Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another visually stunning DK Travel Guide!
Dorling Kindersley really know how to do decent travel guides.

This is another stunning visual guide - with clear pictures, map and guidance. It includes all of the touristy things everyone is going to want to see for the first time visit but also plenty of more unusual and out-of-the-way places for those who are coming back for more.

Included are...
Published on 26 Mar 2009 by uncle barbar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basics but a bit boring
A good basic guide to the area, however a bit boring. Doesn't inspire! Could do with some top ten's or itinerary ideas.
Published 19 months ago by J. L. Platt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another visually stunning DK Travel Guide!, 26 Mar 2009
By 
uncle barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Dorling Kindersley really know how to do decent travel guides.

This is another stunning visual guide - with clear pictures, map and guidance. It includes all of the touristy things everyone is going to want to see for the first time visit but also plenty of more unusual and out-of-the-way places for those who are coming back for more.

Included are details of all the Chateaux to visit (a little potted history, opening times and phone number), maps of all the areas and street maps of important towns and cities, places to visit, the history of this area, places to stay and places to eat - in fact everything you could possibly want to do in the area.

The book is, as always, excellent value for money via Amazon so there's no excuse not to buy a copy before you go. In fact I usually by the Green Michelin Guide AS WELL as a DK guide just to ensure my holiday is packed full with places to see and so i don't miss ANYTHING!

DK's Loire Valley guide gets the 5-star thumbs up from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all you need to know, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this series of guide books. This one in particular is really helpful. if you are planning a trip to the Loire, this has everything you need to design your itinerary. It is beautifully illustrated and well organised. Even the paper and binding is better than the competition. The illustrations leave all the others (Michelin et al) in the dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 27 Aug 2010
By 
John A. Danks "jadx" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
Bought this book just before our holiday near Angers. Impressed with content which is condensed into this small book with fine drawings and photographs. This book added to our trip with information which was easy to find such as local maps, places to visit and lots of other advice. The back of the book has motoring,eating out, leisure activity advice amongst others and a useful phrase book section. This book looks and feels very good quality and I will check out other books in the series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully presented guide but not perfect, 27 Jun 2010
By 
hiljean (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
I have to admit that the DK Eyewitness guides are without doubt the most beautiful and comprehensively illustrated travel guides on the market. I bought this recently for our first trip to the Loire Valley and I found it very useful in choosing which sites to visit and very informative on those sites.

Where it falls down, in my view, is that there is very little practical information on things like restaurants. For the whole of this quite large area of France there are only 6 pages given over to restaurants so that, for example, there is only one mentioned for Amboise, a quite large town. As it also happens to be quite an expensive restaurant, you are left rather to your own devices. Other guides I have used in the past have been more comprehensive on this aspect and at least given a choice of differently prices restaurants for each town.

The same seems to be true for accommodation. As it happens we were renting a gite, but only one hotel is given for Amboise and that is a very expensive one.

I guess it rather depends what you are looking for in a guide but this series seems to be focussed very heavily on tourist attractions rather than practical information which is fine, so long as you are aware of that when you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good basics but a bit boring, 28 Feb 2013
By 
J. L. Platt (shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
A good basic guide to the area, however a bit boring. Doesn't inspire! Could do with some top ten's or itinerary ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book for regional tours, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
Bought before trip to Loire, good maps and useful comments to plan day trips out with.Will stay in the car for future use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 22 July 2010
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
Very well presented and easy to follow. After browsing the book, I could not wait to get to the Loire Valley. I was not disappointed. Highly recommended guide book and destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book at a great price, 8 July 2010
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
Great book to read up before exploring the area, lots of good narrative and excellent pictures and information. Also a handy size to take with you. An excellent planning tool. Best price around for the latesrt version with Amazon service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good on the Majors, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley (Paperback)
This is not the first DK guide I have purchased, but the Loire is not as well catered for as some and this seemed the best of the bunch.
The guide is well illustrated and quite comprehensive on the major tourist attractions, and that I suppose is what it is for.
It falls down on the lesser known attractions with little coverage and I had to fall back on previous research online, but that is only my opinion.
The other item has been mentioned by others, this is not a Michelin Guide so why bother with the paltry entries on places to stay and restaurants when others do it so much better, best to give over that space to more aplaces to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visiting the Loire valley, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Garry Brinton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First found this book at the Library and thought must have it, most descriptive and useful.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Loire Valley by Jack Tressider (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
£7.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews