Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book!
I am just starting off with the antiques 'hobby' and this book is excellent! I watch the antiques roadshow with the book on my lap and try to look everything up and learn more about it. It's great to read through just before going to an antique shop so you can better spot a good buy.

Well laid out, excellent pictures and short and snappy facts and tricks...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by Lorraine Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BIG INSIGHT FOR A NON-EXPERT!
There's a huge content here. All sorts of genres covered in depth, in a very competent way.
Totally fascinating stuff!
Published 10 months ago by Stuffmagnet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Lorraine Smith "buks4evr" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
I am just starting off with the antiques 'hobby' and this book is excellent! I watch the antiques roadshow with the book on my lap and try to look everything up and learn more about it. It's great to read through just before going to an antique shop so you can better spot a good buy.

Well laid out, excellent pictures and short and snappy facts and tricks.

Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good info, 23 Sep 2008
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my Mum as one of her Christmas Presents and she thought it was great.

Helps all those budding antiquer's look for those tell tale signs that could help you find that bargain at the car boot sale.

The only problem now is so many people are antique hunting the odds of finding anything are remote.

4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect antiques book, 1 Oct 2011
By 
James E. Byrne (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
I'm a novice at antiques but this book used whilst watching Antiques roadshow and bargain hunt is just the ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my wife, it is full of useful information.

A well presented book up to the usual DK standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars antiques, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
This is the excellent story of a young lady who started collecting penny plates in Edinburgh in the 1960s and graduated to car boot sales and auctions learning all the time and 3 decades later produces this first class book.
The book covers a)styles and movements b)furniture c)ceramics d)glass e)metalware and f)Collectables and photographs illustrating wood,handles, chair backs,legs, feet,and glass marks etc. (It should be noted that oriental marks appear on page 216 and not page 214 for glass marks and vice versa)
The text is very good particularly some of the boxed insets while the illustrations are superb.
The author is to be congratulated in producing such a fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
Lots of information in lots of areas, easy to read, clear and interesting, Judith Miller is very down to earth, and passionate about antiques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice general antiques book, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
Bought this for the better half and he loves it. It does not go in to great detail about items but it gives you a good idea what they are worth. A good companion book for referencing, but if you need a vast amount of detail this isn't the book for you. Well presented, well thought out, well laid out, swift delivery and the boyfriend loves it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Present, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
Bought this for a Christmas present for a friend who is interested in antiques and he has found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
Full of really interesting tips and information and well laid out. Packed full of useful stuff about furniture as well as bric-a-brac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert (Paperback)
If you want to find that car boot treasure then this book will help, very informative and would recommend if antiques is your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert
Antiques Detective: Tips and tricks to make you the expert by Judith Miller (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews