Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Identifying Rocks and Minerals!, 13 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When I took Geology in college, I loved the course. I only had one problem. It was very difficult for me to identify rocks and minerals in the field. If I had had this pocket field guide, the course would have been a snap.
Now, I enjoy taking my children to study outcroppings, and this book will be a great addition to our investigations.
First, the photographs are stunning. In fact, any temptation I might have had to develop my own samples is set aside by having these wonderful images to use.
Second, the information is detailed and thorough. There is a lot about the crystalline structure of each mineral, the hardness, and many tests that are specific to that particular mineral. There is a very good section that describes how to apply the hardness tests (I always had trouble memorizing that area for some reason). There is plenty of good safety information for how to use the various acids that can be employed to identify minerals. Everything is nicely summarized so it is easy to find.
Third, all those subtle distinctions about various kinds of igneous, metamorphic, and sedimentary rocks that used to puzzle me are very clear here. Whew!
Fourth, the book has great directions for locating good spots to examine rocks.
Fifth, you also receive a wonderful description of the equipment you need, and ways to use it safely.
Whether you think you like rocks or not, you should give this book a try. It will open up a very interesting world full of ways to locate and identify interesting rocks and understand the stories they can tell. As a result, you will have immensely more understanding of the world around you.
I also suggest that you read up on plate mechanics as well, so that you understand more about how the landscape is formed before erosion takes over. The combined knowledge of these two areas will greatly add to your understanding and appreciation of evolution.
Get in touch with the physical world around you as foundation knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sound Investment, 24 Nov 2002
By 
J. W. Berry (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most thorough and comprehensive books you can buy on the subject of rocks and minerals. It covers over 500 specimens in every detail including their composition, hardness, SG, cleavage and fracture and each description is accompaned by a faithful and sometimes beautiful photograph of the specimen. The example of blue Smithsonite which looks uncannily like a leaping Dolphin is particularly nice.
The whole book is well set out as you would expect from a Dorling Kindersley publication and it is suitable for beginners and experts alike as it is an extremely good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very usefull book for students of every age!, 12 Feb 2002
By 
D. L. Morfett "muffet" (Dunstable, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a university student, studying geology in detail for the first time,as part of a geography degree, so this book is very useful, with all the information i required. This would also be interesting for someone needing a less advanced knowledge, or just an general interest. Definately worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% PERFECT, 22 Nov 2002
This book could not be better. I am studying geology AS/A2 level at sixth form and was struggling to get to grips with alot of the rocks and minerals, i then bought this book from amazon, (great delivery) and it has helped me massively, for anyone doing geology at AS/A2 this book is a simple MUST HAVE. Buy this book now, you will regret it if you dont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book for my youngest child. He is really into rocks. He found it really interesting and it fired his imagination. I think we have had to visit virtually every cave and mine in the country! The information is really detailed and thorough. There is a lot about the crystalline structure of each mineral, the hardness, and also the many tests that are specific to that particular mineral. I am sure this will help him if he goes on to study this sort of thing in secondary school. However, he is only in year 7. He can now talk quite knowledgably about rocks and minerals, and impresses people he talks to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Novice or experienced... good buy., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Twice a year I drive a minibus for my local college, I spend a week away on a geological field trip and find it very educational. Got to the point of buying my own kit, taking dip and strike readings and now to help identify what I'm looking at, this book seems ideal. Great pictures and lots of information, easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
excellentxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal foe beginner, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Easy to understand with good photos etc. Gives good basic info ideal for beginner to the topic or for someone with a general interest in the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
Great book for any geology student who will find this very helpful for identifying rocks in the field and minerals under the microscope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellen, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
This is a great little book, with plenty of photographs, and clearly set out categorisations. I have used it a lot on my geology courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks)
Rocks and Minerals (DK Handbooks) by Chris Pellant (Paperback - 1 Sep 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews