Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made the trip
When I first received this book I wasn't sure about it, as the detail on each location was pretty limited I wasn't sure that there was enough to be useful, but having used it to follow three of the routes in practice, I'm a convert

The book sets out 24 drives through the best of Germany with notes on the route to follow, and the places along the way worth...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by Dancer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars limited selection
Very good at finding architectural sights, with some mention of paintings etc., but seems to ignore so much more that there is to see - some areas get virtually no mention, which s a pity if it puts visitors off their many attractions - particularly the stunning scenery.
Published 20 months ago by huw williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made the trip, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
When I first received this book I wasn't sure about it, as the detail on each location was pretty limited I wasn't sure that there was enough to be useful, but having used it to follow three of the routes in practice, I'm a convert

The book sets out 24 drives through the best of Germany with notes on the route to follow, and the places along the way worth visiting with a brief description of each. The briefness of the description had worried me, but in practice it's enough to give you a flavour of the place so you can decide if it's worth a look, and then you can pick up the detail at the various attractions once you get there. This also avoids having to carry a brick of a book everywhere you go.

The book also gives suggestions of places to eat and stay - those that we tried were spot on. The routes themselves do a fine job of taking you on attractive tours, and skipping to the best sights.

Now a word about time - the book gives time suggestions that would allow you to do each route in great detail. For myself, there's a limit to how many museums & churches I want to inch through in a day. So routes that the book suggested would take 4 days, we did in one. Still, keep an eye out for the suggested additional excursions, as there is many a vineyard worth an extra daytrip.

A very worthwhile addition to the book would be a couple of pages on each of the hub cities. Unless you have access to a handy teleporter, you're likely to fly into Germany, so some info on Berlin, Frankfurt and Munich wouldn't have hurt (there's a great impressionist collection in Munich if you're into that kind of thing).

Still, I wanted to see something of Germany (and I give the local people top marks for friendliness & hospitality), and a copy of Back Roads Germany made the trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - opened our eyes to places we may never have seen, 8 Aug. 2011
By 
M. Rebelo "Boostie" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
Bought this book as we decided on a whim to go to Germany as we got a bargain flight and enjoy going a little off the beaten track. We hired a car and were there for 4 days and managed 2 of the routes in the book - excellent introduction to the various towns and cities, turn by turn instructions, where to park, ideas of where to walk etc. Breathtaking views and sleepy little villages and larger busier towns are all included. Our Sat Nav wouldn't work as the cigarette lighter in the car was broken for charging but this book got us where we wanted to be every day. We are very keen to go back and do some more of the Germany drives, but have also bought Spain and Ireland and for a friends birthday, England and France (she was thrilled) Now we just need a few months holiday to try them all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German Holiday, 21 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
This is an excellant book if you are planning a holiday in Germany.
Not only does it give you detailed country routes to follow but also places to visit and stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars limited selection, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
Very good at finding architectural sights, with some mention of paintings etc., but seems to ignore so much more that there is to see - some areas get virtually no mention, which s a pity if it puts visitors off their many attractions - particularly the stunning scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars invaluable for a scenic driving tour, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
Used this book to help plan a 2000 mile 2 week driving tour and it was brilliant! Drove to Wurzburg on motorways then took B roads and lanes all the way down the Romantische Strasse to the Alps, along the Deutsche Alpenstrasse to Lake Constance, then up through the Black Forest, through the Rhine valley to Koblenz, where we hit the motorways again back to the Hook of Holland. A picture in the book of the fairy-tale village of Schiltach made us book a night there at the Alte Brucke hotel - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
Wanted to ride the Romantic route and this was excellent, used in tandem with Germany eyewitness book and general map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy to follow, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) (Paperback)
A clear guide, easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads)
Back Roads Germany (DK Eyewitness Travel Back Roads) by J'Urgen Scheunemann (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £7.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews