Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book with something for everyone - typically Dorling-Kindersley (DK) - simply delivered.
*** To avoid possible duplication it may be useful to note that this book is:-

'Based on content previously published in 'The Cooking Book' (2008) & 'Cook Express' (2009)' ***

Dinner in the Freezer is an attractive book with a good balance of home-and-away recipes in which we find old familiars such as 'Shepherd's Pie', 'Fish Fingers with chunky...
Published on 6 May 2011 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Few desserts
I'm disappointed to find so few desserts in this book, which I wouldn't have bought if I'd read all the reviews! Only icecreams and granitas. Otherwise some really tasty-looking savoury courses.
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by Fifiliz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book with something for everyone - typically Dorling-Kindersley (DK) - simply delivered., 6 May 2011
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
*** To avoid possible duplication it may be useful to note that this book is:-

'Based on content previously published in 'The Cooking Book' (2008) & 'Cook Express' (2009)' ***

Dinner in the Freezer is an attractive book with a good balance of home-and-away recipes in which we find old familiars such as 'Shepherd's Pie', 'Fish Fingers with chunky Tartare Sauce', 'Pizza' and 'Coq au Vin' mingling with the, perhaps, less common 'Sauerbraten', 'Albóndigas' and 'Chicken Schnitzels'.

From the back cover:-

'Fill up the freezer with everyday favourites to get ahead with the week's family cooking. One-pot dishes, hearty soups, pies and tarts, and sweet treats.

* How to cook in bulk, batch, and freeze
* Ready-to-reheat-and-eat recipes for every day and for every occasion
* Step-by-sep instructions ensure fast and failsafe results

The appealing 'Beef Stew with Orange and Bay Leaves', from pages 98 & 99, adorns the durable front hardboard cover which opens up to 224 high quality, split over main chapters:-

1. Hearty Soups (pg 24-43)
2. Casseroles & Curries (pg 45-105)
3. Pan-fries & Grills (pg 108-131)
4. Oven Bakes (pg 134-153)
5. Pizzas, Pies & Tarts (pg 156-191)
6. Sauces (pg 194-202)
7. Instant Desserts (pg 206-221)

sandwiched between notes for batching/freezing & freezer packaging, along with 10 pages of 'recipe choosers', and a guide to the symbols used in the recipes, with the index at the very back.
The inside cover pages have, as usual, the handy tables for volume and weight equivalents, oven temperatures and fridge and freezer storage guidelines which are also replicated on the inner back cover pages for quick and easy reference.

Each chapter opens simply with an appropriate double-page photographic spread and the chapter title and is generally followed by another double page spread of handy step-by-step instructions of any required techniques, e.g.:-

* making a stock,
* deseeding and cutting chillies
* lining a tart tin
* baking pastry blind
* making ice cream (with or without a machine)

Each recipe is clearly laid out with the title, description, the list/s of ingredients and a numbered method, along with a serving suggestion and a paragraph of freezing instructions.

The symbol guide offers extra information, e.g.:-

* the number of servings and preparation & cook times

and can also include, for example:-

* Healthy Option
* Specialist equipment requirement (e.g. large flameproof casserole or food processor)
* Pre-preparation requirement (e.g. soaking beans overnight)

Each of the recipes has an enticing full-page colour illustration from a selection of photographers.

My favourite chapter is 'Oven Bakes' which has such a variety that it is very hard to choose the first one to try out!

'Aubergine Parmigiana' from pages 134 & 135, along with 'Shepherdless Pie', from pages 150 & 151 eventually won and proved to be excellent choices for a fast moving vegetarian evening.
Last night I tried the tasty 'Shin of Beef with Marsala', from pages 76 & 77, serving 8, which went down very well simply served with a chunk of warm crusty bread.

A taste of the other recipes contained within:-

* Thick Vegetable Soup
* Black Bean and Coconut Soup
* Couscous Royale
* Vegetable Curry
* Moussaka
* Braised Turkey with Vegetables
* Caribbean Stew with Allspice and Ginger
* Chicken Korma
* Pork Goulash
* Game Stew
* Lamb and Mint Burgers
* Coquilles St. Jacques
* Vegetarian Leek and Mushroom Lasagne
* Pizza Dough
* Shortcrust Pastry
* Swiss Chard and Gruyère Cheese Tart
* Spicy Beef Pies
* Mixed Mushroom and Walnut Tart
* Beef Ragù
* Rich Tomato Sauce
* Double Chocolate Ice Cream
* Orange Sorbet
* Zesty Lemon Granita

My only criticism is that the dessert section is on the short and sweet side!

Overall, a useful book, one of the 'everyDay easy' series from DK which currently also includes:-

30 Minute Suppers
Chicken
One-pot
Cakes & Cupcakes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 6 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
Ecellent book, not just the recipies but the principles of freezing. Have a few good cooking days and then have food for the month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's grown on me., 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
I had this awhile before I started using it and I love it now. The recipe chooser at the front is genius. I've cooked a lot of the vegetarian ones...we especially like the veggie lasagne, curried veg pies, mixed mushroom and walnut tart, leek and potato soup, shepherdless pie and the Quiche. Meat wise, the sausages with butter beans and the chicken and sweet corn pie are lovely. I'm working through the book (have also tried the veg curry, but I think it needs tweaking) I really like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab freezer food, 11 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
Finally a cookbook that has brilliant recipes with clear instructions and meals that can be made ahead and stuck in the freezer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Busy womans very helpful cookbook, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
Easy/clear instructions. very helpful tips . I have been cooking for over 40 years , saw this book on my daughters table , glanced at it and wanted one, Didn't realise you could batch cook and freeze so many different recipes = easy to more complicated .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works for me, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
Simple and easy to follow recipes which make tasty meals. All have been as good to eat when defrosted and reheated as they were when first cooked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book for bulk cooking, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
S. Grey (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
Who wants to cook every night after a long day at work and kids running around? Not me!

This book enables me to cook a weeks worth of meals in one go, and once cooled put in freezer bags and label up so always lots to defrost ready for mealtime in the evenings.

Just need a chest freezer now as my integral one is filling up fast!

This is a really good book, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Few desserts, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
I'm disappointed to find so few desserts in this book, which I wouldn't have bought if I'd read all the reviews! Only icecreams and granitas. Otherwise some really tasty-looking savoury courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So far...not so good., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) (Hardcover)
The book contains a wide range of delicious looking meals and includes some very helpful information. I'm pregnant and bought this book so I could pre prepare a few meals to help me through the first few weeks (...months...) with a newborn. However, I made my first meal last night (pork with rice and tomatoes) and it was a disaster. I followed the recipe to a T and the result was a sloppy inedible mess. While I am certainly no chef, I suspect that something is missing from the ingredients..like, chicken stock or something along them lines. Either way the whole thing ended up in the bin. What a waste of money. I feel reluctant to try another recipe for fear of a similar thing happening...I don't trust the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy)
Dinner in the Freezer (Everyday Easy) by DK (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £18.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews