Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible for teachers and absolute begiiners - and not only
Thoroughly recommended, especially at the price.

I have used the French and Italian versions of this dictionary for some years and this Arabic version is at least as useful for students and teachers who are learning Arabic in an Anglophone environment. I have always been very impressed by the organization of items within the vocabulary groups: the dictionary...
Published on 11 Oct. 2009 by Michael Tully

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good vocab learning aid
Great book, the pictures are generally clear so they really make learning easier and more fun.

I don't think this book can really be used as a dictionary though. I've been using it to learn new words, and it's perfect for that.

However, there are far too few verbs presented, which makes the book only partially useful. I would have preferred to see a...
Published 23 months ago by ES


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for all levels, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Perfect for anyone wishing to extend their vocab in Arabic. It has the roman pronounciation of the Arabic word which is useful for beginners or anyone not wishing to learn how to read Arabic letters and only how to say the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arabic-English EFL Resource, 28 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This is proving an invaluable resource, especially for our Beginners Class. It cuts through so many conceptual problems and lightens the explanation load of our teachers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really impressive, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This was the third copy of this I bought, the last two were taken to Jordan with me and left as gifts to people who were impressed by this.
Very comprehensive and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful book, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Great book, but the arabic script is so small it's hard for beginners to read. The food photos lack typical menu items like falafel. Small faults in an otherwise very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good design and layout, useful learning tool, 14 May 2014
By 
Kelise Franclemont (Bloomington, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This seems detailed enough for the beginner, and is a helpful learning aid (especially for visual learners, as about 75% of the population is). I bought it to refresh my memory and brush up on some vocab; however, the one drawback is that a lot of the vocabulary is in the Egyptian dialect, so if you're learning Arabic for travel/work/study other than to Egypt, you may need to get a native speaker to pencil in their local word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
I Cannot recommend This book Enough for anyone wanting to learn the Arabic Language.
It is wonderfully Presented, Organised and the visuals really do help.

The size is perfect, not too small but not too big. So you can fit it into your handbag.

You do not need to be familiar with the arabic script to read this book. :)

Would of gave it 6 stars if i could!

x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 16 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Well where to start.... this product is fantastic as I am very interested in learning the Arabic language. The book includes various sections which give the english and arabic translations. I have learnt alot from this book and would recommend it to someone who is starting out trying to learn the basics of the arabic language. Very satisfied customer who would deffinalty recommend to others :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A solid dictionary, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Really well made and practical visual dictionary.
I bought it for my dad to practice his English and he loves it.
If you are looking for a visual dictionary that is easy to read and covers a wide range of words, look no further, cause this one is really well planned and easy to use !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Rolls Royce' of books !, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Every DK book/CD I have bought has been excellent. Clear,easy to read text - and fantastic pictures. You can safely buy anything from this company and always be really pleased with your purchase. Travel guides and their visual dictionaries are superb - I have loads !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very concise!, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This book is great if you just want to know arabic words. It has absolutely everything in it. I can't actually believe how detailed it is. If you are looking for phrases or support in speaking the arabic language this book is possibly not what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries)
Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) by Dorling Kindersley (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews