Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 29 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely fantastic book.

I am fascinated by all things ocean, and am so glad that I bought this! The photographs are just stunning, and the book is crammed with everything you would ever want or need to know or wonder about the oceans, from the beaches and shores, out to the open ocean and the deep trenches.

It starts with all the geography of our planet and the oceans, with chapters all about thetides, winds, tectonic plates, natural phenomena, waves, etc etc.

It's got topographic maps of every sea and ocean in the world, with all the sea depths, and articles on all these seas and oceans, along with beautiful photographs and detailed descriptions of all the world's diving spots, reefs, seas and coasts.

Then there is the massive section on all the wildlife - fish, mammals, crustaceans, birds, reptiles, everything that lives in and around the ocean!
There are also big sections on all the different areas and zones of the oceans, and articles on wrecks, hurricanes, famous occurances, and loads more.

You could read this book every day and still discover new things from it, it is absolutely crammed full and everything is clear and interesting. Everything you could want to know about, and every place on Earth is included in here. I read it all the time! Can't recommend it enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and inspiring, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Dr. Peter Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book that informs, entertains and inspires.

It's got enough in it for most readers, and I suspect if you read the more technical bits more carefully and closely enough for most basic ocean biology, geography and geology courses. It's one of this books you will learn something new from it each time you open it. It's a book that will grow with people- starting with enjoying the pictures and gradually understanding the text better over time.

The pictures and graphics are superb, and the text brief,focused, and works completely with the pictures.

This is the kind of book that Dorling-Kinderseley excel at producing, and I can recommend it to anyone even a little a bit curious about what's going on in the oceans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
A present for a loved one for Xmas - I am always very impressed by the sheer quality of the DK books. Beautiful photographs, interesting information. Arrived very quickly and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
I would highly reccommend this book. lots of high quality images, and various topics about oceans. Great from the start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
This book has the usual high quality you expect from DK, very well laid out, lots of information with lots of pictures. It's a great book for any age who love the ocean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant reference book, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a Xmas present for my granddaughter, who shows a keen interest in all things marine. The quality of the photography is outstanding with very interesting and informative sections to read. All in all great value for money and about the best book on this subject that I have come across
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 9 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
This book is fabulous quality and absolutely amazing at the price. I love DK books anyway and this one does not disappoint. Packed full of information and lovely colour photos. I have bought it for my two sons who are completely into wildlife and the ocean. I have no doubt they will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedia of the Ocean's Brilliant, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
Gift for my daughter, she loves it...being interested in oceans and life in oceans especially sharks, just the job for research .
Beautifully presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
This is quite the book - maybe a bit to advanced for my 7 yo nephew but he loves it and will grow into it I'm sure. Lots of information, lots of pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean (Hardcover)
This book has such beautiful pictures and the information suits all age ranges. I would recommend it to anyone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean
Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Ocean by DK (Hardcover - 1 Feb. 2011)
Used & New from: £17.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews