Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Adventures and insights from the mind of a modern genius.
This is the 3rd Book from the mind of Karl Pilkington and in my opinion the best yet.

For those who aren't familiar with the antics Mr Pilkington, he is one of Ricky Gervais friends who he likes to describe as a village idiot of sorts. The fame started on the radio station XFM when Ricky had his own time slot , in which he featured among other things the...
Published on 6 Feb 2009 by Low-Quality

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique voice
Karl's voice echoes from the pages - you can imagine the trademark, simian half-grimace as the words trip slowly from his lips. There are some genuine guffaws as he rambles across a wide variety of subjects in the wonderful parallel universe of Karl-world. Well worth a try.
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Dash Riprock


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Adventures and insights from the mind of a modern genius., 6 Feb 2009
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karlology (Hardcover)
This is the 3rd Book from the mind of Karl Pilkington and in my opinion the best yet.

For those who aren't familiar with the antics Mr Pilkington, he is one of Ricky Gervais friends who he likes to describe as a village idiot of sorts. The fame started on the radio station XFM when Ricky had his own time slot , in which he featured among other things the ramblings, theories and insights of Karl who was the producer of the show at the time.
More recent mainstream fame was continued on Ricky Gervais Podcast Show , which the insanity continued.

Now Mr Pilkington writes books and I must say there's nothing better to do at the end of the day , than to read his random musings before drifting off at bedtime.

This book focuses on Karl expanding his knowledge of the world.
Laugh and be amused as the bald little Manc continues in broadening his mind and enriching his soul.
Infact I find this book somewhat inspiring since I stopped education long ago and he's writing about his latest endeavors in picking it back up and learning new stuff where he can. Maybe Mr Pilkington has inspired me to take up writing too.

You will enjoy the simple , but thought provoking view points he expresses.
A lot of what his says make sense and a lot of he says will make you smile, because it's all written in good, honest,humble, simple straight forward humanity. ( I like his writing style, as he just writes how he speak it in real life, which makes the books that much more fun to read )
Also he goes off on many funny and random tangents as his mind wanders and many of them will provoke the biggest laughs from you.

chapters include visits to the Natural History Museum, London Aquarium, a day at the Library and many more !
As with Karl's previous written works, there are many sprinkles of visual treats throughout. Including his charming illustrations ( Which I still must say , I think he should go into creating children's books at some point) and collages of photos from his various visits.

My eyes have been greatly opened to see the world in a much more pure , simpler honest light.
A viewpoint like this refreshes the mind and soul.

But the bottom line this is funny and charming reading, you probably won't find anywhere else.
Give it a try and you might be surprised , by adding a bit of Karl Pilkington into your life ,will really make it much more sense.

This is my most enjoyed book of his works so far. I can't wait for the next title, which I hope to be more comedy gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read., 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: Karlology (Paperback)
I'm new to the world of Karl Pilkington. I was flicking TV channels one night and noticed 'An Idiot Abroad' was on. I watched it and ever since then I've been watching, reading and listening to him. He's one of the funniest thinkers I've ever seen and his humor style is a welcome change.

Karlology is an hilarious read, recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book So Far, 15 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karlology (Hardcover)
I've only just started this book and already it promises to be the best book so far. Just a little excerpt I think should be known:

"I have a theory that the brain might have come from another planet where brains ruled. A planet where there was no atmosphere and the brains just floated around thinking about stuff all day. They quickly became advanced because of the amount of thinking being done. Then, somehow, they came to planet Earth but found they were useless because they couldn't move about by floating any more. So one of the brainier ones got into a monkey's head ... and the rest is history. Like I say, it's just a theory."

I dare anyone to attempt to understand the psychology behind that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Karlology (Paperback)
Very funny book, I bought it for my boyfriend for Christmas, but when it arrived I had a little flick through and it had me laughing out loud, I just HAD to give him it!
He loves the book, he barely puts it down, and often reads out quotes that put me in fits of giggles.

Karl Pilkington is a genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The monkey has a new book!, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Karlology (Hardcover)
This is Karl's third book! He's written as many books as he's read! Well, he's done it again. Another corking book filled with the drivel we've all come to love to read on the can.

Some of the genius is missing as Ricky and Steves' voices are absent and when the three are together the drivel reaches bold new heights of idiocy. But Karl's lone voice speaking his theories uninterrupted without Ricky's voice saying "Karl, Karl, Karl - where did you get this from? What do you mean the monkey drove to Spain?!" make for a much stranger but still brilliant read.

In this book Karl goes for a MENSA test, goes to an exhibition of the human body featuring real life (dead) human bodies, and we get the confrontation we've all been waiting for - Karl meets his brain! And of course, there's also some monkey news thrown in.

If you've been following Karl through all the media over the years (XFM, podcasts, audiobooks, the occasional documentary) some of the stuff in here are things he's already mentioned however here he's allowed to elaborate on his thoughts and also poses some new ones too. His drawings are always charming and the design of this book is really top notch. Suzanne even throws in a touching afterword. "He makes me laugh every day" she says. Long live Karl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karl must be a God, 28 Nov 2008
By 
R. Guiver (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Karlology (Hardcover)
One of the funniest books I have read in a long time.
Simple humor... You can sometines see whats coming but still make you laugh.
Karls outlook on life and views are so simple, it makes you wonder if he is actually correct in what he says... scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique voice, 26 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karlology (Paperback)
Karl's voice echoes from the pages - you can imagine the trademark, simian half-grimace as the words trip slowly from his lips. There are some genuine guffaws as he rambles across a wide variety of subjects in the wonderful parallel universe of Karl-world. Well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious, 25 July 2010
This review is from: Karlology (Hardcover)
Really really funny book. Includes great illustrations and amusing facts throughout. If you like 'Karl's Diary' readings from the Ricky Gervais Show - You will love this book. Karl mentions everyday things but turns them into a whole new perspective, probably without even meaning to. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great value for money! if you havent seen idiot abroad etc you need to!, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karlology (Paperback)
i am a huge fan of karl and have seen all his tv programmes and podcasts and was looking for untapped material. i knew he had written books but had no idea how cheap they were! i chose this because it had just about the highest ratings, and i was unsure if the idiot abroad/ moaning of life books overlapped stuff he says in the show (probably not tbf). the book itself is a bit like "the simpsons" in the sense that it can be a bit flat for a page or 2 but but then every now and then laughing incredibly hard. this book is at its funniest when he talks about his past, school, family and people who grew up on his estate; he needs a book dedicated purely to these things as these are the factors of why karl is like he is. the funny thing with this book is you read but in his voice in your head!
value for money = 5 star
quality= 4 star
i think the reason i may be being harsh on the book is im not much of a reader, but for portability it has still been worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic brilliance, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karlology (Kindle Edition)
This is typical of Karl, you get what you expect, excellent, very funny read, i wish there were more like him ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Karlology
Karlology by Karl Pilkington (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews