Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent place to start
Annabel Karmel is the Queen of Baby Eating, and this is just the latest in a steady stream of publications by her on the subject. However this book is very much focused on weaning, so just up to 12 months, and about specific worries you might have to do with that early period. She has also published other books which recommend both baby and toddler eating plans, and if...
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by emma who reads a lot

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annabel Karmel Weaning
It was a bit of a waste of money. I also bought Annabel Karmel's New Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner and this is the book I refer to all the time, fabulous with great recipes. There is a bit of repitition between the two so I wouldn't recommend this one as its not as detailed.
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by flamingojo


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent place to start, 27 Aug 2010
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
Annabel Karmel is the Queen of Baby Eating, and this is just the latest in a steady stream of publications by her on the subject. However this book is very much focused on weaning, so just up to 12 months, and about specific worries you might have to do with that early period. She has also published other books which recommend both baby and toddler eating plans, and if money is tight you might want to order one of them instead.

The first 25 pages are detailed general advice on how to introduce new foods, understanding truths and myths, and in particular addressing special diets, a bit of advice for vegetarians and allergy issues. Then the rest of the book is divided into three sections: Stage one, up to six months; Stage two, six to nine months; and Stage three, 10 to 12 months.

Stage one has lots of information on preparing foods, what first foods should be, the specialness of the very first spoonful and how you should feed the baby. There are then about ten recipes as well as a number of purée suggestions.

Stage two has the most information: this is the section for a baby who has begun to eat quite well, and there are many different purée recipes such as Pumpkin and Pea, or Salmon and Corn Chowder. Also puddings, bringing the number of recipes in this section to about 25. These are proper recipes, which will take a little time to prepare, but there's also lots of advice about freezing and how to do all this relatively sensibly so you don't spend your whole life cooking tiny meals.

Finally, there's stage three, with another twenty or so recipes including chicken burgers, meatballs and fishfingers, and the idea here is to begin to get the child eating some things that you might actually be able to eat as well, so that the whole family are eating the same thing (always eventually her goal).

The whole book is really admirable, and inspiring. I enjoyed reading it and it made me feel motivated and excited to cook for the baby. There are a few things I would point out: one is that there are plenty of her books available secondhand, but weaning advice has changed a lot in the last decade and (for example) my sister-in-law has a Karmel book which advises on weaning at 4 months which is now not generally advised, so a brand new book would be the only one to contain up-to-date health advice.

Secondly, there's not much advice for the mum who is anxious about how much her baby is eating, if it's loads! There's only help for people whose babies aren't eating! Mine stuffs his face, and I couldn't find any recommendations about how many spoonfuls I should stop at, even if he's happy to keep opening his mouth...

Finally, my experience is that even if I homecook the food, with all organic ingredients, it's often not quite as tasty as the organic baby food you can buy from (say) Ella's Kitchen. In the end, I've served my baby both at each meal, and made little mixtures combining the two to really make the meal taste interesting, as the homemade food has a much better texture, but even with Annabel's help the bought food cannot be beaten on flavour, so far... Perhaps I need to source tastier ingredients :-)

Postscript, 31st October: I am now cooking from the 6-9 months section, and these are absolutely delicious, to the point where I've been making double quantities and serving the unpureed version for our grownup dinner. I never got the hang of making really good apple puree, but these meatier recipes come out a treat. Beef stew with sweet potato, cod cooked with spinach and potato, and the lentil and sweet potato dish have all been a great success as dinners for both us and the baby. Really, really tasty. And saves SUCH a lot of time to only cook once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
Being a first time mum, I like to get the basics of every situation without being bombarded with too much information and this book provided me with all the necessary answers I needed for weaning. The recipes are easy and varied and the menu planners makes the process of weaning easier by showing how and when to introduce foods. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to all mums at this important stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
There are some really useful and handy tips in here and some great recipies. Definitely great for first time mums for different ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
This book is great to get you straight to what you need to know about weaning. It also has some great recipes, things you wouldn't necessarily think to puree together for yourself. It is a great starter book for new parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great purchase, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
This was recommended to me by a few friends. It has very useful hints recipes and tips. A very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter book, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
I recently purchased this book and it is easy and fast to read and has useful advice and quick recipes. My daughter is taking to the weaning and I would recommend as a good starter book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weaning book review, 26 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
The book was both useful and informative. The information within this book certainly helped when weaning my baby. I would have no hesitation recommending this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 19 Oct 2010
By 
R. Watkin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
Able to use this book to guide weaning my baby. Great ideas for recipes adn instruction on stuff neeeded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annabel Karmel Weaning, 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
It was a bit of a waste of money. I also bought Annabel Karmel's New Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner and this is the book I refer to all the time, fabulous with great recipes. There is a bit of repitition between the two so I wouldn't recommend this one as its not as detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: Weaning (Hardcover)
While not exactly rocket science, this book is full of very useful recipes and ideas. A good reference point with easy to follow instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weaning
Weaning by Annabel Karmel (Hardcover - 1 July 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews