Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value sumptious title
This is a vast tome, very heavy - in fact not so much a coffee table book as a coffee table in itself! Mind you, you would not want to get liquid anywhere near this as you won't want to run the risk of spoiling some of the best space related photographs and illustrations you will see in a long time. True this means the text is a bit lacking in detail on some occasions but...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by Big Jim

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Space for improvement
I bought this book after viewing a series of television programmes about space. I also bought a star map and was determined to get to know the night sky better. I bought the wrong book. My fault of course, but it has lain on my coffee table virtually unopened since it arrived. I really wanted a guide to the night sky, but this seemed to be the ultimate coffee table book...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Kenneth N. Hambly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value sumptious title, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
This is a vast tome, very heavy - in fact not so much a coffee table book as a coffee table in itself! Mind you, you would not want to get liquid anywhere near this as you won't want to run the risk of spoiling some of the best space related photographs and illustrations you will see in a long time. True this means the text is a bit lacking in detail on some occasions but even then there is more than enough to get your teeth into on that front. You won't be reading this book on the train but in the comfort of your own living room this is a book to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space is a bit big innit?, 15 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
I used to love reading about space missions and the planets in the solar system when I was a child but haven't bought a book on space in over 20 years and then I came across this book. So much has changed over that time with the Hubble telescope images and the international space station that I thought I'd give this book a try.

My verdict is that this is an amazing book. It starts off with the inner planets of the solar system and then the outer planets and then the kuiper belt and onwards and outwards. The photography is really amazing, there is such a large amount of breathtaking pictures such as the dunes of Mars and the volcanic activity on other moons and some vast nebula that are light years across. Everything is so unimaginably big that it is not possible to really comprehend in a photograph.

There are also many other things in the book that I haven't fully read yet such as descriptions of a neutrino experiment in Japan that looks like something straight out of a science fiction movie and photos taken using ultraviolet and other types of light frequency. There are also theoretical images and text on topics such as how the Earth was formed.

The galaxy has billions of stars and the images are really quite humbling. My advice if you decide to get this book, is to read it when you have peace and quiet in order to reflect and contemplate what you are looking at just to do it justice.

This is a good purchase for those with imagination and an interest in the unknown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
This book surpassed all my expectations and then some. Opening up on mans first forays into space it goes on to take you planet by planet to the outer solar system and then deep into space with a fantastic amount of information at each stop. The real selling point with these types of books is the imagery and this one doesn't disappoint. You'll be mesmerized by the double page spread photographs not to mention the high quality info-graphics and illustrations.

I've been slowly working my way through the book (a rather hefty size) and can tell this one will stay with me for many years to come, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 April 2011
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
This is a typical Dorling Kindersley book. In other words, sumptuous illustrations and clear to follow text. More than worth it for the illustrations alone but as a very new Open University student of astronomy, it is proving invaluable in helping me get to grips with the subject. A superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey throughout the space..., 18 May 2011
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
There is no need to spend 20 million or even 200 000 USD for a flight into space, well at least yet.

Just sit back and relax as once you open this book - it will take you from our home Earth right throughout every single planet and satellite in our Solar System and far beyond than that - to the remotest galaxy clusters.

As you would expect from `'DK'' - quality and amount of illustrations is absolutely outstanding.

Of course apart of illustrations and great layout this book has pretty much everything you would need to know about the Space.

It is something amazing to realise how much actually we know already about the world out there and how much is still to be learned.
Well worth any money spend, an amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spaced out!, 7 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. Peter J. Harrison "Peter J" (Gt Yarmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
What an excellent book. As big as the subject. Amazing pictures and great understandable text. Suitable for those wanting to see and know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
While space is being discovered further and further, this book offers all the basic details on how the investigations began, with lots of easily understandable diagrams, photos and tables with data on planets, stars, the Sun, missions, rockets etc. A must have, and although it is quite old by now, it contains many materials and data that will not change in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 4 Jan 2013
By 
K. Railton "Avid Reader" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Christmas present for my husband and he loved the imagery and informative content. It really is a lovely gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
Bought this book for an upcoming university project. It provides great in depth text and imagery of planets, the solar system and beyond, looking at the fantastic colourful galaxies. It also has images of astronauts and their visits to space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coffee table book, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) (Hardcover)
purchased this as a valentines day pressie for my husband.
its a great coffee table book filled with amazing photography, facts & figures.
if you are interested in space, its a bible. if you are interested in photography, its a must-see.
excellent book, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK)
Space: From Earth to the Edge of the Universe (DK) by Giles Sparrow (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2010)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews