Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wine lover
The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia is a 'must have' for wine lovers. It is very informative, interesting and useful when considering wine purchases. It is also a very good educational read on the subject of wine, vineyards and vintages.
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by Josephine Turrell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very thorough 'wine bible'.
For me, as a wine novice, the book gives way too much space to the specific wine regions, especialliy France. I would prefer more information on grapes and vintages, to learn the very basics. In such a massive publiation, I was hoping to find infor
Published 15 months ago by Monika Ostrowska


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most general unbiased worldwide wine guide available, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is without a doubt the best worldwide review of wines available. It is unbiased but not bland and opinionated, in the most rigorously fair way. For the uninitiated it covers the very basics of wine production and can be read as a book and for the expert it is a vital reference.

A brief period of over-pricing is behind it and it should be considered the standard reference.

The only request that I would have is that the green pages of the first and second editions (where the author gave his personal recommendations in each wine region) be reintroduced: they added colour and were greatly appreciated by those who shared the tastes of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wine lover, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia is a 'must have' for wine lovers. It is very informative, interesting and useful when considering wine purchases. It is also a very good educational read on the subject of wine, vineyards and vintages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wine encyclopedia, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
As a wine enthuiast I found this book to be the finest book in my not inconsiderable collection on wines of the world. the only reference book one needs on the wines of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as Christmas present, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
An excellent guide to wines, updated from the recipients previous edition. Arrived promptly, well packed - nothing further to add
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wine lovers bible, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is a big thick book packed with brilliant useful information. My husband is a wine lover and he loves this book. He keeps disappearing off to read it. I am not such a wine buff but i am also finding it useful and easy to read and understand. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I gave 4 stars to this book, because it is a very good book about wine, it's missing the five stars statut because there is a bit too many lists of wine producers, which I found a bit incomplete, and in some way a bit boring. On top of it all, some analysis are too simplistic and forget about exceptions, the ones that make the rule true maybe, but, still exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full and Clear for all Type of Readers, 25 Jan 2010
I am not and expert on Wines but for me was very clear and well explained all details about the wines. Also is very helpful because now when I buy a wine I look for the recommended ones. The maps are well done and detailed. Is the "one you must have"

Is a good collection which I recommend to all you.

Is a great Book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite "must have" if you are into wine. ..., 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
A definite "must have" if you are into wine. Start on this and branch out later if you need more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very thorough 'wine bible'., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
For me, as a wine novice, the book gives way too much space to the specific wine regions, especialliy France. I would prefer more information on grapes and vintages, to learn the very basics. In such a massive publiation, I was hoping to find infor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I was very much looking forward to getting this book, but I am afraid I have been somewhat disappointed. It is certainly an impressive and lavishly illustrated tome, which contains a great deal of information. However, there are a number of problems with it. Firstly, there are a regrettable profusion of proofing errors, some of which are liable to confuse the reader, such as 'IGT' for 'IGP'.

Secondly, there are gaps in the coverage which really ought not to be there in a book calling itself an encyclopedia. For instance, the sole information given on Vino de la Tierra is that this expression literally means 'country wine'. By which I don't just mean that there is no more information on the usage of the term (which is bad enough), but that there is no information on any of the individual VdlTs. I'm not sure whether this is because of snobbery on the part of the author or just because it got overlooked; it's curious because the book does include information on all the VdPs and IGPs. Similarly, the Santa Lucia Highlands AVA is unaccountably omitted (although it is labelled on the map). I can't believe that the author made a conscious decision to omit it, so I can only imagine that the entry got lost at some stage during the production.

Thirdly, there are numerous stylistic infelicities. The book can't seem to make up its mind whether it is chatty or pedagogical. In some places it seems to condescend to the reader; in others the prose is laboured and hard to follow. Some more minor niggles: there are too many dashes, reflecting a lack of attention to prose structure, and the stand-firsts ought to be independent of the body of the article, rather than (as here) doing duty as the first sentence of it.

Fourthly, there are inconsistencies, as where we're told on page 80 that the 'barnyard' aroma was once thought to be a mercaptan fault but is now known to be caused by Brettanomyces and then told on page 83 that it is caused by methylmercaptan.

In summary, this book will look very nice on your coffee table, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it for serious study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia
The Sotheby's Wine Encyclopedia by Tom Stevenson (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2011)
Used & New from: £378.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews