Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant physics book!, 17 July 2006
By 
Anna Gaskin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once again, Dorling Kindersley have produced a truly brilliant book. It's aimed at children, but I (aged 34!) found it fantastic. I wish something like this was available when I was doing exams then my F would have looked more like A. Richard Hammond makes the whole topic really interesting and readable. It's a book I had bought on recommendation by a friend who actually teaches physics and wanted to prove to me that physics wasn't just about Newton blah blah etc. This book is not just for kids who are interested in physics, I'm sure anyone would love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to engage children with physics, 20 Oct 2007
By 
P. M. Fernandez "exilefromgroggs" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Physics has a poor reputation amongst the sciences - which is a shame, as if you get to grips with physics, it opens up all sorts of areas of knowledge.

Richard Hammond, with the enthusiasm so familiar from "Top Gear" and (more relevantly, in this case) "Brainiac", brings alive a wide range of aspects of physics in this book. In the first part, he provides a brief history of the development of the science. HISTORY? In a children's book? Well, I suppose everybody is doing it these days - but kudos for introducing the history of science to youngsters.

In the following parts, he looks at forces, matter and light (i.e. radiation, in effect). The text is in paragraph chunks - so should be engaging even for children who are used to instant entertainment - and the pages are visually rich and humorous.

Lots of the book is built around the sort of questions that are the bane of the average parent's life - "How do planes stay in the air?" "Why do balloons stick to the wall?" The science that is presented is accurate, and consistent with what children are likely to be taught in school. The book even introduces some of the mysteries of relativity - wow!

To present science accurately and interestingly is a real challenge, and this book has done an excellent job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 18 July 2006
By 
T. Lee (Lacaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Physics at school was mainly Mr Salter droning on about Brownian motion and how to calculate momentum in 127 easy steps - hence I took little or no notice. In fear of my nephew having to endure a similar introduction to the subject, I bought him this book and he absolutely loves it, as do I! Mr Hammond should receive the Nobel Prize for this lucid and entertaining introduction. We salute you Sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics (Paperback)
Bought for daughter as she enter secondary school. Previous reviews said it was a good reference book - and a quick flick through seems like it will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Physics is fun, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics (Paperback)
Reviewed by 10 year old son. This book is full of really interesting stuff about science and physics in particular. If you've ever watched Richard Hammond's Blast Lab, you will know that he has a way of explaining science things to make it really good fun and so this book will be good for you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics (Paperback)
I bought this book for my little brother who loves Richard Hammond and Science. This has both and is perfect for any young lad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely excellent : ), 24 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics (Paperback)
here's how i wish science had been taught in schools!
rather than the step by step of not totally true 'facts' of the curriculum, many of which contradict each other each year of school i was in, this books goes right to the complicated issues, and explains them simply!

also has the enthuasiasm of knowing that this is what we believe now, based on evidence, with more to potentially discover in science.......that would have been great in school too.....makes it more exciting, and gives an extra reason to learn this stuff...maybe the kid reading this will prove or disprove some of these theories, and/or develop wholly new ones...
( i can't remember the details, but i remember reading in a new scientist book that some children in one school proved that the theory behind one experiement was incorrect- eminent scientists had got it wrong all these years, and it took some children to discover the truth! (its the experiment with a glass beaker over candle(s) stood in water that scientists thought the candles went out because of lack of oxygen but actually it was proved to be something different....)
these discoveries, and experiments, (and honesty that we do not necessarily hold all the answers yet, but we're having a good go at finding them) helps make science that much more interesting, i feel.

the robert winston books what makes me me, and it's elementary do similar too, which is great, and the comments of this review apply to these too, and so will post this review in these too. for actual contents of the book, these can be seen in the 'look inside' feature.

these books are especially good for people with dyslexia learning differences, who find it easier to learn if they are given the wider picture first, rather than the step by step (especially when contradictory) approach that mainstream education has put out there.
people with this learning differences also tend to learn these easier if given practical examples, rather than learning abstract fact, and these books do this too.
also the letting us know why these theories and evidence are so useful to us also helps people with dyslexia and without dyslexia in their learning.

and i suspect that people without the learning difference dyslexia also benefit from learning this way, as this is a great way to learn (though i would think so as i have dyslexia, and was put off science in school due to the reasons outlined above). now, with my sons interest in science especially (he loves these books too), i'm really enjoying learning science now, and springboard from these books to translating other science theories into practical and put into the context wider picture ways like these books too. the books do it so well to.

another excellent quality of the book is the great pictures, which assist in understanding and memory re-call.
and the way the pictures and texts are laid out too. the layout is excellent. how many people have been put off by reams of small typed text with just a couple of diagrams? to have it beautifully laid out, so that type is spread out with many pictures illustrating, makes it a much more interesting read, so even younger children can enjoy it (well my son did even when he was younger too).

it's time for some changes to the mainstream curriculum i feel! these books prove that kids can understand these complex theories when put in an understandable, simple and practical way. later on, they can learn even more fuller details, and the complicated maths from other textbooks if they wish, but this is a much better way of learning, i feel, than teaching one thing one year, and the next year saying 'well what we told you last year wasn't exactly true because....'. this is an approach of diving in first into the wonders of science, and any higher level learning, just adds to the details, and fills in this bigger picture with the extra details.

similarly programs like 'Horizon', 'Don't Die Just Yet' 'wonder of the solar system' etc, etc, brings theories on tv in an understandable way aimed primarily at adults (tho suitable for many kids too). these books do similar in book form, though aimed primarily for kids (tho suitable for many adults too ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Force, 10 Feb 2013
By 
MRS J E CLAYTON (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics (Paperback)
A good choice for a Christmas present. Very informative! The recipient has enjoyed it very much and found it invaluable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - well explained and fun to read, 13 April 2010
This is a really nice book to have. It explains the basic concepts behind physics and is really easy to understand. It also has a little humour in it and has some great illustrations to keep the book exciting. It's a nice book to have on your bookshelf and may even come in handy if you need to understand the concept behind something. A great book to read if your looking for something to do or even looking to gain some knowledge. Definitely worth the price also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics (Paperback)
nicely written, easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics
Can You Feel the Force?: Putting the fizz back into physics by Richard Hammond (Paperback - 1 Sep 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews