Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book for experienced and novice cooks
This 544 page cook book just published by Dorling Kindersley arrived on my doorstep a few days ago and I have been flicking through it constantly ever since. The idea behind this cook's companion is to provide detailed information, normally including at least one photograph, of over 2,500 ingredients from all over the world, items both familiar and exotic. There are also...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Phoodie Phile

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cooks Book of Ingredients
Great for finding out exactly what can be done with certain if not all ingredients. The variety of uses could be questionable but in general a very useful tool for budding chefs. Well presented - a large book with many colourplates.
Published on 12 April 2011 by Ingrid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book for experienced and novice cooks, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Phoodie Phile (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
This 544 page cook book just published by Dorling Kindersley arrived on my doorstep a few days ago and I have been flicking through it constantly ever since. The idea behind this cook's companion is to provide detailed information, normally including at least one photograph, of over 2,500 ingredients from all over the world, items both familiar and exotic. There are also over 200 recipes although this is not, in my opinion, the reason why you would buy this book. All the pages have multiple full colour photographs of the majority of ingredients accompanied with some explanatory text alongside the photos.

There are 10 chapters covering: Fish and Seafood; Meat; Vegetables; Herbs; Nuts and Seeds; Spices; Dairy and Eggs; Fruits; Grains, Rice, Pasta and Noodles; and finally Oils, Vinegars and Flavourings.

Each chapter starts off with some general "Essentials" information such as how to buy, store, prepare and cook the items contained therein. This includes recognising different cuts of meat, for example, and the best cuts for different cooking methods and general timings. After this general section, each chapter then goes on to individual ingredients in more detail e.g. types of fish, their sustainability statistics, alternatives, how best to eat that particular ingredient i.e. roast, grill etc. Also the best time to buy the ingredient for seasonality, how to store, flavour pairings information which gives some examples of other flavours that marry well with the main ingredient e.g hake goes well with olive oil, garlic, smoked paprika, butter and lemon. Finally there is a "Classic recipe" which gives you an idea of the well known classics that a certain ingredient is used in e.g veal and osso bucco. As mentioned previously, in 200 cases there is the actual recipe in full for the "Classic recipe" information.

The Index section is split into two - the general index which includes the recipes in italic print and a secondary index which is solely the recipes for ease of navigation. Finally there are a couple of pages with the contact details of various suppliers who helped to provide the ingredients including their website addresses for any online ordering, if applicable.

I have found this comprehensive book very enlightening on some of the lesser know ingredients as well as informative as a central place to come to, to check cooking times, best cuts etc for the more usual ingredients. You will even find information such as which type of apple to use for different classic recipes, which fall apart on cooking and which hold their shape etc. I am very happy with my purchase and will be dipping into this book both just for the pleasure of reading and learning as well as for using it as a reference book when I come across new ingredients in other recipe books or in the supermarket that I am not familiar with. Highly recommended and would make a fabulous gift too, not just for foodies but for those who are just learning to cook and source ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, very informative., 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
This book does exactly what its title suggests. It is basically a photographic version of the larousse gastronomique, I particularly like the way this book describes what various ingredients taste like, -allowing you to easily add and combine more unusual ingredients into your cooking. Also, like the Larousse it has a few basic recipes, but this is NOT a recipe book. This book's purpose is to inform the reader about all sorts of ingredients and if it were to give you a recipe on each, then you would probably not be able to pick it up, as it is pretty chunky already! Buy it if you like to experiment or are looking for an interesting gift for a 'cook' or someone just enthusiastic about food... :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
I have a lot of Doring and Kindersley books on a variety of subjects and I just love them. This new book on ingredients does not disappoint, laid out in the usual DK format it has lovely pictures and detailed information. A great book for anyone who likes food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully produced and really useful, 29 Nov 2010
By 
noc "noc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
I bought this book last week and both my husband and I have been leafing through it ever since. It's beautifully produced. Clearly laid out with bright pictures, interesting facts and informative tips, this makes a great reference book for any kind of cook. If you have seen something new in your local supermarket and want to know how you might prepare and cook it, what other foods it would normally be served with, how to store it and how long it will keep for, this book will tell you. It can be a source or inspiration. Anyone who enjoys food will find learning about the huge variety of foodstuffs covered strangely absorbing until you realise you've whiled away half an hour when all you intended to do was to see what potato varieties are especially good for roasting.

This book would be a fantastic addition to every kitchen, and in fact, is a great coffee-table book too. After all, most people enjoy food and eating, even if they aren't hugely keen or adventurous cooks, and there's a lot to learn about food from this book. A great gift idea too. I'm really pleased with this. I own a lot of cookery books but this is probably going to out-last them all in terms of general usefulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for budding chefs, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
Bought for my 18 year old nephew who aspires to being a chef. He spent all of Xmas with his head in the book. Comprehensive content. Well laid out. Good selection of colour plates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
Very much a coffee table book, but full of information. It covers all those unknown ingredients that crop up in recipes theses days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars foodies, 9 May 2011
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
Very good. Was purchased as a gift for someone else but had a flick through before wrapping it up! Very good pics and descriptions. The recipient enjoyed the book. The book is good to dip into for menus for special occasions and to browse through for inspiration for meal ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cooks Book of Ingredients, 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
Great for finding out exactly what can be done with certain if not all ingredients. The variety of uses could be questionable but in general a very useful tool for budding chefs. Well presented - a large book with many colourplates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
Very informative book. Good looking photographs and well written.
The (Spanish) recipient is training to be a chef and it was very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cook's Book of Ingredients (Hardcover)
Great book or both beginners and those who enjoy cooking. But don't always know what to do or what ingredients to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cook's Book of Ingredients
The Cook's Book of Ingredients by DK (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2010)
24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews