Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb history of DC comics, 5 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
This book is a pretty comprehensive history of DC comics covering the period from the mid thirties to the present. Very colorful, informative, great covers and more. Totally recommended.

Would loved to have seen a little more about the early period, perhaps covering the More Fun, New Comics etc a little more - as well as the ins and outs of the changing titles and characters. Also, some 'important' issues (such as the last issue etc of runs) didn't get a mention which was a pity, also perhaps more coverage of some of the minor characters such as 'Robot Man' 'Johnny Quick' issues would have been useful. Loved the references to Streaky and Rex the Wonder Dog (they definitely need a new series)

Also lots of information on the romance, crime, war comics and other genre comics

The coverage of the 50s was good and in many ways gives the impression that there was hardly any loss of the superhero or gap between the Golden Age and the Silver Age (it was only about 5 years but I assume the audience for comics was slightly different). Would love to understand why DC didn't decide to just bring back the original Flash and not the 1956 Barry Allen Flash? or the original Green Lantern (perhaps like an Atlas Revival) as well as the total neglect until well into the 60s / 70s of some of their other heroes (and villains). Perhaps not the book for those kinds of things, as well as being a pointless what-if.

The 80s and 90s etc are well covered and useful for me as that was period that I totally ignored DC comics, so most of the titles and storylines are only vaguely remembered, so this book is a really useful catchup reference

Superb book throughout, and pretty weighty ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast of nostalgia!, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
Anne "Just Anne" (Glasgow , Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
A blast of nostalgia for older fans, and a great introduction for new ones!Covers all aspects of DC's amazing history:Not just super heroes , but all the other genres like detective, mystery, war , romance , and science fiction.Excellent presentation and production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Feb. 2011
By 
Ec "Ems" (Versailles, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
It's a great product,the price is surprising when you've got your hands on it. You've got the book and drawings on glossy paper as a gift. It's like a catalogue by year, well written well illustrated. With a lot of little things to discover.Simply great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book for the comic fan, 8 May 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
What it is. A selection of (at a guess) about 1500 significant (or sometimes just plain odd*) comics from the entire DC range in chronological order. Each entry contains commentary on the issue and a smallish reproduction of the cover, plus a few double page spread reproductions.

As with the DC Poster Book, I waited until I could get if for a more affordable price than the publisher's rather high RRP. It's a lovely book for the comic fan. While hitting all the obvious comics, it still manages to come up with some weird and wonderful stuff you've never even heard of. If you're into comics nostalgia, comic art, comics reference books, then it's a great time to be a DC fan. Many hours of fun to be had from a medium that was once considered childish ephemera. Not any more.

* Teen Beat, cover dated Dec '67. Only one other issue published and renamed Teen Beam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's All Krona's Fault - Chronicle of the Comic Book Mothership, 9 Oct. 2012
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
I received my copy of the DC Chronicle as a twenty-fourth birthday gift from my second family in Dover, England alongside the adjoining Marvel Chronicle. Because I have a little more familiarity with DC Comics rather than the work of Marvel, I decided to start reading the DC Chronicle first. I admit that I probably do not totally understand the finer metaphysics of comic book lore, but I am definitely getting there after reading this volume. The Chronicle is presented marvellously with year-by-year information on comic book history, film adaptations, animated works, and television serials alongside real-world events pertaining to that particular year. It details the many origins, crossovers, character/team debuts and major storylines that permeate through the DC Universe to this very day, as well as examining behind the scenes' editors and writers.
Reading this chronicle has definitely expanded my knowledge, passion and interest in comic book fantasy and has made me see in a new light what goes behind the production of our favourite characters and events. One of the things that struck me was how long it took for Jerry Siegel and Joe Schuster to frame the character of Superman to the one who debuted in 1938 as Kal-L of Krypton(-Two). All the subsequent reimagining over the years have resulted because of this stellar character who is arguably at the centre of the DC Universe and Multiverse that we are still exploring to this day.
I highly recommend this Chronicle, alongside its Marvel counterpart in actuality, as they both provide such thesis on everything surrounding these iconic comic book `giants' that you can't help opening up your mind to the intricate web of DC's foundations and everlasting legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 27 Jun. 2012
By 
M. Fisher (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
Absolutely loved this. Big, bold, well written, beautifully drawn, an absolute treasure for comic book afficionados.

I grew up with DC and Marvel in the 60s and was there for the Silver Age. I then "grew up" and lost track through the 80s and 90s, so a lot of the changes - reboots, relaunches, reinventing, "Crisis on Infinite Earths" etc -meant nothing to me and when I did pick books up in shops from time to time it was just too confusing.

This year-by-year chronicle explained it all, filled the gaps in, explained the unclear. Massively recommended - now to start on the Marvel Chronicle.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 April 2013
By 
vectisfabber "vectisfabber" (Isle of Wight, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
This book is a beautifully presented history of DC Comics (and, unlike Dorling Kindersley's Encyclopaedia, it is not full of errors and typos). Given that it has to be selective in what it presents, the choices it makes are generally solid. An enjoyable, informative, entertaining and beautiful reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
The giftee was an 11 year old boy and his eyes popped out of his head. Now claims to be the kid who knows the most about DC comics in New Zealand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to educate my sons on the real DC ..., 19 Sept. 2014
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
Can't wait to educate my sons on the real DC characters and not the ones Hollywood wants us to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Super buy, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) (Hardcover)
The book was great and was delivered fast. The whole purchase was fast, smooth and simple, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk)
DC Comics Year by Year a Visual Chronicle (Dk) by Michael McAvennie (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £6.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews