Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Encyclopedia
I bought this for my partner for christmas as he has always been into Marvel & all Superheros. He isn't normally a book reader but he absolutley loves it! I'm so pleased with this purchase.
Published on 19 Jan. 2010 by Jo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a little disappointed in that but the Illustrations are brilliant and id ...
Im a massive fan of Marvel and had this book for Christmas off my Partner. Have started reading it after flicking through it and have noticed that some Characters are missing from the Book. i.e Star-Lord (Peter Quill), Groot, Rocket Raccoon and Yondu Udonta. Surely such characters should be in the book. Just a little disappointed in that but the Illustrations are...
Published 1 month ago by Ian Redgate


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Encyclopedia, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Jo (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I bought this for my partner for christmas as he has always been into Marvel & all Superheros. He isn't normally a book reader but he absolutley loves it! I'm so pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy fiance!, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
i now have a very happy although geeky fiance. i bought this as a present for him and i was very suprised that when it arrived the box was so big!! i didn't realise the book would be so thick however my fiance is over the moon with it and i haven't heard a peep out of him since it arrived yesterday!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant gift for younger heroes and villians., 23 May 2010
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This huge book has everything a fan wants to know about Marvel Heroes and Villians. The biographical detail is awesome and the drawings are fantastic. I bought this for my 11 year old son and he loves it. And to be honest, so do I. This weighty tome covers all aspects of the Marvel universe. Bought with the DC Encyclopedia the fan has all he/she needs to begin investigating the world of our greatest heroes and most memorable villians. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoops.. slightly addictive, and way better than i thought it would be, 31 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my brother because he is in to all this comic book stuff but he was slightly occupied by other presents on christmas day so i thought i'd give it a read, well i couldn't put it down and it doesn't even have a gripping story line. Its the layout and pictures that entices you, the women look bad ass and the men have muscles that would make Mr. Muscle weep, its marvel in a nut shell and you can learn about all the major characters and the not so major ones that even comic book fanataics may not know about. Although they've probably already discovered this little gem so they probably do. Its all in alphabetical order, it even has references in the book to the heroes related to other heroes. So you'll know whose linked and what comic book they first appeared in. The book is bulky and heavy but it does add to the charm because it makes you feel smart for having such a big book but its acutally about something interesting. If its for a christmas or birthday present, or even just for the quiet voice in your head that has always been curious about comic books, then you should most definitely buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas Present, 24 Oct. 2010
By 
D. Smith (South Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I bought this book last Christmas for the son of a very close friend - an 11 year old at the time of the gift. It has been glued to his side now for nearly a year. 11 months on, every time I visit he shows me a different page and a different character. His mother tells me that he takes this book everywhere with him. In the car on trips, to his grandparents and he is constantly looking at it and soaking up the facts about how the characters have both their own storyline but also how they interact with others. Over here in the UK, Marvel is very much about the movies, we dont have the comics unless you are a collector. This book has brought Marvel to life for a kid who clearly hungers for knowledge about his favourite movie characters and more. The book is wonderfully illustrated and has a really excellent level of detail about each character. My only challenge now, is how I can better this present this year!! Its going to be a tough one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful guide to a wonderful place, 1 Sept. 2012
By 
GordonD (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Let me put my cards on the table straight away: when it comes to comic books I'm almost exclusively a DC man. I have read the occasional Marvel book but I don't have the money or the storage space to get into collecting them in a big way. So while I'm familiar with the 'big guns' - Spider-Man, the Fantastic Four, the (original) X-Men, Captain America and all of those, the vast majority of characters living in the Marvel Universe are a mystery to me.

At least until now. This book is packed with information on everyone from Abomination to Zzzax (who probably chose his name to get onto the last page!) with the major characters getting several pages each. It's profusely illustrated by some of the best artists working in comics today. Seventy years of comics have been distilled down into the pages of this volume.

If you're a Marvel fan, then this is highly recommended. You are sure to learn something you didn't know (unless your name is Stan Lee.) If you aren't a Marvel fan, then it's still highly recommended.

Drawbacks? Only one - I am now sorely tempted to pick up a couple of Marvel comics the next time I go to collect my standing order of DC. And I know where that will lead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This is a terrific, lovely book. It is such a solid and beautifully put together thing that it is a joy to own both for its own merit and also as a badge of Marvel fandom. As for its actual use, of course, it has its problems. First, by the very nature of comics, the book dates instantly and indeed such important events such as Nightcrawler and Stature's deaths, Kitty's return to Earth and Psylocke's regained telepathic powers are not mentioned. Also, there is the fact that, no matter how big it is, the book cannot contain all Marvel characters and indeed I cannot find such names as Selene or Kelda. Still, for all that it does have its uses in providing brief, easy-to-access details of the most important characters and, as I say, is a delight to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Fathers Day Present, 7 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Fantastic book, exactly as ordered, perfect for my little boy to give to his dad on fathers day and they will have plenty of fun together reading about all the marvel characters. Price was great for the size and detail of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
M. Atkins (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Bought this book for Nephew who is "comic hero Crazy" had a quick flick thru myself and was very impressed with layout and descriptions. the book is about an inch and a half thick and heavy , a must buy for anyone into comic book heros.
On receiving for his 18th Birthday my Nephew was well and truly over the moon and has spent sevaral hours reading it to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For comic fans., 24 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Very good book for Marvel fans. All the known and unknown heroes are there. Only the layout design is a bit strange and confused. Otherwise excellent product. Delivery service was also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel Encyclopedia
Marvel Encyclopedia by DK Publishing(DK) (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2009)
Used & New from: £23.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews