Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars52
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2010
I am just starting off with the antiques 'hobby' and this book is excellent! I watch the antiques roadshow with the book on my lap and try to look everything up and learn more about it. It's great to read through just before going to an antique shop so you can better spot a good buy.

Well laid out, excellent pictures and short and snappy facts and tricks.

Great book.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2008
I bought this for my Mum as one of her Christmas Presents and she thought it was great.

Helps all those budding antiquer's look for those tell tale signs that could help you find that bargain at the car boot sale.

The only problem now is so many people are antique hunting the odds of finding anything are remote.

4 Stars.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this for my wife for Christmas. She loves routing around at carboots and wanted top learn a bit more. She has read this book from cover to cover and made notes in the little book she carries around with her from it.
It is by no means comprehensive but covers the most likely items, marks and condition reports you are likely to find. There are many illustrations and instructions on how to read and find makers marks etc.
This is a great book for beginners or the curious person who wants to find out the basics. For experienced antique hunters you probably know most of the content by now so it won't be much use to you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Bought this for the better half and he loves it. It does not go in to great detail about items but it gives you a good idea what they are worth. A good companion book for referencing, but if you need a vast amount of detail this isn't the book for you. Well presented, well thought out, well laid out, swift delivery and the boyfriend loves it .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
I'm a novice at antiques but this book used whilst watching Antiques roadshow and bargain hunt is just the ticket.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This is the excellent story of a young lady who started collecting penny plates in Edinburgh in the 1960s and graduated to car boot sales and auctions learning all the time and 3 decades later produces this first class book.
The book covers a)styles and movements b)furniture c)ceramics d)glass e)metalware and f)Collectables and photographs illustrating wood,handles, chair backs,legs, feet,and glass marks etc. (It should be noted that oriental marks appear on page 216 and not page 214 for glass marks and vice versa)
The text is very good particularly some of the boxed insets while the illustrations are superb.
The author is to be congratulated in producing such a fine book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
Lots of information in lots of areas, easy to read, clear and interesting, Judith Miller is very down to earth, and passionate about antiques.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
I purchased this book for my wife, it is full of useful information.

A well presented book up to the usual DK standard.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Full of really interesting tips and information and well laid out. Packed full of useful stuff about furniture as well as bric-a-brac.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Great book full of hints and tips for the budding antique dealer. Well laid out and great pictures.
Well worth the asking price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)