples:
Hal Saflieni (Hypogeum) is listed under Malta and Gozo highlights, Temples and Ancient Sites, Around Southern Malta and also has a two page spread.
Azure Window is listed under Around Gozo and Comino, Dwejra and Top 10 diving and snorkelling sites.

Very often the information is similar for each of the listings.

There is little information about history and culture of the islands or getting around.

There is a small scale map in the front cover which marks towns and villages and shows main roads. The pull out laminated map in the back is the same scale. This is adequate for planning but is useless for navigating once on the island. It does have a map of Valletta, Senglea and Vittoriosa and part of Sliema. There are a few basic street plans showing the location of the listed sites for some towns.

There are also suggestions how to spend one or two days in each place. There is a brief section at the back with suggestions for accommodation.

I was very disappointed in this book. I felt it is geared at the lazy traveller who wants to be told what the must sees are and what to do. Don't waste your money. There are better books around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meets basic needs if you are new to Malta, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Anne Roche (Leixlip, County Kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
I still have not been to Malta so I cannot rate the book against the real thing. It covered all the basics but some friends have given me valuable tips that should have been included, like Maltese taximen do not use meters - you must negotiate the fare in advance, and not all taxi drivers will agree on the price, so go for the lowest. Also the exquisite glassworks on Gozo - not mentioned. But all the basics are there, hotels, restaurants, what to see, even the cool nights when you need a sweater. This will suffice for me, at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good basic guide, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Anne (Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
Easy format with lots of basic information and handy pull out street map of Valetta & Sliema. Split into sections of the 'Top 10'; ancient sites, walks, places for kids, restaurants etc, makes it easy to plan your trip. Small phrase section at the back could have been a bit more extensive. Could do with being updated as our hotel is not included (has been opened a few years & is one of top hotels in Malta). This is a pre-visit review so will be interesting to see how the book lives up to use in reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Concise, covered all the main areas with usefulplans/maps and fits into hand luggage snugly., 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo (Paperback)
Most useful are the top ten items that give the book its name. Gathering places into different categories makes finding what you want easy. There's enough history to give an overview and extend knowledge of what you are seeing. It is now out of date as far as buses are concerned as Arriva has taken over and the timetables are completely different although old timetables can still be found online which is confusing if you are following up on the small para in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saves time faffing, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. M. E. Booth (Carlisle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great because it saves time faffing about trying to find the best stiff to see and do. It's easy to follow with some good pics. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wordery order, 17 April 2013
By 
Lesley (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five star service and guidebook. I have no hesitation in recommending DK eyewitness guide and Wordery to anyone! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Malta & Gozo by Mary-Ann Gallagher (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
Used & New from: £0.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews