Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mallorca Top 10
I've looked for a guide book for Mallorca and many guides refer to all the Balearic Islands, and therefore Mallorca only features in part of the guide, or are padded with unnecessary items.
This small guide, which easily fits into your pocket, covers the best aspects of Mallorca, ranging from Monasteries and Museums, Castles and Villages to Bars and Restaurants,...
Published on 18 May 2009 by Phil Carr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money.
Surprised at the poor quality of this book's recommendations. Supposed to have been updated for 2009... but no mention of the WONDERFUL Palma Aquarium which we visited in 2008. It advised a particular museum of glass which unfortunately turned out to be an outlet shop. Very very disappointing for a DK book.
Published on 23 July 2009 by C. M. Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mallorca Top 10, 18 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
I've looked for a guide book for Mallorca and many guides refer to all the Balearic Islands, and therefore Mallorca only features in part of the guide, or are padded with unnecessary items.
This small guide, which easily fits into your pocket, covers the best aspects of Mallorca, ranging from Monasteries and Museums, Castles and Villages to Bars and Restaurants, covering the whole of the island.
It's packed with detail and has plenty of tips for the traveller.
A little gem !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guidebook, though not enough practical info, 14 April 2009
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
To complement an organised package trip, these DK 'Top 10' guides are great. The size is small and light so fits easily into a small bag or large pocket, and the cover is durable and reasonably waterproof. Maps of central Palma fold out from the cover flaps and are clear and useful, though they do only cover the centre and annoyingly don't go as far as the bus/train stations. One of the best features of the guide is the presence of lots of colour photos throughout.

The text is delivered in small, bite size chunks, great for dipping in and out of. Travellers who like more in depth detail would probably prefer a more in depth guide instead of/ in addition to this one. But in terms of a guide that can actually be carried around, this takes a lot of beating.

For the independent traveller, there isn't really enough practical information, such as travel, and a Lonely Planet or Rough Guide may be a better bet. Although the cover of the guide does claim to cater for all budgets, it is really aimed at mid-higher end holidaymakers. Those planning on hiking will also find little to help in this book. The language guide covers 'Mallorquin' rather than Spanish, which would be the more useful and familiar language for the casual traveller.

So I would highly recommend this as a portable accompaniment to a more detailed guide, or as a sole guide for those who are on organised trips and don't need to rely on a guidebook for practical information or who want lots of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money., 23 July 2009
By 
C. M. Scott (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
Surprised at the poor quality of this book's recommendations. Supposed to have been updated for 2009... but no mention of the WONDERFUL Palma Aquarium which we visited in 2008. It advised a particular museum of glass which unfortunately turned out to be an outlet shop. Very very disappointing for a DK book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book!, 17 Mar 2009
It was very helpful to organize our trip with this guide. I had an impression all the most interesting places were mentioned. All of them were indicated on the map so it was easy to plan the sequence of our visits. Nice pictures, short description of each place, opening hours and brief directions are included. A detailed plan of the centre of Palma.
I would definitely recommend this guide that contains lots of useful information (especially for the first visit). The size is perfect; it easily fits a hand bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This guide is of little use..., 16 July 2009
By 
Mr. Owen Matthews "Owen" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
...because its format is so poor: whilst the info is correct and ultimately helpful, the difficulty of actually using it makes this an irrelevance. The layout, whilst making for a catchy theme (Top 10 of everything you might look for in Mallorca), renders the book all but useless as an actual guide. This is as opposed to as an abstract list, at which it excels. The maps, further more are no help whatsoever and the practical information sections are pointless because they are far too short, squeezed in to the back of the book and containing very little useful information. I only bought this as it is the most recent one available, and this is only the second or third review I have ever written: such is my disappointment! I presume there are better books out come, because this one is awful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good short stay guide, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
For anyone going to Mallorca for a short holiday and who did not intend to explore the island in depth, this is a perfectly adequate guide. Two of our party wanted to take it very easy with the minimum of exploring; the third member was content to confine exploration to Palma. For that the guide was excellent. Like all DK publications, the layout, design and illustrations are first class. One word of warning! This edition was published in 2009 and the first time we tried to eat in one of the recommended restaurants it had moved and had been sold so that the recommendation was no longer valid and we went for our second choice (also recommended and excellent).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travel Guide Mallorca, 5 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
Book arrived in plenty of time for my annual holiday. The book provided me a clear insight of what to expect, do and what not to do! I used it regularly and glad I bought this book for my holiday in Mallorca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday guide, 15 July 2010
By 
Mrs. Rosalind Oliver "winspit" (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
Just what I wanted to help me enjoy my forthcoming holiday in Majorca. I have used the guides before and they have never let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars time / money well spent, 10 May 2010
By 
A. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
This travel guide is compact enough to be carried while traveling around the island while detailed enough to be used as a home reference for planning the next days visits. There are some useful items within the guide with the only slightly negative point being the lack of a slightly more detailed map (roads / rail etc) of the entire island....these are easy enough to find in the local visitor centre's and can be folded to fit inside the cover of the guide so this isn't a major issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful info, 8 Aug 2009
This review is from: DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca (Paperback)
Mallorca (DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide)- this guyde is good and has a lot of useful info with little details like prices for admin fees to almost all tourist attractions, and loads of good tips !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Mallorca by Jeffrey Kennedy (Paperback - 2 Feb 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews