Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy for all parents
Yet again Penelope Leach gives us another classic. I have just had my first baby and have found this book totally invaluable. Having a child is so daunting it is great to have a book like this on hand to refer to when you are at your wits end and just don't know what to do. She has a great writing style so it feels as if she is there with you. It is very user friendly...
Published on 18 May 2010 by Ms. M. Duchi

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
After loving Penelope Leach's orginal 0 to 5 book I expected this one to be as detailed, however it just skims over the basics, I would have liked more about breastfeeding and more detailed information on taking care of baby.
Published on 14 July 2012 by izzyswhiskers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
After loving Penelope Leach's orginal 0 to 5 book I expected this one to be as detailed, however it just skims over the basics, I would have liked more about breastfeeding and more detailed information on taking care of baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy for all parents, 18 May 2010
By 
Ms. M. Duchi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
Yet again Penelope Leach gives us another classic. I have just had my first baby and have found this book totally invaluable. Having a child is so daunting it is great to have a book like this on hand to refer to when you are at your wits end and just don't know what to do. She has a great writing style so it feels as if she is there with you. It is very user friendly as it is written in nice short chunks; great for when you are suffering from sleep deprivation! Penelope Leach has a very pragmatic and common sense approach to parenting whilst placing the child's needs firmly in the centre.

I found the sections on the infant brain particularly useful as it helps to understand why babies do what they do and debunk all the old wives tales; like babies crying to exercise their lungs or having the capacity to be manipulative etc.

A friend of mine who is nearly 50 came round to visit and when she saw the book she couldn't stop singing Penelope Leach's praises as she used her books for both her girls who are now in their 20s. A real testament to the longevity of an expert who really knows their stuff. This book should be standard issue for all parents to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
A very good and informative book. It was use by the last generation and has been updated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential First Year by Penelope Leach, 15 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter when her baby was about four months old. It was only just published. I brought her up 30 years ago on Penelope Leach and hoped my grandson would benefit from Penelope's sensible and British approach. My daughter has found it very helpful and says it's one of her best baby books now.

One minor point - both my daughter and her husband agree with me that the cover is rather unattractive. Don't let it put you off!

Good luck with the babies in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You're doing it right!, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book, especially for a first time parent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
N. Ekong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
not read it all but good - like that it has pictures :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
I knew absolutely nothing about babies and therefore was a bit panicky when I realized I was pregnant. I loved this book. It came on time. It is packed of useful information and explanatory pictures. It gave me a better idea of what was expected and helped me getting organized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
To my daughter for her first child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penelope Leach is great!, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential First Year (Paperback)
I ordered this book for a pregnant friend.
It was well packed and arrived undamaged.
It arrived in good time and my friend tells me
that it has been very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential First Year
The Essential First Year by Penelope Leach (Paperback - 21 April 2010)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews