Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent!, 13 May 2010
By 
Mr. T. Berriman "berriman_toby" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
Wow. What a book.
I'm not sure what I expected from The Brain Book, but it surpassed any expectations I might have had. What looks on the outside like a fun book about the brain for mid to late teens is actually intensely packed full of very detailed information - particularly anatomy - wonderfully laid out and illustrated. The scope of this book and the quality of the coverage make this an absolute must for someone who wants to learn, in great detail, about how the brain functions. I am attending university this year for Psychology and I am certain that I will be referring back to this book regularly for the brain anatomy and neurology lessons! The book, however, is probably not suited to teens at all unless they have a very specific interest in the brain, since the information is so detailed.

The Brain Book starts with 20 or so pages of MRI scans, showing cross-sections right through the brain to help you build up a real understanding of the internal anatomy and relate later discussions of brain parts (everything from the corpus callosum to the globus pallidus) back to a real brain. The illustration diagrams, again particularly of the anatomy of the brain, are clearer and easier to understand than any I have seen in any of the many psychology textbooks I have looked at.

The book is broken into the following sections, making up the circa 240 large-format pages of the book:
Introduction
The Brain and the Body
Brain Anatomy
The Senses
Movement and Control
Emotions and Feeling
The Social Brain
Language and Communication
Memory
Thinking
Consciousness
The Individual Brain
Development and Aging
Disease and Disorders

All in all this is a truly fantastic book, put together with amazing attention to detail to create something that is almost as much a piece of art as it is an informative resource! The glossy pages, high quality illustrations, and simple to read show once again the DK rule the roost when it comes to publishing the best non-fiction resources around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOADS of information about the brain's functions and disorders, 25 Oct 2010
By 
zx50 (Consett area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
I'm absolutely thrilled at how much information this book contains on the brain. Another reviewer has already given you the sections from the contents page, so, there's not much more I can say about that. Anyone looking for a book on the brain -- this is the book. 256 pages might not sound a LOT, but after a slow browse through the book today, this is quite sufficient from what I've roughly seen. There's also a good balance between the amounts of text and images in this book, which pleases me a lot. Would I recommend this book? Absolute definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding value, 27 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
With the increasing use of brain imaging, neuropsychology has become an important aspect of modern psychology. Rita Carter's book has been invaluable in bringing me up to speed in this area. The extensive use of graphics makes the book visually appealing and stimulating to work through. By the time that I had completed the process I felt that I had a sound grasp of the structure and functions of the brain, which received fairly scant attention during my undergraduate psychology studies in the 1990s. I am also much more able to digest the content of recent peer-reviewed papers dealing with the relationship of brain structure and functioning to the domain of personality and individual differences. `The Brain Book' must qualify as one of the best investments in a book that I have ever made. It is outstanding value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brain book, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
This book is amasing! Highly recommned it. The pictures are magnificent, with a very good amount of written detail accompanying them. Anyone interested in the brain should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and comprehensive, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
This book i a big WOW .... seriously when i bought it online though i browse the content and some pages but i didnt expect it to be this way

as a gift, we opened it together and i was amazed by the content and the comprehensive illustration of the brain and every aspects of it

the most important part is that the book was very excellent and colorful

Simply it is like a brain encyclopedia that i will highly recommend anyone to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to grips with the brain, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
I was looking for an introductory work that would allow me to establish a base for further learning; this book does the job superbly.
It's also easy and fun to read with masses of images and clearly written texts that help to get a simple "map" of the brain. I'd recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone either looking for a springboard for further study or just wanting an overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book full of nice pictures, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
It is a good book full of nice pictures. I suggest it for a general overview of the brain and its functions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but a little vacant, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
Visually this is a stunning book, coffee table size with beautiful glossy double page spreads of diagrams, photographs and scans. The text on each page is learned and accessible and this would be a good book for kids, the information bites are fairly small. But despite its beauty I feel there is something lacking. Many of the photographs of people are of the kind you find on clipart sites illustrating an emotion and don't really serve any purpose, they feel very pat. The structure of the book is such that you can dip in and out of any spread, so there is no linear narrative, even the history of knowlege on the first pages jumps around and is difficult to follow. A little too slick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIVEN AS PRESENT., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
THE FEEDBACK FROM MY FAMILY IS ,THE BOOK IS FASCINATING.
THE BOOK IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,AND WILL BE MENTIONED TO MY FRIENDS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent brainwork !, 4 July 2013
This review is from: The Brain Book (Hardcover)
I work with people with dementia and this book is excellent reference material in understanding how the brain works - brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brain Book
The Brain Book by Rita Carter (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: £142.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews