Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Introduction to 5 Great Ballets
This book is exactly what I was looking for for my 7 year old. She can listen to real ballet music and understand what dances the music relates to. The five stories, Giselle, Nutcracker, Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake and Coppelia are beautifully illustrated. In addition to the main story, there are other photographs and snippets of information about types of ballet...
Published on 25 Jan 2011 by Ms. Sarah Cade

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it wasn't what I expected
I expected the cd to tell the ballet stories. It is a cd with music from the ballets.
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by Elenballet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Introduction to 5 Great Ballets, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
This book is exactly what I was looking for for my 7 year old. She can listen to real ballet music and understand what dances the music relates to. The five stories, Giselle, Nutcracker, Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake and Coppelia are beautifully illustrated. In addition to the main story, there are other photographs and snippets of information about types of ballet movements or of historic productions of the ballets. The CD contains
The Sleeping Beauty - 1] Overture, 2] Waltz
Giselle - 1] Daisy mime, 2] Pas de deuz, 3] Peasant waltz, 4] Berthe's warning, 5] Albrecht's salvation
Coppelia - 1] Czardas, 2] Morning hours, 3] Swanilda's Solo
Swan Lake - 1] Act 1 Waltz, 2] Overture to Act 2, 3] White Swan pas de deux, 4] Dance of the cygnets
Nutcracker - 1] Overture, 2] March from Act 1, 3] Chinese dance, 4] Russian dance, 5] Dance of the mirlitons, 6] Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
You know which piece of music relates to which part of the story, as a little star with a number inside it is printed within the narrative of the story, which corresponds to the track number on the CD.
I would definitely recommend this book to any fans of the Darcy Bussell, Little Ballerina series of books as some of the characters in those stories come from these famous ballets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for 6 year old, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
I ordered this unseen for my granddaughter in advance of taking her to her first ballet, so that she would be familiar with the story. She and her mum were delighted and I was pleased too when I actually saw the book. It looks appealing, is nicely presented, with just the right amount of information and was a useful reference tool during and following the performance. I suspect she will keep it and refer back to it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
Great book for budding ballet dancers. I was very disappointed with how long it took for delivery as missed the birthday it was intended for, but that doesn't reflect on the book which has some great stories with ballet facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful introduction to ballet, 23 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book - tells the stories of 5 Tchaikowsky ballets with illustrations of the participants and photos of actual dancers in character costumes, including fellas). There are also pictures and photos of ballet positions for children to copy, (unfortunately all of girls/women, so my 5 year old grandson went off the idea!) Explanations on each page describe what kind of music illustrates the ballet at that point. This is a later edition of the same book (same title, different book front) from DK. That previous one had no music CD. Its CD contained read stories with very short excerpts of music played too softly in the background. So, it would have been a great buy if your child wants the story read while he/she looks at the words, but this later DK version contains a CD with the music instead of the story being read. And lots of the music at that. CD and book are a great introduction to Tchaikowsky's ballets. I now feel able to take my young grandchildren to see the ballets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
Beautifully illustrated with a musical CD. Very interesting to read up on the classic ballet stories, Swan Lake, Giselle, Coppelia.

My 8 year old enjoys looking at this and listening to the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my 8 year old ballerina., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
Really lovely book for a ballet fan (and useful for grown ups who enjoy a recap of the story and some back ground info). Very well presented and helps make seeing the performance accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ballet book, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
bought for my grandaughters birthday it is a really lovely illustrated book and has the option of the cd to entertain her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My limitless 4 year old friend loved this, 26 April 2013
By 
M. Harvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
For any little child who loves ballet this a great introduction to the stories so that they understand what they are watching. Also good pictures and explanations of ballet positions etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet Stories, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories (Paperback)
I have always used the Decca Book of Opera and am delighted that a similar Book of Ballet is now available. Full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it wasn't what I expected, 1 Jan 2010
I expected the cd to tell the ballet stories. It is a cd with music from the ballets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories
The Illustrated Book of Ballet Stories by Barbara Newman (Paperback - 2 Aug 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews