Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Camera Gem
At last! someone has written a book for the compact and DSLR camera user, who are just getting to grips with their camera. This book gives a good basic knowledge in how to use the camera successfully without the technical jargon, and to consentrate on taking photos. There's plenty of books that can give you the science and technical knowledge, I feel the author has met...
Published on 13 Nov 2007 by Mrs. A. H. V. Greenwood

versus
83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginners.
This book is very well presented with a consistent easy to follow layout.

This book really does cover almost every photographic subject you could wish to shoot. Some of the illustrations are amazing and has some nice compositional suggestions.

On the downside, it has very little detail on the technicalities of shooting these subjects and for the...
Published on 11 Oct 2007 by Wayne Young


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Camera Gem, 13 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. A. H. V. Greenwood "AnnieUK" (Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last! someone has written a book for the compact and DSLR camera user, who are just getting to grips with their camera. This book gives a good basic knowledge in how to use the camera successfully without the technical jargon, and to consentrate on taking photos. There's plenty of books that can give you the science and technical knowledge, I feel the author has met a much needed market. It is a beautifully structured and illustrated book. It is a delight to look through the various styles of photography and see how you can improve your technique. Then after each session the author gives you the basic setup to take successful pictures. He goes through the basic modes of the camera, so that you can concentrate on your photography. I use it in our photography workshop to get beginners used to using their camera's, and also to learn techniques in taking photos. This book is aimed at the beginner, or anyone who wants to improve their photos. DK always produce excellent illustrated books, this one is a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book for beginners and beyond, 25 Jun 2007
By 
R. Blair (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have recently upgraded from compact (Nikon S4) photography to full SLR (Canon EOS 400D) and all the features (ISO, shutter times, aperture, etc) are a little daunting at first, but having read this book from cover to cover I am now more confident with what to do in all the different conditions I might face. Let's be honest - I'm not exactly going to remember all of the information in the book at each photo opportunity, and I'm not likely to carry this with me all the time, but the information and technique advise, plus full colour photography examples for each subject covered really do lend a hand to the enthusiastic beginner and to those who what to take their photography to a more 'professional finish' level. The majority of detail in the book suggests ways to get the photo right first time, without having to then spend hours with editing software, and it was this advise that I found really useful as I am also a beginner in that arena too, and learning that is twice as hard as just getting a good photo in the first place! I mean what could give more joy that a 'perfect' shot without any post photo editing required?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin., 27 May 2010
By 
Kindle Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Photograph Absolutely Everything: Successful Pictures from your Digital Camera (Paperback)
I love photography but find discovering really inspirational books that are worth buying difficult. Photography books tend to be either very technical, aimed at the amateur or full of the type of photos you have seen a hundred times. I know my way around a camera and am looking for ideas that are different and not bogged down with apertures, f stops and fancy lenses. This book does exactly what it says - it shows you how to photograph absolutely everything, without all the boring bits. The book is full of pictures, over 380 pages full of pictures. It gives advice and tips for improving just about any type of photo, both before it is taken and after. There is so much to inspire you in this book that taking your child to the park, wandering around your garden, a night out with friends or a shopping trip could all turn into a perfect photo opportunity, with some fresh original photos to show for it. Only the most jaded photographer will not find new ideas in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Usefull, 29 Jun 2007
By 
C. Matthews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is well composed and laidout with various sections on how to take that particular subject. It goes from explaining the basic on most new cameras and how to use them. It then moves on into how to take various photo's in a wide diversaty of subjects and events. I would recommend this book to people who like photography and are just starting out like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely everything!, 21 Jan 2009
By 
C. Shaw (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first thing that strikes you about this general photography book by Tom Ang is the high quality photography and quality feel of the book itself. It is easy to read, mainly because there aren't that many words on each page!. This is essentially a book for beginner to intermediate photographers, looking for general tips and advice. You wont find technical discussions of aperture, depth of field or ISO here - in fact a digital SLR is probably not even required, as most of the advice would work for a good quality 'point & shoot' camera. What it does give you is advice on taking photos of most likely absolutely everything you can think of, that is certainly no exaggeration.
Starting with photography and camera basics, before moving on to large sections by subject, the book is cover to cover with good quality photos illustrating each bit of advice.
People, Landscapes, Animals, Architecture and Events are covered in depth, among others. Help with such varied artistic techniques such as light trails, kirlian photography, reflection, space photography, and considering textures and patterns is also presented, with even pages on promoting a business, selling on ebay, and photos to help sell your car!.
Overall, this is not a book which covers anything in any depth, and as such is mainly for beginners as mentioned before. It is however cover to cover with great photos and small snippets of advice on taking pictures of absolutely everything. As a beginners source book and inspiration for every kind of situation or subject imaginable, it is probably in a league of its own, and there are few photographers that wouldn't learn at least something from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for people who take photos and have no interest in photography, 1 Nov 2011
This book is great for people who have a digital camera and who just want to take photos without getting to grips with photographic concepts. That's bad if you want to learn more about photography, but great if you just want to know when to use what setting on your camera. It will tell you which mode you should set your point-and-shoot camera in (sports, landscape, portrait, etc.), what ISO setting to use, whether to use flash or not and whether to zoom in or not and that's it. If you want to know more, I suggest you buy another book (e.g. "Digital Photography - Step by Step" by the same author offers much more information if you are a beginner and want to learn about photography), but if all you want to know is how to get better photos from your digital camera, then this will be a great book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Photograph Absolutely Everything, 7 Feb 2010
This review is from: How to Photograph Absolutely Everything: Successful Pictures from your Digital Camera (Paperback)
A beautifully produced book with superb photographs to elucidate the text.
Very clear, concisely instructive chapters on a wide range of topics, for beginners as well as the more experienced digital photographer.
I was only slightly disappointed in the lack of hardback covers.Digital Photography Masterclass: Advanced Photographic and Image-manipulation Techniques for Creating Perfect PicturesDigital Photographer's Handbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginners., 11 Oct 2007
By 
Wayne Young (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is very well presented with a consistent easy to follow layout.

This book really does cover almost every photographic subject you could wish to shoot. Some of the illustrations are amazing and has some nice compositional suggestions.

On the downside, it has very little detail on the technicalities of shooting these subjects and for the enthusiast photographer, it will just state the obvious over and over again.

Digital SLR users are probably better off with a DSLR specific book, as this book mostly demonstrates photographing with a compact camera and it's various preset shooting modes (i.e Landscape mode).

For someone new to the joys of creative photography this book is a perfect starting point. The enthusiast however may be better off looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners and enthusiastic amateurs!, 19 Feb 2008
This is great if you're keen but need a bit of practical guidance and some inspiration. This books shows you some inspirational shots as guidance and shows you the set up (eg where to stand, where to place your subject etc...) and tells you the ISO, aperture, shutter speed etc... for many of the pictures. It is jargon-free, easy to read and split into useful chapters, including portriats, moving objects, taking pictures of children, close ups, night shots, etc...

People criticising this book have missed the point; it is MEANT to be simple, it isn't aimed at people who are already pretty proficient at photographs, it is aimed at people like me who are moving on from a compact and need a bit of guidance to get the best from the camera. If that's you then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book I wish I'd had when I was starting out., 13 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I spend some of my time teaching beginners how to use a camera. This has always been fun but I've never had 'one good book' to recommend to students. Until now.

This is not a book for reading in one go but rather using for reference to find the area in which you're interested then following Toms Ang's "recipe" for getting a result.

The clearly laid out sections make finding what you want quick and easy. The precise lettering and consistent layout make finding detailed instructions almost intuitive.

There are very few words as Ang prefers to let the images do the talking. What text there is is mercifully jargon free without talking down to newcomer to digital photography.

Ang uses a variety of simple compact cameras throughout the book to prove that good results can be obtained from non-professional kit.

There's no technical jargon, just simple tips to move from average to good photography and beyond.

The title is not an exaggeration. I couldn't find a single area of photography not covered. Some topics are a little light on detail i.e. creating panoramas, but the book is about breadth not depth and the least it does it make the reader aware that such things can be done.

A nice touch are the photos showing Tom Ang taking the shots. Seeing how he had to stand / kneel / lie / bend / stoop to get the shot makes reproducing it yourself that much easier. Even after 35 years of photography I learned one or two new techniques (like shooting low to catch water reflections).

One warning: the book assumes that you are familiar with the controls of your camera i.e. setting the ISO, shooting modes, turning on the flash, etc. So to get the most from the book, study your camera manual first.

Minor gripes:
- the book's large size makes it difficult to read in bed,
- the paperback version won't stay open on a table so the hardback version is a must have if you want to refer to the book whilst playing with the settings on your camera,
- the introductory hardware section is already out of date: thankfully the advice on taking photos is timeless.

An absolute gem of a book for beginners or even the more advanced to use as a refresher or starting point to explore new areas of photography.

This is the book I wish I'd had when I was starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews