Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lisbon DK Eyewitness guides.
If you have already bought DK eyewitness guide to Portugal then you dont need this book as it is just duplicated. However if you are just visiting Lisbon and just need this book then it is excellent, very informative.
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by GinaB

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless
Everything that can be wrong with this guide, is. A few days in our week-long trip we stopped carrying it with us, and were much happier for it. For me the attraction was the pictures. It would have been useful to have a detailed map of Alfama (with the names of all the little streets), and a map of Lisbon showing which area is which. None of this is present. Instead,...
Published on 30 Sep 2010 by Sandrome_42


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lisbon DK Eyewitness guides., 2 Sep 2009
If you have already bought DK eyewitness guide to Portugal then you dont need this book as it is just duplicated. However if you are just visiting Lisbon and just need this book then it is excellent, very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DK Eyewitness to Lisbon, 30 Jan 2009
By 
E. Ward "'emmagleb'" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Overall, this prooved to be a fantastic guidebook to Lisbon. we were using it even before we had landed (as it includes information of how to get from the airport into town). As previous reviewers have mentioned, the information is very up to date, the maps are concise, the illustrations are flawless and the entire book lives up to DK's expert reputation.
However, we did find some of the locations of metro stations to be a little innacurate, so take these with a pinch of salt!

Some tips:
Booking a tour bus from the Praca do Commercio is about 15, but is valid all day. You can get off at every stop for as long as you like, and it's a really cheap way of seeing lots of places. Keep the ticket too - it gives you a discount on the walking tours.
If you intend to eat at one of the restaurants listed in the back, I would recommend 'The Boot'. The food was delicious, as was the house wine and house 'starter cheese'. Service was impecable.

Have a great time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, 30 Sep 2010
Everything that can be wrong with this guide, is. A few days in our week-long trip we stopped carrying it with us, and were much happier for it. For me the attraction was the pictures. It would have been useful to have a detailed map of Alfama (with the names of all the little streets), and a map of Lisbon showing which area is which. None of this is present. Instead, there is an abundance of 3D floor plans, the same as you would get FREE with your entrance tickets. The additional information, shown in arrows pointing to some parts of these plans, is obvious and factual (rather than historical and interesting), and can usually be found next to the actual object. The leaflets available on location also tend to provide more information anyway.
This setup would make sense if you wanted to read about something beforehand, and come prepared. But due to the absolute LACK of anything more than the obvious, this makes the book redundant.
Central Lisbon is divided into several major areas, and the book sets out to cover them chapter by chapter. Some areas consist of several neighbourhoods, like Baixa and Chiado, or Bairro Alto, etc. Instead of using a map to indicate the layout of neighbourhoods within the areas, the book uses descriptions. This seems like completely missing the point of visual representation.
Most visitors to Lisbon spend a day in Sintra. Sintra is incredibly easy to get to if you know several facts, like that direct trains only depart from Rossio, and trains originating from other stations travel on the same tracks for some time, and then go off in other directions, so some changes will be necessary if you travel on those. This information is not shown on the train stations, but has to be deduced in a roundabout way. And, as usual, the Guide Book does not mention any of this at all. It also does gives no mention of the circular tourist bus in Sintra, and that you can hop on and off once you have a ticket. It does give a map of Sintra, a larger and better version of which you can get in a tourist office or even directly at the train station. This better map will even show you the two main attractions, Pena and the Moorish Castle, which the Guide Book considers too far away to include in the small map of the centre. The point is, the centre is so small that you don't NEED a map of it! Once you see the two huge chimneys of the National Palace everything else is pretty obvious. And, as usual, the Guide Book didn't do justice to Quinta de Regaleria, arguably one of the more interesting estates around the historic centre.
The Guide Book was also of no help with the beaches, how to choose one and how to get there; and in what way they are different from each other. Considering that beaches are almost a must, that was a huge omission.
But the biggest drawback is simply the lack of information. Take the main castle, Castelo. As usual, there is a two-page 3D map, with arrows and captions saying things like: These little streets are full of restaurants, or This is where the Camera Obscura is. It's as if it's made for a person who wants to rush around the famous areas and tick the things they've seen. If something has a historic value, it seems to have been taken out of its context; and if something is there to be enjoyed, like beaches, then no actually useful information is devoted to it. For example shopping is given half a page. The major shopping centres are mentioned, but obviously not indicated on a map, so you have to look up each one by name in the index and only then understand whether its close to your hotel or not.
We expected to be able to walk along a street and look up what's interesting on the right and on the left. That is not possible with this guide. It gives you an indication of what major attractions there are, but you can get this from any hotel; and I'm sure that any other guide would have this and much more. In short, we have found this absolutely useless. It is not something to take with you as you go walking or traveling to nearby places of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful guide, 27 Jan 2009
By 
D.Buttery (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
I found this book extremely useful. The standard of illustration is exceptional as I have come to expect from this series but it's the maps and the information that really counts. The maps were easy to use and very helpful when I walked around the city. The fact that this is a slim hardback that fits easily into a pocket was also a major plus as I constantly required access to it, Lisbon being a complex kind of city to wander around.

This book also provides more than enough information for most tourists and the index was helpful. There was nothing that I needed to look up that wasn't covered (at least to some extent) in this volume such as museums, castles and Fado music for example. If you're going to Lisbon, buy this book. By the way, Lisbon is well worth visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring Lisbon without hassle., 12 July 2009
An excellent tool for exploring Lisbon without a hitch. This led us straight to our hotel location without getting lost once and we found all the sights so easily. Graphics, photos and concise text helped us identify a route to each sight and encouraged us to use all the forms of transport which made the visit run smoothly. It made us feel at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only good for the pictures, 30 April 2011
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Lisbon (Paperback)
Description of monuments and attractions sticks to the obvious, central Lisbon is divided quite arbitrarily into just 3 artificial zones (when it actually comprises many more interesting and distinct neighbourhoods), there is very little useful practical information (e.g. shopping section is really slim and points you only to the most obvious shopping malls), little information on the myriad of beaches nearby, on the South Bank of the Tagus river, on the Avenidas Novas district (it is odd that the actual economic centre of the capital is treated as a "further afield" area), the 3-D plans are nice but not essential, I would rather enter any place at random based on my own judgement than chosing the restaurants that are mentioned, and so on and so on. Totally useless - only worth as a shelve object.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides ample information at all levels, 28 Sep 2010
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used this book twice for short visits to Lisbon and, each time, have visited different areas.
I'm not sure about using the guided walks in the book but, other than that, it's a great way to concentrate on particular areas and explore parts of the city that you wouldn't necessarily go to in limited time.
We kept a look out for the viewing points around the city and used the maps in the book to go off the main streets, although there is plenty to find out about in Lisbon's main streets, all covered very well.
The recent history of Lisbon is particularly eventful and it is summarised clearly in a timeline towards the beginning of the guide, always useful to be able to put a city in the context of what has happened to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guidebooks ever- so easy on the eye!, 6 Sep 2009
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some guidebooks can be a little dry, with huge blocks of text and occasional inserts of photos,but DK Eye Witness Travel Guides are the opposite. As well as having the usual up to date info and recommendations, they are heavily illustrated with fabulous 3D style intricate street maps, with all landmarks and buildings drawn in. Its as if you are stepping into a model village with everything illustrated and where it should be (cathedrals, museums,parks etc). The illustrations and photos are in colour too, which makes it a joy to use. I don't know why other guidebooks look so dull in comparison. I recently bought a guidebook to California and it felt like wading through a dull encyclopaedia or textbook by comparison. If you're like me and you like maps, pictures and photos in abundance, rather than large unbroken blocks of text, then buy the Eye Witness Guides.

My friend is going to Lisbon next year and loved this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slim Eyewitness is Best in Class for First Time Visits, 4 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dorling Kindersley Eyewitness guides are simply the best for a first vist and I'm never without one on a city break - they truly bring a place alive by bridging the virtual with the actual. Superb 3D images enable sites to be logged on the ground and, as ever, good advice and recommendations abound.

The Lisbon Guide is a little slimmer than for most equivalent places and in need of minor updates. Although the textual content is less than in some guides and foldout maps would be a bonus - this along with its sister guides are incomparable for virgin visits to strange places - opening-up their splendours exquisitely. For subsequent visits more text and hidden secrets are often available elsewhere. But DK generally get the balance just right with this series.

The DK Eyewitness series has never let me down and the Lisbon version has no rivals for first-time visitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most popular guidebook in Lisbon, 15 Aug 2004
Everywhere you go in Lisbon you see people clutching this book in goodness knows how many different languages. It is up to date (most guidebooks still refer to escudos, how out of date is that?). Everything you need to know basically. It did us proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Lisbon
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Lisbon by Susie Boulton (Paperback - 1 April 2011)
Used & New from: 4.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews