Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not sure if he's a genius, but boy is he funny!
There are some comedians who are just not funny off stage. They hate people spotting them when out and about because they know they'll never live up to expectations. They can 'do' funny but they AREN'T funny - not in real life. Then there are those who can make anything funny, even the lamest joke - Tommy Cooper was one of the best examples. Karl Pilkington is another: he...
Published on 7 Dec 2007 by Dr. George L. Sik

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for fans of The Ricky Gervais Show
A funny collection of short pieces about the travels of Karl Pilkington. There are diaries and dreadful little poems, cartoons and 'true stories', photos and storyboards, all riddled with the unique Pilkington brand of madness. Whether it's New York or the Lake District, this reads very much like a child's 'What I did on my holidays', full of what he had for tea and...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by Miss E. Potten


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for fans of The Ricky Gervais Show, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happyslapped by a Jellyfish: The words of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
A funny collection of short pieces about the travels of Karl Pilkington. There are diaries and dreadful little poems, cartoons and 'true stories', photos and storyboards, all riddled with the unique Pilkington brand of madness. Whether it's New York or the Lake District, this reads very much like a child's 'What I did on my holidays', full of what he had for tea and bizarre observations about what he's seen and done. At first I could almost hear Stephen Merchant reading it, as he does in the 'Karl's Diary' segment of the wonderful Ricky Gervais Show! I wouldn't read it again, and I certainly wouldn't have paid the cover price because it's very short, but it was a nice bit of fun for my week off...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not sure if he's a genius, but boy is he funny!, 7 Dec 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some comedians who are just not funny off stage. They hate people spotting them when out and about because they know they'll never live up to expectations. They can 'do' funny but they AREN'T funny - not in real life. Then there are those who can make anything funny, even the lamest joke - Tommy Cooper was one of the best examples. Karl Pilkington is another: he simply IS funny...and he's not even a comedian.

Ricky Gervais, a very shrewd man, spotted this from the off. He's probably even a little envious: while Ricky meticulously plans every aspect of his comedy, Karl just opens his mouth and funny things come out!

No, this book isn't 'well-written' - the grammar is all over the place and it's full of throwaway slang...but that's not a criticism, it's a strength! Ghost-writers of footballers' autobiographies spend ages deciding how much to change the ramblings that have come from the mouths of their often less-than-articulate subjects. The trick is to make it seem authentic yet understandable. However this evolved from Karl's brain to his mouth to the page has been just right: as several of the other reviewers point out, it feels just like he's talking.

So it's 'what I did on my holidays' by a rather odd, yet very likeable and very funny man - and, you have to acknowledge, pretty gifted illustrator. It'll have you in stitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping it Unreal, 26 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. K. Unitt (Leamington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was worried, worried that for all the fame Karl Pilkington has enjoyed this past year or so, he'd have gained some actual - genuine - knowledge, and by default this book would have become less enjoyable, clouded by information and 'facts' that actual rang true.

I needn't have worried. Karl remains as impervious to knowledge as a moth does to the damaging effects of hot light bulbs. He seeks knowledge, but when it happens upon him something gets twisted in the transmitter and it comes out of his mouth adapted, totally different to the true meaning.

Not that his wonderful theories don't have some basis, that they somehow make sense despite the absurdity of the claim. How about his assertion that we're all told to eat five portions of fruit a day only because there's so much 'rubbish fruit' they're trying to get rid? They're even palming it off in shower gels such as 'hint of kiwi', says Karl by amusing way of 'proof'.

Where as Karl's previous book 'The World of Karl Pilkington' suffered somewhat because you couldn't hear his perfect dead-pan delivery, this book revels in the fact that it is one long ramble, about his holidaying life and what his girlfriend's parents have for tea each night.

You learn next to nothing about the places he visits, but then surely that was to be expected. He devotes a chapter to his Madeira holiday and I don't think he mentions what it was like once.

All in all this is a good read with lots of chuckle-out-loud moments. Karl is here to stay it seems, and still wonderfully unaware of what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilkie for President in '08!, 7 April 2008
By 
M. Ginion "MattyG" (Philadelphia PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
America needs Karl now more than ever. In this upcoming election, we need someone who can tackle the REAL issues that keep Americans up at night. We are not concerned with our floundering economy, the "war" on terror or how we are now less popular globally than Alton Towers. We ARE worried about:
- Curfews for gays (The Killing of Georgie law)
- Snails eating our postage stamps
- Shadows that push people off of bikes
- Octopi in jam jars
- Big heads and webbed hands
- Split tennis balls
- Organized fun
- Little Turkish fellas that eyeball your girlfriends

All of these things have been ignored by our current administration. I am spearheading the "Do We Need Him?" campaign for Karl to run for the American Presidency. "Do We Need Him?" - you bet your jaffa cakes we do! Lest anyone think we can't get Karl into office, please look at who we have now. Over 50 million people voted George Dubya into office - twice! Americans obviously love and relate to the genius of being stupid. G. Dubs has got nothin' on Lil' Karly Pilkoids! Can you imagine, in a hundred years from now, Karl's little face on a ten dollar bill? Or better yet, the roundest penny ever created!

A plea to Ricky - please bring Karl to America with you this summer. We need him now more than ever before. Don't let Manchester, Kent and London (where he lives) have all the fun and that. Bring the World's Roundest Head to the Big Apple! Alright? Alright.

OOOHH!!! CHIMPANZEE THAT!!! Pilkington for PRESIDENT!!! Yer ffff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as expected!, 10 Sep 2011
This review is from: Happyslapped by a Jellyfish: The words of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
If you like Karl and have enjoyed An Idiot Abroad then this is a must have read. Karl, in his distinctly blunt way takes you through a variety of holiday destinations he has been to, I won't rattle off a book spoiling description chapter by chapter but my favourite's include his trip to Tunisia and his views on Rome. Excellent light holiday read, guaranteed to attract some strange looks as you chuckle your way through it by the swimming pool.

'Rome wasn't built in a day, it just looks that way'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable., 10 Aug 2011
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happyslapped by a Jellyfish: The words of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
This man is either the greatest comic invention bar none, or he really is as daft as messrs Gervais & Merchant make him out to be. Other reviews have said that the book reads like he talks and I couldn't agree more. It's a long time since I've sat and laughed to the point of crying at the contents of a book, and the only time I did put it down was to dry my eyes, reading it in one sitting from start to finish.

I hope there are more to follow, I'll just have to remember to order a box of hankies at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's a genius, but doesn't know it, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Karl Pilkington shot to fame as the producer behind The Ricky Gervais radio show on XFM back in 2000/2001. The show featured the pre-Office team of Gervais and Stephen Merchant playing music and talking drivel, so it was the ideal platform for Karl to get involved with.

Gervais soon realised that Karl's occasional involvement with the show was the funniest parts, and soon the show became a regular 3-man show. The XFM show ran for hundreds of shows, and evolved into a show just to hear Karl's fascinating opinions on things. This XFM show was the catalyst behind The Ricky Gervais Podcast series on first The Guardian Unlimited's website, and then through the Audible website.

This book is the second from Karl Pilkington, and has a few similarities with the first. It contains many stories and anecdotes from the XFM shows/Podcasts, but it also contains a lot of unheard material and many original hand-drawn pictures from Karl.

Personally, Karl is a genius. His views on things are child-like, single-minded, but hilarious. His ponderings range from "my eyes get heavy when I'm tired, so can blind people stay awake longer?" to "I hate jellyfish - I hear they're 98% water - why can't we just give them another 2% and have done with them?".

It's genius questions, that you can't really answer. You'd expect a child to ask them, but Karl has a endearing quality because he sounds simple, and doesn't really quite get things. He's happy in his own little world.

To get the full effect from this book, you will have to believe that Karl is speaking from the heart. He's not pretending - he's not saying things for comic effect. It's just his truthful, instant opinions on things, and that makes it funnier.

It would also help if you'd heard Karl before, either on XFM or on the podcasts, as it really does add another dimension if you can hear Karl's whiny Manchester accent in your head while you're reading his words. Without this, the book could seem poorly written.

In summary, if you're familiar with Karl, it's a funny, enjoyable read that's a perfect accompanyment to his podcast material. If you're not familiar with Karl, don't start with this. Download some of the spoken word material, and then buy this book once you've got more of his back-story. You'll get a lot more from it, and find it 100% funnier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writes the way he talks, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Karl Pilkington comes off as good on paper as he does in voice. Something not everyone can do. This book contains extracts from his diaries---the diaries that a lot of people had been clamoring for for a while, and with good reason.

While some of his anecdotes are not new, that is, if you've been listening to his podcasts, they're still funny nevertheless.

You don't have to be a fan or have heard him on the radio to love this book. I'd put it in same category as David Sedaris and his NPR rants which somehow turned into his books, "Me Talk Pretty One Day" and "Naked." Would also recommend the book "Do Ants have Arseholes?" for another funny read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ha Ha LOL funny, 21 May 2012
Taking the form of diary entries and the occasional poem. His writing is a weird hybrid of childlike whining, absurd non-sequiturs and embelished speculation. Spelling and grammatical errors are left intact, and Karl's Manchester dialect somehow comes across in the text as well. His childhood was simply astonishing, a seemingly bottomless wellspring of Ripleys-worthy anectdotes, and has imbued Karl with an apparent invincibility of opinion, which makes his whitterings all the more hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Nicola F (Nic) (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Happyslapped by a Jellyfish: The words of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
What makes this book so appealing is that it reads exactly as if Karl Pilkington is talking to you with his mundane rambles, so if you're a fan of `An Idiot Abroad' or `The Ricky Gervais Show' then you will recognise Pilkington's deadpan Manc humour shining right through the pages.

This is a travelogue without much talk of the travel itself to be honest- a hodgepodge account of Pilkington's random journeys from places as far apart as the Caribbean to Lanzarote to his school trip to the Lake District. With the long-suffering Suzanne by his side, Karl muses on various facts and insights into his trips with his usual hilarious one-liners, interspersed with self-penned cartoons and poems. What I like about Pilkington is that he really does come across as a down to earth bloke who is unintentionally funny which makes him all the more endearing.

I would recommend this if you like books with a bit of humour about them that tend to go a bit off tangent in places or if you're a fan of Pilkington of course- this would make a good beach read; it's a fun way to spend a couple of hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happyslapped by a Jellyfish: The words of Karl Pilkington
Happyslapped by a Jellyfish: The words of Karl Pilkington by Karl Pilkington (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews