Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible for teachers and absolute begiiners - and not only
Thoroughly recommended, especially at the price.

I have used the French and Italian versions of this dictionary for some years and this Arabic version is at least as useful for students and teachers who are learning Arabic in an Anglophone environment. I have always been very impressed by the organization of items within the vocabulary groups: the dictionary...
Published on 11 Oct. 2009 by Michael Tully

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good vocab learning aid
Great book, the pictures are generally clear so they really make learning easier and more fun.

I don't think this book can really be used as a dictionary though. I've been using it to learn new words, and it's perfect for that.

However, there are far too few verbs presented, which makes the book only partially useful. I would have preferred to see a...
Published 24 months ago by ES


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible for teachers and absolute begiiners - and not only, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Michael Tully - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Thoroughly recommended, especially at the price.

I have used the French and Italian versions of this dictionary for some years and this Arabic version is at least as useful for students and teachers who are learning Arabic in an Anglophone environment. I have always been very impressed by the organization of items within the vocabulary groups: the dictionary can be used in particular situations to buy or discuss things, many of which can be found on facing pages of the book.

But this dictionary is perhaps even more useful for teachers who can arrange lessons around particular topics and know that students can locate relevant items far more quickly and accurately than with a 'conventional' dictionary.

Of course most items illustrated are of those found predominantly in the 'West', so some items specific to Arabic culture are omitted, (for example Arabic breads or cakes). But, providing the purchaser bears this in mind, they will find this book invaluable. This reviewer, however, does not know Arabic sufficiently well to give an opinion one way or the other of the accuracy of the translations of unusual words. What he can say is that he has not found any glaring errors.

The printed characters are quite small, but they are very clearly printed: much superior to most other pocket-size dictionaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost everything you need, 12 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Almost love this book. My second language is Arabic so it was perfect for me. Excellent quality. Excellent info. Huge range of topics. Only shocker: discusses numbers and their pronunciation...but not in their arabic written form...found it VERY weird since the whole book was English and Arabic text, but when it came to the numbers, they were only written in English. Odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy learning !!!!, 30 July 2010
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This book fantastic for beginner and encourages further learning. Have ordered more of these to give to family members and they all agree that this is fastest , easiest , way to learn Arabic. Excellant product, and great value for money. Fatma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great book from visual dictionary, 6 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This book is simply fantastic for learners of Arabic. The only thing I don't like is that it has transliterations along with the Arabic text, and that you actually have to consult them because the short vowels aren't written into the Arabic text. Nonetheless, I have always loved the visual dictionaries and this one is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good vocab learning aid, 2 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Great book, the pictures are generally clear so they really make learning easier and more fun.

I don't think this book can really be used as a dictionary though. I've been using it to learn new words, and it's perfect for that.

However, there are far too few verbs presented, which makes the book only partially useful. I would have preferred to see a lot more verbs rather than, say, the names of 40 different stones! There are also various everyday topics missing, such as politics.

Would have been extremely helpful to include the plural forms too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Survey of Concrete Vocabulary for Learners of Arabic, 12 April 2011
By 
David (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
On each page, starting with the human body and progressing in a logical order, ending with geography, showing useful everyday areas such as shopping, cooking or travel, there are up-to-date colour photographs with the relevant Arabic vocabulary item underneath. Where appropriate, a black line leads from the Arabic word to the precise point on the picture where the "thing" is illustrated. There are also short (hence manageable) vocabulary lists, and although this format is obviously best suited to nouns, there are sections devoted to actions. At the end is a list of particles and antonyms. Although this is a book one can spend happy hours leafing through, it is possible to use it as a dictionary for 'looking up' words, thanks to a double English and Arabic index.

There are a small number of things which might have been improved: for example, it does not provide plurals.

However, learning a language is (among other things) about learning a large number of words. Establishing a clear link between the concrete world and words is a difficult task. I feel sure learners of Arabic who already possess the basics, but whose vocabulary is not extensive will find this book a great help. It is also extraordinary value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
fantastic and very in depth working words, great for those tricky nouns especially in business or medical situations.

Only bad point is the size of the print, as the book is handbag size, the actual text is tiny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Oh dear! The print is so small that I have to use a magnifyer as well as my reading glasses! A great pity as it is a brilliant dictionary with beautiful illustrations and covers everything. I would gladly have paid more for it in a larger sized copy. Not a dictionary one could use instantly in a necessary situation.Both my Arabic tutors shared my opinion and expressed same to their students; neither wore glasses, as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This is a great little book, ideal for the traveller/tourist who wants a little more than the BBC English/Arabic mini-book. Found it helpful to stick page tabs on separate sections for easy of reference.

Our Egyptian friends think this book is great, so we always take an extra copy or two on our frequent trips to Egypt. Probably the cheapest exercise in international relations ever.Arabic-English Visual Bilingual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arabic/english visual, 1 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Very good if you can't pick up the language at least you can point at the pictures and get a result. Overall a good book to start you learning another language. Will review again after an egyptian holiday with book.Study Skills: The Essential Guide for Students (An Amazon.co.uk Exclusive) ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Did the holiday with the book it was really useful.True, I did do a lot of picture pointing,due to the fact that arabic is very difficult to pronounce.The egyptian were very good at saying the word back to you (picture pointing again)so success either way.I would highly recommend this book for first timers to Egypt or even for people who have been before.I did live there for several years but was always wanted to add a word or two which I could not describe or I would try and draw myself(that didn't always work as need to be an artist as well) I would highly recommend this book along with a phrase book (check my other reviews for this).I managed to get/see/do most of the things I wanted without problems.I will also be buying the other books in this series as the need arises. Thank you for reading my review and happy travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries)
Arabic-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) by Dorling Kindersley (Paperback - 1 May 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews