Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars73
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2010
I bought this a couple of months ago for my 5 year old and he really loves the book, he must have looked at every page a thousand times! Very interesting, lots of 'fun' facts for kids, but also more serious stuff such as how fossils are formed and found, along with some great pictures - e.g, comparing how big dinosaurs were to things they see today. Very engaging and educational. Would certainly recommended it for kids from around 4 to 7.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
A great book, my 4 year old loves it and I have learnt a few things too. Still alot of info for us to read and the pictures are good too!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I bought this for my five year-old boy, to cater for his sudden fascination with dinosaurs. This is a great book, packed with just about the right balance of information and pictures. I would say it would be suitable for those a few years older also. In fact, I have been revisiting my own dinosaur knowledge whilst reading the pages to him. Most dinosaur varieties are covered, with a decent explanation of the various periods involved. The explanations are straightforward enough for you to be able to read it yourself and then explain an answer to any awkward questions from your children!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 128-page book is a colourfully-illustrated and informative volume that looks at the wide range of dinosaurs that once inhabited our planet.

It is incredibly well-illustrated with photographs and other illustrations - mainly photo-realistic artwork. It is extremely informative and easy to read. It is intended for younger readers, but older ones (and adults) will also find it interesting and informative. It covers quite a wide range of subjects, as well as individual dinosaur types, and will serve very well, as its title suggests, as a ‘first’ encyclopaedia for children.

It is divided into chapters, with a series of two-page sections within each chapter illustrating a particular group of creatures, with a couple of closing subjects included, such as fossils and the end of the dinosaurs’ world.

The Contents are -
P004: Age of the Dinosaurs
P012: Let’s Look at Dinosaurs
P032: Triassic Dinosaurs
P048: Jurassic Dinosaurs
P066: Cretaceous Dinosaurs
P090: Other Forms of Life
P100: Fossils
P112: End of the Dinosaurs

P122: Reference section (Glossary & Index)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
This book makes regular appearances in our bedtime reading - my two boys pick two or three pages each. They love looking at the pictures - many of which relate Dinos to people in terms of their size so the boys can really imagine how massive these beasts were. There's some great information about important fossil sites (and important fossils) as well as more juicy stuff about hunting techniques and many other dinosaur behaviours. All told - a great book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
i bought this for my son for his birthday after he had a book of awesome animals from the school library for nearly 2 months that he refused to give back because he liked it that much.
this was an excellent choice for a 4 year old -its advanced enough so that it suits him now looking at the pictures and asking questions and he will grow into it when he starts to read for himself
this has become a firm favourite he sits there for hours with this book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
My 5 yr old grandson adores this book ! ( + the adults who read it with him.) He informed us yesterday that there were only two meat eaters in the Jurassic period! ( we need to check this !) Beautifully illustrated and cross referenced . Great book - highly recommended . we bought it for him 6 months ago and he hardly puts it down !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
My 6 yr old daughter was studying dinasaurs recently. i purchased this book as she took a real interest in the subject. The book is colourful, informative and is eay for a primary school aged child to read independantly and generate interest. Would recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
grandson loves it,great book for the little ones who are starting out on the road to learning
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Bought this for my 6 year old son who is mad about dinosaurs. He loves reading this book and enjoys telling me the names of the dinosaurs and if they are meat eaters or plant eaters.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse