Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Sardinia
Just back from Sardinia and loved it! The guide was very clear and helpful, giving us a good background to the country and the people. This is the current version so watch out and make sure you don't inadvertently buy an older one.
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by sjs

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colorful overview to Sardinia
This book is a small disappointment among otherwise excellent Eyewitness travelling guides.
It gives a fairly good overview to the beautiful island of Sardinia, has very nice pictures and good basic information about the nature, history and culture of Sardinia.
BUT... Usually the maps are the best thing in the Eyewitness guides. For some reason this book has...
Published on 11 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colorful overview to Sardinia, 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This book is a small disappointment among otherwise excellent Eyewitness travelling guides.
It gives a fairly good overview to the beautiful island of Sardinia, has very nice pictures and good basic information about the nature, history and culture of Sardinia.
BUT... Usually the maps are the best thing in the Eyewitness guides. For some reason this book has only very general maps of the island and some draft-like maps of the main cities.
If I could have only one Sardinia guide with me, it would be "Sardinia the Rough Guide". On the other hand: this guide is a great companion to the Rough guide, because of it's beautiful pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good for churches but woeful on practical information, 18 Mar 2001
By 
If you want a guide to old churches in Sardinia then this is ok, but it does not tell you that, for instance, there are only buses from Alghero airport to co-incide with Air Italia flights. Having arrived on Ryanair this is not good as a four hour wait is too long. The taxi fare into town is 40,000 lira (approx 14.00) When we did get a bus, the following day, we were surprised to find that we should have bought a ticket first which is then stamped on the bus. Surely we can expect a guide to give this sort of information. Maps are poor. There is only a very general road guide and no street maps of cities such as Sassari. Overall not much use ,although pretty to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail / practical suggestions, 18 July 2013
By 
Z. Lawton "love to read" (Valais, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
I found this book of little use on our recent visit to Sardinia.
The maps are not detailed enough.
Towns are not described in sufficient detail and some small places which we found charming were not mentioned at all.
There was an inadequate description of the beaches (eg the beach at Stintino given one single sentence).
The one restaurant recommendation we used was ok, but not exceptional and in general there are very few recommendations of where to eat.
We were touring and camping and the book has only one page of camp site suggestions, none of which were near where we were visiting!
I used the book to plan the outline of our visit and would recommend this book for the history/background to the island and photos, but I would not use it in isolation as a practical guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - limited coverage overall though, 15 July 2012
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
Took both this and the rough guide on recent trip. As a combo they worked quite well but individually I had some issues.
with the DK, the issue was coverage. Entire major tourist spots were given a scant paragraph - e.g. Porto Cervo, and there was little information on the beaches in Sardinia (a key attraction). However, it was pretty useful for other locations e.g. Tharros where the DK guide was more useful than the stuff available on the ground. Sardinia has really been discovered by British tourists (it seems like the Germans have been there in hoardes for years) and I really feel that this guidebook could be bulked out with some more detail. There is insufficient at present for me to recommend this guidebook alone - but with another e.g. the rough guide - it adds a useful dimension in certain areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Sardinia, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
Just back from Sardinia and loved it! The guide was very clear and helpful, giving us a good background to the country and the people. This is the current version so watch out and make sure you don't inadvertently buy an older one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
Purchased this book for our recent holiday in Sardinia. It is ok and easy to carry around with you; but the descriptions of places to visit are limited, and those present are a bit short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated and not objective, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
I bought this guidebook because I prefer illustrated travel guides. At that it succeeds well. However, the written parts are not of an equal quality:
1. The descriptions of the hotels we visited were outdated severely (referring to modern hotels which are in truth styled as it was hip 20 years ago)
2. The description of locations to visit were not objective (larger towns like Nuovo and Olbia do not receive credit they deserve, small town are romanticized too much, La Pelosa is missing while it is recognized of being one of the most beautiful beaches)
3. The location directions to one specific site were not accurate and some parts even incorrect. That many mistakes in one description makes me wonder about the other directions given by the guidebook and I stopped using it at this point, instead relying on the helpful Sardinians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sardinia in a nutshell, 28 May 2014
By 
D. Sims (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
Nice glossy guide to Sardinia. Lots of photos and graphics so good for getting a feel for the island before deciding whether or not to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
Very helpfull, true information. I would recomend it to everybody who's traveling to Sardinia. It helped discovered places which are not in standard guids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to Sardinia, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia (Paperback)
This really helps you learn about Sardinia, and plan for a holiday there. DK always does an excellent job, just wish the book wasn't quite so heavy for carrying round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Sardinia by Fabrizio Arditio (Paperback - 1 July 2011)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews