Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not wild about weeds?
'The Book of Weeds' follows a pattern that will be familiar to anyone who has read a book on weeds - it tries to define what a weed is, then goes through techniques for keeping them under control or eradicating them and then goes on to describe some of the worst offenders. Unusually, it covers aquatic and pond weeds as well as terrestrial ones.

Ken Thompson's...
Published on 26 Oct. 2010 by Emma Cooper

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JN
Whilst this book is good for beginners, covering the standard weed varieties and the best means of eradication, it is not that extensive in its coverage. I bought the book to identify weeds which I have running riot, but I do not recognise; none of which were in this book. Therefore I am still in the dark as to what they are and how to deal with them. If you are looking...
Published on 26 May 2009 by JN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not wild about weeds?, 26 Oct. 2010
By 
Emma Cooper (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
'The Book of Weeds' follows a pattern that will be familiar to anyone who has read a book on weeds - it tries to define what a weed is, then goes through techniques for keeping them under control or eradicating them and then goes on to describe some of the worst offenders. Unusually, it covers aquatic and pond weeds as well as terrestrial ones.

Ken Thompson's experience and entertaining writing style come out most strongly in the first section - defining what makes a weed a weed and how plants spread, with snippets of his own struggles with weeds in his back garden. He explains why it is all but impossible to rid yourself of some weeds, especially dandelions and other weeds that spread by wind-borne seeds.

He touches on plant fashions, seedling identification, green manures and coming to terms with your weeds.

The Rogues' Gallery shows you some of the most common weeds, which means that you're likely to be able to identify the ones in your garden without wading through photos of every plant that is a weed in the British Isles. The high quality photos have enabled me to identify a couple of my weeds that I wasn't sure about, for example.

For each rogue weed, there is information about why it is so weedy, details of how to eradicate it and interesting snippets of information or humour. I like the page on bindweed: "All bindweeds have attractive flowers, but is it best to admire them in someone else's garden."

At the back of the book there is a short list of useful addresses and books, and a decent index. Throughout, Ken Thompson's scientific background comes to the fore and all the plants are referenced by their Latin names as well as their common ones.

All-in-all, this would be a nice book to have on your bookshelf. It's not preachy, and it doesn't encourage you to live with your weeds, or to try and eat them. It's not a definitive guide to weeds and wild plants, but if you're a gardener trying to keep on top of the weeding in your garden then you should find it both informative and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JN, 26 May 2009
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
Whilst this book is good for beginners, covering the standard weed varieties and the best means of eradication, it is not that extensive in its coverage. I bought the book to identify weeds which I have running riot, but I do not recognise; none of which were in this book. Therefore I am still in the dark as to what they are and how to deal with them. If you are looking for an extensive catalogue of weed varieties, this is not the book for you. If you are looking for a guide to dealing with MOST of the common weeds, then this book will be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things I ought to have known years ago, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
This little book has pictures and descriptions of the most common weeds in Britain: those annoying little plants whose names you really ought to know, but have never quite got round to learning. The author also makes suggestions for dealing with them. Some of his solutions are a bit trite, but he does point out which ones you can eat. Be warned - some of them are delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book of Weeds, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
A very comprehensive book on weeds! It shows and gives a good description of the common garden weeds and how to either love them or get rid of them!! A useful tool for the amateur gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Weeds, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
Richard Twomey (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
I was always hanging back with weeding, in case I pulled a good plant. Well that is my excuse for a weedy garden.
This book clarifies what is a weed, and what is not. Also, I find the best elimination is not always to pull it out. Sometimes this makes things worse.

Good illustrations and clear text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book of weeds, 24 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
The reason I purchased this book was for really useful tips for eradicating problem perenial weeds. Unfortunately the book did not come up to expectations. Nothing new was given with regard to eliminating bindweed or deep rooted weeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars barbara, 1 Aug. 2009
By 
Mrs. B. M. Long (Devon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
Interesting book but not very helpful about dealing with weeds. More about how to live with them. Only common weeds too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
I have an allotment and just like to be able to identify and know how the weeds I have on my allotment reproduce. Its about getting to know your enemy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
Arrived quickly, quiet useful in that the picture are of a size that you can actually make out what the plants are. Unlike many others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book of weeds, 1 Jun. 2009
By 
L. Thomson (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Weeds (Hardcover)
Well laid out, and clear. I wish it was a little more comprehensive, I was looking for details on a specific weed in my garden, but unfortunately this was not included.
however it was helpful, if a little limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Weeds
The Book of Weeds by Kenneth Thompson (Hardcover - 1 April 2009)
Used & New from: £6.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews