Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new 'How-to' for Dreamers
The most wonderful book, which tells you just enough about everything you might need to know.

John Seymour looks at how to be self-sufficient with whatever you have - from a window-box, to 1 acre, to 5 or 10 acres, to 100+ acres. When you are making do with a window-box, this book also provides excellent and realistic day-dreaming opportunities about upgrading...
Published on 19 Dec 2009 by Gabrielle O

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOWHERE Near as good as the older one
I sent this book back, and ordered the older published book of this. The older one has genuine back to basic info that this one does not have. Photos and pics are rubbish, and in general very disappointing. Get the older one!!!
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by Maria319


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new 'How-to' for Dreamers, 19 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
The most wonderful book, which tells you just enough about everything you might need to know.

John Seymour looks at how to be self-sufficient with whatever you have - from a window-box, to 1 acre, to 5 or 10 acres, to 100+ acres. When you are making do with a window-box, this book also provides excellent and realistic day-dreaming opportunities about upgrading to a real smallholding!

He obviously knows what he is talking about - there is no wasted space, or idle talk. Every sentence not only useful but interesting. Even the most experienced farmer could learn something new here, as the book covers a vast range of skills for life, from preparing land and growing food to butchering animals and storing food. The book is well laid-out, with line-drawn colour illustrations which are very helpful.

Now in a very shiny new edition, which is much like the last in most ways, this fantastically loveable book will tell you all you need to know about anything from ploughing fields to milking cows - to how to create an urban organic garden. The best bit of it is John Seymour's very knowledgeable but always readable, engaging writing style.

This book is very matter of fact and doesn't preach the virtues of the good life, but you will find yourself wanting it. It's like a detailed instruction book for something that you very much want to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this, 16 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
I bought this book when it was originally printed in about the 70's and although as expected the content is the same as the original, this updated version includes many things that were not around in the 70's!! Great book, great read, great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic. I took a copy out from my local libary, read it from cover to cover then promptly put it on my wishlist for christmas. It's not going to make you an instant expert in all things self sufficient but it will certain inspire you to give it a go and find out more about different espects. Some of the reviews on this page I think seem to expect it to be the one book to rule them all! This is virtually impossible but it does give it a good go. Get it if you want to know how to do the basic techniques required to be self sufficient. The only issue is that it will result in you spending large amounts of money on other books that it has inspired you to find more on the many topics covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read if you want Self Sufficiency, 1 Nov 2009
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
This is a great book, it shows how to grow pretty much everything from scratch and how to get the most out of your plot no matter what its size. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Eirwen Ann Williams (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
Doesn't go by the rules but goes by what has worked for real people. Havig read a book about pig keeping and then reading the pig section in this book, it was good to see two sides - what you are meant to be doing and what works best!

Very informative. I really enjoyed reading about growing food. I am about to buy a smallholding therefore I hope it will prove as a valuable guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and best, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
Back in the 1980s, everyone in my rural neck of the woods had the old paperback copy of this, by John and Sally Seymour - it was something to aspire to, and owning it was the first step to 'coming out' as a smallholder. This new expanded version is more lushly illustrated and still has that encouraging 'you can do this - it's not that difficult' tone, even when guiding the reader step by step through butchering a pig and other fairly esoteric activities. It's a book to dream dreams with, especially if you have a bit of land and some ideals. I'm giving it as a Christmas present to a couple who would like to start up a farmers' co-operative... It gets five stars because it is such fun to read, though I noticed there is no mention of a strimmer [too modern? certainly invaluable on our land] but it does mention the organic way of eradicating bracken... Intrigued? Buy it and start dreaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, changed my life!, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
This book I would describe as inspirational for would-be farmers. I read the original book back in the mid nineties and it spurred me on to purchase land and create my own small farm.
Today I still have 18 acres which keeps me active in retirement. Use this book as your starting point, but remember there is only one way to find out how to farm - DO IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
bought as a present my brother who had just bought a smallholding couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good choice, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
very useful book, been going since the 70s handy if you are new to a smallholding every thing you need to know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable easy-to-read self sufficiency information, 28 July 2013
By 
Sheila T (Devon England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency (Hardcover)
This book was a gift for someone in our family. He is delighted with it. Very readable information which he is already putting into practice. I was very relieved to find a book which suits his needs so perfectly. It was useful to have the interesting information about the author to download and give him with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency
The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency by John Seymour (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2009)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews