Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book ...essential addition to any 007 library
I was a bit hesitant about buying this as I already have Tony Nourmand's James Bond Poster Book. Did I really need another book with the same posters? After reading the positive reviews on Amazon I decided to plump up the cash and risk it.
And the result?
Boy am I glad I took the leap of faith for this book excels in every department compared to Nourmand's...
Published on 8 Sep 2012 by Bukhtawar Dhadda

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mistake littered fiasco!
Having spotted at least 60 major mistakes at first glance through this beautifully produced book from Dorling Kindersley, not to mention text omissions, I'm afraid as anything close to a definitive volume on the subject it is as redundant as a glass hammer!

Unfortunatley, the publishers were entirely in the hands of the Bond filmmakers archival department, who...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. G. F. Rye


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book ...essential addition to any 007 library, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Bukhtawar Dhadda (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
I was a bit hesitant about buying this as I already have Tony Nourmand's James Bond Poster Book. Did I really need another book with the same posters? After reading the positive reviews on Amazon I decided to plump up the cash and risk it.
And the result?
Boy am I glad I took the leap of faith for this book excels in every department compared to Nourmand's effort ( which incidentally I really like). All the films are covered right upto the teaser poster for Skyfall. The print quality far exceeds that of Tony Nourmand's book and the posters all appear a lot more sharper and clearer, there are more variations of posters for each film than in the previous book.
My only criticism is that it includes lobby cards for some films but not all - seems a strange decision but it a minor gripe on my part.
So should you buy it if you have aleady own the James Bond Poster Book? Most definitely.
Is it an essential addition to your 007 library? Without a doubt.
Well done to DK and the authors for delivering a top quality product, the book is thick and heavy, paper quality is excellent and the thick slipcase is a welcome bonus which adds to the quality.
Buy it and you won;t regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lavish but not definitive book - but it's best to start at the back, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
Dorling Kindersley's rather lavish book is perhaps more of a dinner table book than a coffee table book for one simple reason: it's huge. While you'll certainly need a lot of extra space just to turn the pages (male readers risk a hernia if the try reading it in their laps), it's a terrific overview of the film series that probably more than any other changed the way films were marketed. Unfortunately, it's also an unwitting demonstration of how unimaginative modern movie posters have become, with the ingenuity and wonderful artwork by many of the great movie poster artists of all time - Frank McCarthy, Bob Peak, Robert McGinnis, Renato Casari, Jean Maschi - giving way to increasingly identikit photoshop efforts. By the time you get to Quantum of Solace action packed artwork is a thing of the past, with GQ fashion shoots seemingly the model, a tragedy when you consider how iconic many of the great Bond posters like From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, Thunderball, You Only Live Twice, On Her Majesty's Secret Service, Live and Let Die or the 1967 Casino Royale are (gratifyingly this volume doesn't pretend that the EON films are the only Bond movies). Still, it could have been more dispiriting still: time precluded including all but the sly teaser for Skyfall, which has seen the laziest photoshopped posters in the series history.

Not that photoshopping is always bad: there are some good photo montages and teasers right through to the Timothy Dalton era (though the photoshop Licence to Kill quad is still a lowpoint) even when the producers decided to go with some of the dodgier artwork produced (the Moonraker teaser is infinitely superior to the clumsy final release ones). And while the book doesn't include every variation from the days when each territory would either adapt or even create its own artwork (and there's a lot of McGinnis' work from Thunderball that is curiously missing), there's a strong selection of foreign posters and even some lobby card sets, with even the more obscure foreign artists getting credited for their work. While the physical production isn't quite up to Taschen levels, it's on good quality colour paper, though it's a bit annoying that the UK quads for each poster are spread over two pages since the sheer size and weight of the book doesn't favour that presentation. The rest of the posters are better presented, though not all the one sheets are treated to the full page format when deemed too similar to other variations. There's also some unused concepts and sketches for several of the films from the days when United Artists seemed to be consciously moving away from the classic Bond poster style. All in all it's certainly worthwhile for the Bond movie fan with deep pockets and a lot of shelf space. And if you want to avoid being depressed by the last few lazy poster outings, try reading it from the back to the front and the book magically starts to get better and better with every page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T HESITATE, AT THIS PRICE IT'S A BARGAIN!, 21 Sep 2012
By 
D. McAndrew (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
Wow! This book is BIG AND HEAVY! In fact, it's so heavy it busted loose from Amazon's flimsy packaging, got slightly damaged and had to be repackaged by Australia Post before it could be delivered to me. Instead of being upset, I still say bravo to Amazon for what they charged for price and postage! Both were very reasonable and allow me to be still very happy with my purchase. As for the book itself, the photos are numerous and very clear. There's comparatively very little text but one could spend hours just looking through the photos and reminiscing over the good times had while watching the films over the years. While the majority of the photos seem to show US material, there's still a wealth of other foreign material and some very interesting "unused concept" material to pore over. Being Australian, I was pleased to see some Australian content including a nice James Bond double bill poster at the end of the book that triggered a flood of distant nostalgic memories rushing back to me. So, if you've been undecided whether to buy this title, delay no longer. Place your order today! It might be missing a lot of lobby cards as mentioned by other reviewers, but for the price, this is definitely a FIVE star purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
Around 1999 Boxtree published Tony Normands James Bond Movie Posters book which at the time was more than enough for Bondophiles everywhere. However 13 years have passed and dispite only 4 Bond movies have been made since then, a new 50th anniversary book was called for. This book obviously contains A LOT of posters you will already be familier with and a few rare unseen versions you won't have seen like TLD and LTK for instance. The book is very heavy and lavishly put together. Another reviewer states the lack of lobby cards etc from other countries which I agree with is a disappointment but an inclusion would probably mean a book so big and heavy that you could take it to the gym with you !! That asides, you also get 2 reprints about A4 size of Dr. No and Octopussy which may require framing on my part ! Worth the money but if you own the Boxtree book you may want to browse a copy first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the last word, BUT A GREAT BOOK, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Michael Siegel "eldoradofilm2" (Sindelfingen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
A big, heavy item. Strong slipcase, thick paper ... great product!
I'd say it is a 90-95% job. Fantastic reproductions, great quality here too. Also many unused artworks, very interesting indeed. I have only minor complaints. For instance lobby card-wise only US 11x14s and Italian photobustas were included. Why? Those are great of course, but I miss (examples of) those great 60s/70s German lc's and especially the UK lobby cards! A must! I mean country of origin, right ? A better mix would have done the job. I also would have included some more obscure countries (East European, South American etc.)
Some mistakes here and there (some German re-releases posters are described as first release).
But overall a great book, good design & good captions too. Many items I've never seen before. Well worth the money (of course!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it. Quick delivery, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
Bought as present for son. He loved it. Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal gift for Bond Fans of all ages, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Yb Wallace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
I bought the book as a gift and it was well received, kept him reading for hours xxx Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
Did not expect such a colourful and well constructed book. Very good for a collector and who likes James Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all the Bond posters, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Bigcat (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
This is a great book. It looks like it has every Bond film poster ever made. Really good quality reproduction. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters (Hardcover)
Very good book. A lot off intresting posters, art, and never seen concepts. For me it's a great book because i am a big fan of bondian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters
James Bond 50 Years of Movie Posters by Dorling Kindersley Publishers Ltd (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2012)
£28.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews