Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2010
This is an excellent and easy to use guide, much better and more inspiring that a Rough Guide/Lonely Planet with great concise descriptions, colour photos and clear directions on how to reach each attraction, assisted by a great set of maps (including a fold out laminated pocket map that is east to quickly refer to while out in the street). This is all you need for a long weekend (or longer) in Hong Kong and we had a very enjoyable 2 days of sightseeing from it. The best thing is the top 10 format as it's easy to pick out activities/sights that will interest you and tailor a day around themDK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Hong Kong. Includes eateries and accommodation, plus general information about the city, transport, things to avoid etc. I can't recommend this book highly enough. The only slight disappointment was that it didn't mention how long the queue for the cable car to the Big Buddha was and we ended up not having time to do it (although perhaps it has increased in popularity since the book was published - maybe even because of the book!). Buy this if you're visiting Hong Kong and you definitely won't regret it.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
I found this book to be of great help when I visited Hong Kong. It lists 10 recommended places / things to visit ordered by category. Therefore, it allows the reader to select and prioritise sites to visit. One will probably need a more detailed guide to use alongside this book; this will help the reader to find more information on the sites mentioned. I would recommend the Insight Guide / National Geographic guides to Hong Kong. However, this book does its job well and I would put it high on your reading list if you are going to visit Hong Kong.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
This book gives little or no information with regard to; getting to and from, prices, bus and train departure / alight, directions, timetables ect...

It is purely as the title states, a top ten list of mostly everything you can think of and the book covers this well. It's useful in that sense, but if you pick an attraction to visit from one of the top ten lists, I think you'll have a hard time getting there using this book alone.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
I wanted a travel guide to give me the information I needed when planning a short break in Hong Kong. This book is well laid out & easy to read. It gives lots of helpful information & met most of my requirements. Because of its size this book it easy to carry around in a handbag. The down side is that although it gives a good overview because of its size there is sometimes a lack of more detailed information.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
As usual DK Eyewitness have pulled together all the top sites to see, places to eat and things to do in a pocket sized guide. This is the third one I've used, New York and Rome were the previous buys, and it's a great book if you're in town for anything up to a fortnight. You can use it to plan your itinerary in the knowledge that you're not going to miss anything of note, and will in fact see some of the less well known but interesting sights of Hong Kong and the surrounding area.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2009
Everything the tourist needs to know about what to see and do is here in a pocket/handbag-size format. Unless you're rich and indifferent to the experience of what Hong Kongers really eat, it's useless for food and accommodation. But what deprives it of its fifth star is the shortage of information about how to get to some of the interesting places suggested.
I bought this in a spirit of some scepticism. I will now buy one for any intended destination for which one is available.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
Overall, the guide was very helpful during my recent trip to Hong Kong. The recommendations for sights were reasonable, but most recommended eateries are redundant as I discovered that almost all other places you walk in will serve good food in HK. If you see locals in there, chances are the food will be great. My greatest complaint lies in the maps! If you venture out of HK island and TST, you are completely lost if you depend on the maps included. For instance, finding out where Kowloon Walled Garden was on the maps was a nightmare. Please make an effort to improve this and the guide will get 5-star rating.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
This is a superb, pocket-sized guide book (revised 2009) with clear text and excellent photographs. There is enough information here for anyone wanting to get the most out of a stop-over or short stay in Hong Kong, without overwhelming the user with too much unnecessary material. Complete with a pull-out Map. Excellent value.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
A very useful pocket sized guide which covers all the essentials for a visit including comprehensive maps. The size of the guide is ideal if you are visiting a number of destinations and do not want to transport a mini library around with you. Top 10 guides are always my first choice of guide book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
Solid book which highlights best things to see. Comes with good fold out map which isnt too big and includes the MRT (train/subway) map. I liked the small size - would easily fit in a large pocket. Remember your passport if u want to take ferry to Macau!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
The Ultimate Holiday Travel Guides. All You Need for the Perfect Trip.
  -  
Arrange private tours with top rated, qualified Hong Kong guides.