Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant guide ... just heavy to carry!
For those new to the DK Eyewitness books I cannot recommend them highly enough for their clear guide content, pictures, diagrams and information. I have found that it replaces the need to buy a guide book in many attractions (eg Westminster Abbey) as there is sufficient info contained to satisfy most travellers' interests. The guide is broken down neatly into regions...
Published on 4 Dec 2001 by glennkesby@onetel.net.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts
Great for an overview but lacking in depth for all but large attractions. Some errors i.e. Royal Show shown in 2011 edition when event ended in 2009.
Published on 13 July 2011 by J. Read


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant guide ... just heavy to carry!, 4 Dec 2001
For those new to the DK Eyewitness books I cannot recommend them highly enough for their clear guide content, pictures, diagrams and information. I have found that it replaces the need to buy a guide book in many attractions (eg Westminster Abbey) as there is sufficient info contained to satisfy most travellers' interests. The guide is broken down neatly into regions with basic maps which makes it easy to use when on a driving holiday or planning your day's itinerary. On the downside, the 672 glossy pages, though beautiful, get very heavy in your backpack etc when you are on your feet all day.
In summary, I love these guides and search for them first when visiting anywhere new.
A final note to answer another's review, there are separate guides for Scotland, Ireland, London etc that cover those areas in more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 9 Oct 2008
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A huge amount of effort and research has gone into this chunky guide. Just choosing the pictures must have been a mammoth task: they're all up to date, in colour and give a clear idea of the delights of the various cities and attractions.

I used to work in a visitor information office in Wales and found the section on South Wales particularly well done, especially since it's an area off the typical tourist track. The only thing which let it down was the hotel recommendations. They tend to be in areas often way outside of town and city centres, so aren't much use to those travelling without cars.

It may be a little heavy to carry round with you, but it's ideal as a reference source if you're at home researching a trip and want to sort out an itinary. Well done again Dorling Kindersley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Travel Companion, 17 Nov 2007
I brought this book purely for what was written on the cover.
And I'm glad I did. The pictures make the book far more interesting to read and I've gone through is several times and continue going back to it as soon as I'm bored and need to go somewhere.
Big recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice guide book, 5 April 2010
By 
V. Luboz (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very useful guide book, with lots of pictures to show you what you can expect from the various places, and good descriptions. Compare to many other guide books with only tons of writing, it is definitely easier and more intuitive to fulfil our interests.
The restaurants/pubs/hotels section is a bit short though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Great Britain Travel Guide, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Hcarpy (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
We recently bought this guide book for a week's holiday in Yorkshire, and I also wanted a book about Great Britain to use in future for days out. It is an excellent guide with clear and concise information, beautiful pictures and has street/floor plans of many cities and main tourist attractions. I always buy the DK Eyewitness Travel Guides as I think they are the best and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best travel guide of Britain, 20 April 1998
By A Customer
Covering every imaginable spot of interest in Great Britain and packed with maps and color pictures, this is a travel guide you could enjoy just reading like a novel. The attractive layout and photos of locations and attractions really help you decide what to include in your itinerary. Color diagrams of museums, castles and sightseeing districts makes you feel more in control and less lost. With this guide and a car, we traveled for a month and were never disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 13 July 2011
By 
J. Read (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Great Britain (Paperback)
Great for an overview but lacking in depth for all but large attractions. Some errors i.e. Royal Show shown in 2011 edition when event ended in 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 3 April 2010
By 
Alison Watson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book to give an overview of the more cultural side of Britain for holiday makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Great Britain (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Great Britain (Paperback)
brilliant - loads of info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Great Britain
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Great Britain by Michael Leapman (Paperback - 1 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: £2.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews