Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful but limited
This is a very well-illustrated and easy to follow guide to the physical structures of the body, organised into logical sections. It explains how the injuries occur and what the implications are in terms of impact upon your sport and more general physical activities. However, on treatment it is less full and clearly expects that the reader will consult professional help...
Published on 31 Aug 2011 by Setter man

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for health professionals
I purchased this book for work in A&E, however I soon realized after opening it up that it is meant for lay people. It is a great book for lay people, but encourages self diagnosis.
Published 1 month ago by ursewatch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful but limited, 31 Aug 2011
By 
Setter man (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
This is a very well-illustrated and easy to follow guide to the physical structures of the body, organised into logical sections. It explains how the injuries occur and what the implications are in terms of impact upon your sport and more general physical activities. However, on treatment it is less full and clearly expects that the reader will consult professional help in the form of physiotherapists or other medical specialists. For someone looking for self-help treatment and exercises etc., other books are more useful, and the Grisogono 'Sports Injuries' book, though now out of print, still takes some beating in this regard. It can be bought second hand on Amazon and via other sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the NHS physio.., 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
The book is well written, graphically pleasing on the eye and informative.
Although you will have to do a lot of flicking back and forth between the relevant sections, and probably write some notes, due diligence will be rewarded.
I suffered a groin strain also and tore some muscles in my thigh from martial atrs.
I saw the local physio at the NHS hospital and they gave me one or two exercises to improve strength, with little or no guidelines on progression or a timeline for recovery.
This book gave me at least 16 basic exercises, then another dozen intermediate exercises to do.It also gave some guidelines on how to get back to full strength. If you are careful and methodical and pay due regard to what your own body is telling you then this book will really help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sports Injuries, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
A very informative book and an excellent source book for coaches and athletes. Superbly illustrated with a wonderful bank of exercises in order to assist recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
Anyone that fancies going into a sports injury career or just wanting to know more about them, this a great beginners book! Alot of information inside with lots of images too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
Was unsure when ordering this if it would be helpful to me but so pleased that I ordered it, the illustrations are beautifully detailed with the different sports and the injuries associated logically written so that even a novice like myself was able to easily comprehend. With sections on preventing injuries and rehabiltation also and exercises too, this is an excellant book that I will refer to often. Iam studying Sports massage Therapy but am not "sporty" myself so this has opened my eyes to the diverse range of problems I may be dealing with. I consider this a valuable tool for anyone either studying sports massage therapy, fitness or even personal use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BMA guide to sports injuires, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
Great book. 108 pages devoted to sports injuries, what medical treatment is required and what to probably to expect with the physiotherapy that you will receive when injured from the early stage all the way up to your return to sport.

The treatment and rehabilitation section is split up into mobility, strength training, proprioception and plyometric exercises. I find the mobility section great and have added a few mobility drills into my warm up.

Great information supplied within this book. If your interested in training and would like a bit more knowledge of training smart and how to avoid injuries, treat an existing injury or even keep on the straight and narrow after an injury this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 18 July 2011
By 
Ms. K. McDonald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
This is a very good book - easy to understand, read, find an injury and find some of the exercises that either help prevent it or help to get over it. In conjunction with "The Anatomy of Stretching" they make a good pair for any therapist.
Arrived really quickly too, and was a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
Pete Phythian - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
Delivered in good time. Item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for health professionals, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
I purchased this book for work in A&E, however I soon realized after opening it up that it is meant for lay people. It is a great book for lay people, but encourages self diagnosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great help to me, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries (Paperback)
This book has been brilliant for me so far with my studies. The amount of injuries,the diagnosis of them,symptoms and treatments for them have been a great help to me. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries
The BMA Guide to Sport Injuries by DK (Paperback - 1 Nov 2010)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews