Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars116
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2010
This manual comes from a well known establishment, so we know to trust it. It`s very well laid out, easy to read and most of the pictures help to explain the procedures well. If you are a First Aider, you need more information on how to act, and about the HSE legislation, you get this on an official course or highly recommended is a DVD which covers everything in clear step by step videos First Aid - A Comprehensive Guide (October 2010 Protocol) [DVD] [2011]. This was featured recently on the SHP site, and is very well done.

Saving lifes and giving First Aid boils down to common sense and quick thinking. With the knowledge you get from this book, coupled with common sense, you will be able to act more confidently.

Bottom line, if you wanting basic First Aid knowledge in the home, this book alone is perfect. If you want to watch and learn, or you`re a First Aider, then grab both book and DVD, and you`ll be an expert.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Purchasers of all First Aid Manuals should beware of buying anything published earlier than this one - especially earlier than Jan.2006 when the life support protocol changed. Only buy the most up to date as first aid has changed considerably in the last two or three years. This one is bang up to date.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
This is an excellent refernce book for first aid users.
It was recommended by the Red Cross tutor at the First Aid training session. Illustrations are clear and simple and the instructions are straightforward. 1st Class and Amazon cuts the purchase price too !
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
This manual comes from a well known establishment, so we know to trust it. It`s very well laid out, easy to read and most of the pictures help to explain the procedures well. If you are a First Aider, you need more information on how to act, and about the HSE legislation, you get this on an official course or highly recommended is a DVD which covers everything in clear step by step videos First Aid Training - A Comprehensive Guide (October 2010) [DVD] [2011]. This was featured recently on the SHP site, and is very well done.

Saving lifes and giving First Aid boils down to common sense and quick thinking. With the knowledge you get from this book, coupled with common sense, you will be able to act more confidently.

Bottom line, if you wanting basic First Aid knowledge in the home, this book alone is perfect. If you want to watch and learn, or you`re a First Aider, then grab both book and DVD, and you`ll be an expert.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
I Recently Brought this product for my son who has joined st john ambulance cadets and has a test in 6 weeks time and he wanted this to help revise over the recovery position, CPR, Burns, fractures And So On.

St. John Ambulance Cadets Are Great And Provide First Aid At Local Events If Your Aged Between 10-17 why not join?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
This covers a lot of topics, some overlooked by first aid courses (however this is of course not a replacement for the practice received on a first aid course). It provides concise, clear instructions and beneficial side notes. This is also incredibly cheap and since it is socially irresponsible not to have a knowledge of first aid, there is no excuse not to buy it.

An essential book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
As a trained first aider, I like to keep up to date with the latest methods. This manual is just that, bang up to date and great value too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
If you've been looking for a comprehensive and reliable guide to first aid, you've found it. This manual covers a very wide range of situations, and provides clearly laid out descriptions of how to recognise conditions and how to treat them. The combination of Dorling Kindersley's superb presentation, and endorsment by all the leading first aid charities, is unbeatable. First aiders need to review and practise constantly: this manual is a terrific aid to doing so. How to distinguish heart attack from hypoglycaemia? How to remove a fishhook? Different kinds of burn..... etc etc. It's all here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Yes it is a superb book, with easy to follow instructions on what to do in an emergency. I did first aid with St Johns every year for many years but things change all the time and this book is good reading. I saw a programme on TV about first aid a few weeks ago which prompted me to buy the book as we live in the middle of nowhere and I had forgotten a lot as you do.
Having bought it I got to the scene of a crash with a boy on a motorbike and thank god I had read it properly.
So yes all in all an excellent easy to read book with diagrams etc ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
Excellent up to date manual for the RYA first aid course.Modern easy to understand layout and good use of photos. Hypothermia and use of epipen covered so also useful for first aid for teachers course.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)