Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully inspiring book
This is a fantastic book. Even if you don't draw it's a wonderful book to browse through. There are drawings by a wide range of artists as well as those of the author herself. This book will really inspire you to start drawing. Everyone draws as a child and then many give up which is a great pity. Virtually every aspect of drawing is covered including drawing from the...
Published on 9 Mar. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit sketchy
Well, first of all let me say this is a really nice book. It's fabulously illustrated with tons of reproductions of artworks from different times, places and genres. However, I was looking for a technical manual and, in this regard, the book is pretty poor. I mean, yes, it does have a handful of techniques but they are inadequetly covered. For instance, the space it give...
Published 8 months ago by William Axtell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully inspiring book, 9 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. Even if you don't draw it's a wonderful book to browse through. There are drawings by a wide range of artists as well as those of the author herself. This book will really inspire you to start drawing. Everyone draws as a child and then many give up which is a great pity. Virtually every aspect of drawing is covered including drawing from the imagination. There are also sections on materials and on things such as posture and ways of holding the pencil - if you hold your pencil as you do for writing it restricts you. There are sections on composition, drawing elipses etc. This book will make you appreciate drawings in exhibitions. I would really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drawing book, 7 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
useful drawing manual with emphasis on illustrating a diverse range of drawing and mark making approaches, including examples by well established artists alongside the author's own drawings . By not using a simplistic step by step approach, this books instead encourages readers to try techniques and learn from looking. Refreshingly broad and intelligent approach which does not favour a particular slant or direction of drawing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Simblet's Drawing Book, 4 Mar. 2009
By 
D. Nicholls "The Artist" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well presented and informative book with top quality illustrations. Sarah Simblet's unquestionable skills in drawing and communicating have been given full rein. The inclusion of some of the chapters seemed a bit arbitrary, e.g "Hauntings", "Monsters" & "Convolutions", and such items take up space which I would have preferred to see given to more in depth exploration of some of the key skills and examples. Overall I believe the book would have benefitted from having more space given to the excellent techniques, tools and materials sections, and useful topics such as the Travel Journal.

Some of the most important aspects of drawing have been given the same emphasis as topics which are better covered in specialist books, and I think this is an imbalance in an otherwise useful addition to a good art library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
One fo the best books on drawing I have seen in a long time, it rivals Smagulas Creative Drawing book easily which is also very good. A welcome antidote to the basic drawing by numbers books that line bookshop shelves these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the drawing bible, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
J. Devaney (CHESHIRE,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
excellent drawing book,easy to follow instructions and tips.a book for every level FIRST CLASS !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for an 80 year old who is just learning to draw and he loved it., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gift for an 80 year old who is just learning to draw and he loved it. He says it is easy to understand and loves the step by step guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressed, 30 July 2013
By 
J. Sagi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
Bought for my eight year old godson, who is very 'into' drawing, haven't discovered his reaction yet, but I was very impressed. Tempted to keep it myself. It is divided into different 'drawing projects' and sets experimental tasks, that should lead tto a lot of self-dic=scovery as to what one's style might be. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insiprational!, 13 Dec. 2011
By 
C. E. Grafton (Mortehoe, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
I have collected all of Sarah Simbletts books. They are a superb addition to any artist's bookshelf. This book will appeal to artists of all abilities - even those who lack the level of skill displayed will be inspired to have a go at the many subjects depicted in this excellent volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Drawing book. Sarah Simblet - Author, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
Lovely book. Everything you need to know about drawing techniques. Very good illustrations. Easy to follow. An excellent book for beginner and the more experienced artist. I would certainly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Drawing Book by Sarah Simblet, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you (Paperback)
I have drawn as long as I can remember, and when I found this book at my local library, I knew it had to be mine.
Simblet is a fantastic drawer/artist, and her book makes me want to draw all day long, it's full of inspiration!
A plus about this book is that it contains everything from anatomy to architecture and dragons etc. - this is a book for every drawer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Drawing Book: An innovative, practical approach to drawing the world around you
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews