Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference Book
A perfect book for the task of identifying what we have in France, where we live and the UK. Not too complicated to peruse and fine for the job.
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Mr. Michael R. Shaw

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the moth'd well thought out book ever
Well presented and with some lovely images, but book itself is quite small and very tightly bound so difficult to open properly to read the full page contents without worrying about splitting the spline. There's also full coverage of all European butterflies irrespective of whether you'll ever see them in the UK which I found unnecessary and a bit surprising given it's...
Published 10 months ago by a horse with no name


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference Book, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Michael R. Shaw "Mike Shaw" (Côte-d'Or, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
A perfect book for the task of identifying what we have in France, where we live and the UK. Not too complicated to peruse and fine for the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
Compact, well illustrated, and informative. Includes 2 photos of adult butterfly, illustration of the caterpillar, indicates dimensions, a small map of Europe indicates locations where you find it, and it doesn't stop there.... Great book to take along on walks and serves as a reference book back at home. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly identification guide, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
I have been looking for a book for a while to help me identify butterflies and moths. This book ticks most of the boxes and being DK is of high quality. I do find it a bit cluttered though and it has taken me a little while to get used to it.

All in all a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rspb butterflys and mothes, 16 Jun 2013
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
i think the book is one of my best ones its clear and consis and think it even is betifule becase some the butterflys in there the colours are amazing and also one of my favrit butterflys they hsve got in there is the pecok buttetfly that is one of theones that you should read first it is a real must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy fieldguide, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
informative little book, was wanting good pics of caterpillars, they are small, but is the only book I found with them in at all. so good from that point of view. nice illustrations generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
I bought this book, so that I could identiy the vast array of butterflies in my garden.
I wanted a publication with good colour illustrations and a reasonable overview of
the butterfly's life cycle without being too academic.
Recommend this book as a good reference for the amateur butterfly spotter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly poor for DK, 6 Oct 2013
By 
D. Bennett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
Surprisingly poor compared to the usual DK standard. Illustrations/pictures are not that great or clear. Some of the print is so tiny you need a magnifying glass to read it. Pocket Guide to Butterflies by Richard Lewington is much much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the moth'd well thought out book ever, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
Well presented and with some lovely images, but book itself is quite small and very tightly bound so difficult to open properly to read the full page contents without worrying about splitting the spline. There's also full coverage of all European butterflies irrespective of whether you'll ever see them in the UK which I found unnecessary and a bit surprising given it's produced by the RSPB - perhaps they had to do this to pad it out and no doubt some will find such useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly clear for butterfly ID, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
I've had this book for a few weeks now, and at first I thought it was really good. There are, however, a number of drawbacks (hence the 2star rating): first of all, the features for identification aren't particularly clear. For example, the Meadow Brown in the book is not typical, and certainly looks different from the Meadow Browns I have encountered this year. Because of this, I had initially thought they were Small Heaths (e.g. the "eye" on the wings of these: the Small Heath is presented in the book as having a white dot, and a broad white line along the underwings. The Meadow Brown appears not to have either, according to the book. Yet, in reality most Meadow Brown butterflies have a white dot in the "eye", too, and a greyish line is not unheard of, either. This left me confused and questioning whether other IDs (that I'm not that familiar with) are equally 'off'.
The second issue is that many European species are included - to the degree where ID is really tricky as there are so many different options to choose from. Only once you notice the small distribution map for each entry does it become clear that at least 75% of the butterflies covered in the book never really appear in the UK. I highlighted all butterflies I was likely to see in my area with a highlighter pen. Still, a book just about the UK would have been more helpful.
Finally, almost all butterflies are listed as 'widespread'. I've since learnt that this is really not the case - some are quite rare (e.g. the white admiral - I wouldn't really class that as 'widespread' in the literal sense of the word. Maybe a more detailed classification would be more useful?
I'm now going to buy other reference books in my attempt to ID butterflies, as this particular book just isn't clear enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) (Paperback)
Excellent simple reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature)
Butterflies and Moths (RSPB Pocket Nature) by Dk (Paperback - 1 Feb 2010)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews