Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and comprehensive
I have several books on cheese, but this fills a gap in my food library in that it lists virtually all (as far as I know) the artisanal cheeses currently being produced in Britain. It is divided into categories such as Blue cheeses, hard cheeses, etc. and together with the index of places and cheese names it is very easy to find the cheese you are looking for.
For...
Published on 11 April 2009 by J. E. Michie

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great little book
this is a very well made book with up to date informations about the current batch of British cheeses around. it is really informative and easy to read and understand. highly recommended for anyone interested in cheese.
Published on 29 April 2010 by C. D. A. Demeyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and comprehensive, 11 April 2009
By 
J. E. Michie "Herschelian" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
I have several books on cheese, but this fills a gap in my food library in that it lists virtually all (as far as I know) the artisanal cheeses currently being produced in Britain. It is divided into categories such as Blue cheeses, hard cheeses, etc. and together with the index of places and cheese names it is very easy to find the cheese you are looking for.
For too long Britons have laboured under the misapprehension that we can't produce cheese like the French. Use this book to track down some of our wonderful regional specialities, and you will see how we can hold our own with the Froggies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know it's cheesy but...., 5 April 2010
By 
C. Day "Cheese Monster" (West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
I was bought this book as a present, and read it from cover to cover. I then went out and started trying to find the featured cheeses, and there are plenty of outlets around, both on the street and over the internet - I've tried both. I enjoyed the book so much that I bought it for a friend who also enjoys cheese, and he is of the same opinion as me regarding this book.

My only slight criticism it that the cheeses are allocated a 'type', 90% of which are 'Modern', the remainder 'Traditional'. Why bother?

If you're at all interested in eating cheese, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 2 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
This book details over 300 different cheeses of the British isles.

After an 'introduction', 'a short history of British cheese', explanations on 'how cheese is made', 'types of cheese', 'buying cheese' and 'serving cheese', the book provides individual profiles of cheeses divided into 5 distinct groups: fresh, soft, semi-soft, hard, and blue cheeses.

Each cheese is given an individual profile with a photograph of a slice, a map of the British isles to locate the provenance, indications of size, weight, shape, milk, rennet, and type.
The description gives information about the colour and the production process of the cheese, how long it is matured and details about its taste and flavour.

The book concludes with a glossary, a directory of resources, and an index.

Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical book for British cheese lovers, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
This a a surprisingly comprehensive and profusely illustrated book describing many farmhouse cheeses in Great Britain and Ireland. It makes fascinating reading and an ideal present for 'foodie' friends. Inevitably many short-run local cheeses are not touched on, but this is not surprising, considering the emergence of so many enterprising cheese makers. It is a good companion to take with you on a holiday travelling in your car. You may find some excellent surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Cheeses by Jenny Linford, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for cheese lovers. Extremely informative with beautiful photo's, a typical Dorling Kindersley publication. A very worthwhile addition to the bookcase, handy to dip into when considering travelling the UK if your a cuisine lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Cheeses, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
I bought this for the wife who manages a Deli, excellent reference manual, she loves it and can now give definative opinion's on cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 29 April 2010
By 
C. D. A. Demeyer (Balham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Cheeses (Hardcover)
this is a very well made book with up to date informations about the current batch of British cheeses around. it is really informative and easy to read and understand. highly recommended for anyone interested in cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great British Cheeses
Great British Cheeses by Jenny Linford (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2008)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews