Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Beginners, 28 Feb 2008
This book is good if you are just starting out looking at gemstones and gemmology. However it does not give much more than a brief outline of each stone with a few nice pictures which leaves you wanting more! Good reference charts at the back of the book. Other than the charts, no real visual identifying tips of any real value imo ie. microphotos etc or tips on id synthetics etc. Still a nice book to have and does contribute something when compared with other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start, 29 Nov 2005
This handbook is essential reading for any new jewellers and provides the basics needed for product knowledge. Well laid out information, multiple illustrations. A definitely GOOD starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and nicely illustrated, 20 Dec 2005
Like all DK books, this is beautifully illustrated and informative. It's the kind of book you'll probably find yourself dipping into now and again, rather than reading cover to cover in one go. User friendly and doesn't baffle with unnecessary science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dorling Kindersley Gemstones handbook, 19 Nov 2009
By 
This book has been a great help in identifying the various gemstones I come across. It has excellent pictures, sorted by colour, of individual gems, and these lead you to a page which gives copious further details about each gem including the chemical composition and identifying features. There are often notes about possible synthetic reproductions, but here the fact that this book was published in 1994 is a handicap.
A table giving hardness, structure,specific gravity and refractive index will appeal to the specialist and encourage the amateur to study the subject further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gemstones (DK Handbooks), 21 May 2009
By 
L. Reed (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately I had a problem with the book I received as some of the pages were overprinted, and could not be read.I was perhaps unlucky. Sent my copy back for a refund. Other than that the book was up to usual DK standards - interesting and informative and beautifully illustrated. I have given 5 stars for the book as it should have been, without the printing faults that my copy had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 Oct 2006
this book is great for the beginner and those a little more expert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning about Gems, 8 April 2009
By 
R. Price (Derbyshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This small compact book offers a good first insight to collecting gems. It clearly explains all that is required to start and gather together a selection of the worlds' gems. Very good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference book, 9 July 2011
This review is from: Gemstones (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
I bought the book "Gemstones" by Cally Hall because I would like to improve my English vocabulary on this subject. Since I am not a native English speaker I find it a challenge to read specialised literature. I like the book for its high quality photos and its short but appropriate and informative descriptions. It is not easy to take pictures of gemstones but the ones in the book are fine and show the gems as they are and easily recognisable. The book is a good bargain and I will have a look at some other "Dorling Kndersley Handbooks"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iniciants' bible!, 15 Mar 2011
By 
T. Segurado "Ty Segurado" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so great in all the aspects. It is easy to reffer, nicely done, helpful information and untill today after a couple of years in gemmology i still reffer back to it. If you are starting now do not ignore this smal but important book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book's a little gem !, 16 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gemstones (DK Handbooks) (Paperback)
DK don't disappoint with this handy sized reference on world gems. Ideal for hobbyist or craftsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gemstones (DK Handbooks)
Gemstones (DK Handbooks) by Cally Hall (Paperback - 1 July 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews