Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Guide to Prehistoric Life
Brilliant book for everyone interested in the subject. Note this book goes under a variety of titles for some reason. I particularly like the use of the human body for comparison with the illustrations to show scale. The computer generated artwork is terrific. This is probably one of the best books to show all prehistoric life and not just the dinosaurs, particularly...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars prehistoric life
Not such a presentational disaster as other pictorial DK books but deficiencies remain namely having illustrations and pictures covering one and a half to two pages.Particularly annoying are the maps split down the middle by creases when theycould be fitted on one page. The print size should have been larger.
The authors and consultants are tobe congratulated for...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by G.I.Forbes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Guide to Prehistoric Life, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
Brilliant book for everyone interested in the subject. Note this book goes under a variety of titles for some reason. I particularly like the use of the human body for comparison with the illustrations to show scale. The computer generated artwork is terrific. This is probably one of the best books to show all prehistoric life and not just the dinosaurs, particularly giant snakes, crocs and sharks. Recommended for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great images, poor text, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
I've given 4 stars purely for the images which give a wonderful impression of the many life forms that have existed and make a good reference work. I'm disappointed in the text though. It deals purely in small sound bites and is lacking in any detail. If you want to learn about the subject you will need another book to accompany this one. If you treat the text largely as extended captions, it's a very useful and fascinating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference, 14 Aug 2013
By 
R. Atkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a book with pictures and basic facts and a book that could inspire a child.
This book goes beyond that with great descriptions,good layouts and great images.

I bought it for my 5 year old - and it was perfect for him to dip into.
He is now considering a career in paleontology, replacing David Attenborough and working on the next revision of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Prehistoric Life - a never ending fascinating story', 7 Dec 2011
By 
This magnificent book charts life through from the birth of the planet to the present day. Introductory sections briefly cover scientific investigations and dating rocks, earth's origins and it's early history, plate tectonics, climate and the evolution of life. These are followed by sections on the classification of fossils, extinctions and other essentials before launching into wonderful sections on life through the immense periods of time that allowed it to evolve giving rise into so many forms including of course those favourites, the Dinosaurs. It gives 'pictures' of ancient ecosystems and the many life forms that are part of them. Wonderfully illustrated throughout it is accessible to all age groups although for the younger ones an adult is needed both to hold the book and focus at first on things of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prehistoric Life, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This masterfully illustrated book and scholarly commentary carry the readers imagination through all the epochs of prehistoric life in a handy sized volume with a detailed index.A very absorbing and enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 25 Jun 2013
By 
D. Hull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
Everything you ever wanted to know is in this book.
Very educational, well illustrated and great value for money.
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
Excellent! Amazing graphics. Very comprehensive. Very useful for fun / school projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Garry Paton "Garry Paton" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
My four year old son and I sit down together with this book and turn page after page, it's so beautifully illustrated, will keep the attention of both children and adults for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Feb 2013
By 
John Joseph "JJ" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
This is a really marvelous canter through all of pre-history. Exciting presentation with numerous side facts and asides that really brings life to not just the fossils but also the world these amazing creatures lived in and the way they were preserved. Fantastic to dip in and out of, I particular enjoyed the evolution of plants which is often forgotten and the brilliant illustrations of all my favourites (Velociraptor with feathers - classic!). Every time I pick it up I learn something. I will be enjoying this rich volume for some time I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prehistoric (Hardcover)
Frilled b'day boy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prehistoric
Prehistoric by DK DK (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews