Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with excellent illustrations
It is difficult to see how this book could be produced for under 100. The sheer volume of excellent quality photos, with just a handful of painted illustrations is beyond comprehension.There is just sufficient information provided to make every page interesting. For the low price that this book commands, no bookshelf should be without a copy. Just one compaint - don't...
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by M. Foden

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars natural history
Another presentational mess from DK-fortunately not as bad as previous books but the basic error of printing distorted images over two pages with the crease destroying the impact and integrity of those images remains.There is no valid reason for this type of presentation and it is high time thr publisher took notice.
The non distorted images are excellent and there...
Published on 9 Aug 2011 by G. I. Forbes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with excellent illustrations, 2 Oct 2010
By 
M. Foden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
It is difficult to see how this book could be produced for under 100. The sheer volume of excellent quality photos, with just a handful of painted illustrations is beyond comprehension.There is just sufficient information provided to make every page interesting. For the low price that this book commands, no bookshelf should be without a copy. Just one compaint - don't expect to use it for bedtime reading, as the exceptional weight will probably deter you from lugging it upstairs !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The subtitle is tongue in cheek, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
OK not everything on earth is in here, and DK know that, but they have had a darn good try at getting as much as they can crammed in. This is all achieved without skimping on quality mind you, as the photographs and illustrations can only be described as lavish, and the accompanying text is neither dumbed down, patronising or too dense to understand. In fact this is a quite remarkable old fashioned encyclopedia brought bang up to date and deserves its place on a bookshelf near you. No online database can offer the richness and sheer enjoyment you will get dabbling in this impressive tome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, a monumental work of beauty., 10 Nov 2010
By 
M. D. Budd (Buxton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
This astonishing and breathtaking book marks the pinnacle of natural history publishing. With the growth in multimedia technology this book is unlikely ever to be surpassed by another work of print alone. The rich deep natural colours of the photographs, the clear and concise prose make it an accessible book for all age groups from 7 years upwards. Many of the articles and pictures inspire further research and study, and the sheer pleasure of holding and browsing this book will make you want to keep it close to your favourite armchair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous discovery, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
First of all this is a BIG book at 648 pages with 5000 images. It is truly encyclopaedic and it is obvious from the outset that it has been put together by some very clever people. It does not shy away from some hard science, as it reflects the natural world through the currently recognised "taxonomic" classification. What an endeavour - the whole of natural history (including rocks and fossils) in one tome!

Now there are probably 10 million plants, animals and fungi out there, so how can you chose what to include. Well the answer is you get some of the familiar and some of the oddities to try to reflect the true diversity of life. So when I looked at this book I looked for some of my old friends (yes there were some there) then, once reassured, could revel in the new-but-familiar, and many down right weird ones.

Order runs through scientists like the proverbial Brighton through the rock, and this books oozes this systematic scientific approach to the natural world, but in an easily understood way.

Each page contextualises the plants and animals into their kingdoms, classes, orders etc.. Each species is given its full English and scientific name and a short description, including identifying features and where it is found. Sometimes its habitat is also mentioned. In addition to these, each order has a more detailed description and for some species there are feature articles. This nicely breaks up the book's structure to provide a deeper insight into some of the "stars".

The pages of this book remind me those exciting, and slightly secret, museum specimen cabinets that most people ignore, but which invite the curious to open the up and peak inside. Each drawer holds another set of wonders from some far away place and the specimens speak of adventures in hot climes, where the only company is the leech and mosquito. However don't get me wrong - this book is not fusty and dull - its vibrant and exciting. Each page stands out with brilliance displaying a wondrous range of species.

It is a book that will particularly appeal to a younger audience who have, or are acquiring, an interest in the natural world. However don't think that only they will enjoy it. I suspect that it also may act as the catalyst for an interest not previously discovered. I really hope so, as what more can a book offer than to open a door to a lifetime of delight in the plants and animals that we share this planet with. Who knows, maybe the next David Attenborough is out there and will be inspired by this book.

This is not a book to use to enable you to identify species, per se, but enables the reader to get a thorough overview and helps contextualise them.

Do I have any criticisms? Maybe a a few small ones - I would have liked to have seen more detail at the front of the book about each subject, particularly habitats, which are so important in understanding species adaptations. I am not sure why rocks have been included, although they are of course interesting. Also some of the animal images fall slightly short of DK's normal high standards, but I expect that is because they are very hard to come by - this is being really picky though, and in no way spoils my enjoyment of this book.

I am a big fan of DK travel books, but I must admit was rather ignorant of the breath of their range and so will be taking another look now to see what other gems are waiting to be discovered...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny!, 16 Dec 2010
By 
R. williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
I got this book for my 3yrs son and my god its worth so much more than 16! so so much information. This book will last him for years and years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attracive, informative - a brilliant buy., 15 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
A friend owns this book and I wanted a copy of my own. It is worth every penny. It is informative without being patronizing and the illustrations are lovely. It is a beautiful book to have on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John, 15 Jan 2011
By 
J. P. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
Purchased this on a whim as it came up on the screen when I was buying another book. Great coffee table reference book. Just pick it up when the partner insists on watching a soap on the TV. It will take your mind off of the appauling acting and pathetic story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 21 Dec 2010
By 
R. A. Dixon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
Fantasticly illustrated book, you can sit for hours leafing through it. I bought it as a reference books for our 2 kids, the internet is wonderfull for reference, but a book like this is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book., 14 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
It has lots of to learn from the book and it is suitable for all ages. Money is well spent. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 10 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Natural History Book (Hardcover)
Like other reviewers, I have no idea how this book can be available at this price. The quality of the images and colours is fantastic, as is the quality of the paper. There is an extraordinary amount of information contained inside, so much so that the book is extremely heavy.
I had originally intended to give this book to my son but I'm not sure that he'll be able to lift it! Definitely not suitable for bed time reading.
A good excuse to keep it for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Natural History Book
The Natural History Book by DK (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2010)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews