Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glossy and informative coffee table book.
I have only had my copy of this book for a few hours and only read a few pages but I just had to write a review immediately! This book is beautiful. There is no other word for it. The photos are superb (and there are plenty of them), the style and format is excellent and easy to follow. Every month has a selection of great places to see wildlife from the spring migration...
Published on 27 Mar. 2009 by Nicola Main

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost impossible to use the maps!
Brilliant book, organised by month, but very much let down by a nonsensical set of map gazetteers in the rear. Find a numbered place on the map, but you then have go through pages of tiny listings to try and find the description, because the listings are not ordered by number - grrrr. This silly mistake / oversight makes the book very difficult to use for exploring...
Published on 8 Oct. 2010 by dprs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glossy and informative coffee table book., 27 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
I have only had my copy of this book for a few hours and only read a few pages but I just had to write a review immediately! This book is beautiful. There is no other word for it. The photos are superb (and there are plenty of them), the style and format is excellent and easy to follow. Every month has a selection of great places to see wildlife from the spring migration at Portland Bill in April, watching dragonflies and damselflies at Cornmill Meadows Dragonfly Sanctuary in August to looking for rocks and fossils at Lyme Bay in December.

Being a large, coffee table book I was a bit surprised when it said in the foreward by Mike Dilger to "pack your camera, your binoculars, and this book ..." I don't think so Mike! The best thing would be to browse the different places, find one near you or not too far away, write down all the details and then head off for a great day out. I wouldn't like to lug this book around, even in a backpack, plus I would be scared to damage it in any way it's just such a gorgeous book.

All in all this is definitely a 5 star book to Britain's wide range of nature and places to visit. I congratulate all who were involved in this major piece of work and if this doesn't get people out and about and interested in the natural world then I don't know what will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture Perfect, 3 April 2009
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
"A picture is worth a thousand words" as the old saw goes, and this book does prove that point.

This large, beautifully glossy tome is basically a showcase for some of Dorling Kindersley's extensive wildlife photograph library. The full double-spread pictures, e.g. a vibrant poppy field, are especially impressive.

The descriptions of the sites themselves are a bit superficial, in my opinion, and the maps are rather difficult to use, but the general format, based on suggested areas to visit for various months of the year, is simple and effective.

The quality of the photographs is the main attraction of this reasonably priced book, aimed at the general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the best, 25 May 2009
By 
T. Church "Freddy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
This must be the best book available to find wildlife in Britain. A month by month guide to help you find the subject you want.

My biggest moan about this book is that it gives only limited information to nature reserves mentioned in the book. I would have liked to see a full list of nature reserves, at the rear of the book, maybe listing them by area.

Would I recommend this book, yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for lovers of British nature, 13 July 2009
By 
K. MCCOY (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
This is a gorgeous book in all respects. Gorgeous photos, beautifully laid out with practical info about location, times etc. Best thing is the month-by-month breakdown which advise the best time of year for each wildlife place. Very pleasurable way to plan your holidays and weekends and discover a whole host of opportunities for wildlife watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where to go wild, 3 July 2009
By 
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced book, with the information neatly placed in monthly sections.
The info' is more what to photograph rather than where to photograph, but this niggle apart is well worth buying, especially at the great Amazon price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best British wildlife book in my huge pile of British wildlife books, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
I have a lot of books about the British countryside, landscape, wildlife, nature, travel, and so on. And when I say a lot, I'm talking dozens.

Many will have beautiful maps and indices but no clear information about the places. Others will have specific information but when you get there, nothing is in season. Still others will only have 1-4 places per season, when it is broken up by season. One of my biggest frustrations is that most of these books only have a handful of places in the southeast, as if the only interesting places in the country are in the north.

This massive coffee table book is broken up by month, with several full double page spreads per month of the year, broken up by type of habitat (wetland, urban, coast, woodland, etc). In addition to the main entries, it will have a note about what is in that place in other seasons.

The information is detailed (often giving GPS coordinates), there is usually contact information for major locations, and I promise you will note run out of places to go.

We keep this book in the boot of our car, and it's only taken out to plan trips the night before. I think we've been to about 20-30 of the places recommended by this book and not a single one has been a let down. Some are major attractions (e.g. London Wetland Centre and the occasional major RSPB reserve) but there are a lot that are off the beaten track. There is information about the actual wildlife that lives in each place, and it's not only birds! There is a broad offering of all types of wildlife, with everything from deer to tiny flowers.

There is also a map in the back with additional locations that aren't specifically covered in the book, and supplemental entries for each month to tell you what places that are covered by major entries in other months are like during that month (if that makes sense...hard to explain!), which packs even more useful information into the book in an extremely efficient and not overwhelming manner.

The single only failing of this book is that in the major map index, in order to see overall what's in your area, places are marked on the map by numbers (with no names) but the actual places are listed alphabetically, so if you don't know the actual name of every place (and why would you?) it takes ages to find out what it is. However, as the main bulk of the book is so clear and specifies which region an entry is from, this is more of an annoyance than anything else. Still, it does need to be fixed.

I would heartily recommend this book to anyone in any region of the country with any interest in getting out of the cities or even just enjoying your own area. It's definitely opened my eyes a nd helped me to see a tremendous variety of places that I wouldn't even know existed! I wish I could give it 6/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost impossible to use the maps!, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
dprs (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, organised by month, but very much let down by a nonsensical set of map gazetteers in the rear. Find a numbered place on the map, but you then have go through pages of tiny listings to try and find the description, because the listings are not ordered by number - grrrr. This silly mistake / oversight makes the book very difficult to use for exploring different areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
If you rely on normal guide books such as Lonely Planet, you'll never find any information relating to wildlife reserves. So this book provides a totally new and detailed view of Britain. Each month, there are lots of sites listed across Britain providing varied wildlife experiences so you can plan your activities and trips well in advance. The quality of photos is stunning, as one always expects with DK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a beautiful book but..., 27 July 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
...DK have also brought it out under the title: "The Nature of Britain" (under the "RSPB" logo). ISBN 978-1-4053-4772-3. I bought it in WH Smiths at the w/e, but can't find it on Amazon (only something by Titchmarsh). Maybe it's a Smiths special.

Still a beautiful book though, full size, usually DK quality paper and printing. Just make sure you don't buy both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's WHERE to go wild, not WHEN!, 27 May 2014
By 
Luke Cadman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain (Hardcover)
If the title is where to go wild, why is the book ordered by month. What really bothers me is that if I'm going on a trip somewhere and want to see some wildlife on the way, there is no easy way to find a place using this book - the index is terrible!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain
RSPB Where To Go Wild in Britain by Dk (Hardcover - 1 April 2009)
Used & New from: £4.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews