Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all avid sewers!
I love this book. It is very clearly illustrated and totally idiot proof. I have been sewing for years now and I have still learned a lot from this book. It takes you through step by step with a clear photograph of each stage. It isn't filled up with projects you don't want to make it just clearly shows the techniques so you can buy a pattern and make the things you...
Published on 7 Sept. 2009 by Mr. D. J. K. Dring

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not right for me
As always with DK books - good illustrations and descriptions of many key techniques, but I found some sections of the book less useful. I have sewn on and off for years and consider myself reasonably competent but I was really looking for something which offered a little more than the basics. The basics are quite good though - how to make buttonholes, attach facings,...
Published 9 months ago by bookworm


‹ Previous | 113 14 1520 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sewing Book, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
My Textiles teacher swears by this book; she used it for all our projects and recommended that we get one. I'm getting myself one before College.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
Brilliant book with lots of useful information, will be useful for both newbies and advanced level sewers.
Would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
As a novice this book looks like it will be used a lot. I have had a quick look through it , and It looks Brilliant for ALL levels of ability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
this is a sewing bible, i would be lost without it, everything from the small to the complicated is fully explained and easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to your sewing library!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
Love this book it really covers everything you need for dressmaking. I love DK books the photos and explanations are always very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Non Fiction Book, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
It a good book for someone who wants to learn the basics and build on the knowledge and skills aquired. Delivery etc was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well explained processes, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
Very pleased with this book. Was going to buy the Sewing Bee book, but a review said this was better. Glad took her advise. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 18 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
great book and a godsend for those doing GCSE or A level textiles. Explanations and photos all very clear . All in all a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremly helpfull, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sewing Book (Hardcover)
This book for sewing is very good and would help anybody who is interested in sewing and everithing to do with needle and thred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1520 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sewing Book
The Sewing Book by Alison Smith (Hardcover - 2 Feb. 2009)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews