Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botany for the artist an inpirational guide to drawing plants
This is a beautifuly illustrated book and is exactly what it says in the title. It certainly is inspirational for botanical drawing, but don't expect there to be much advice on painting the finished drawing as this is only mentioned, almost in passing, on a few pages. I would hesitate to recomed the book to someone who has little or no experience in botanical drawing,...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Sue P

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration
Nice pictures, and lots of text - not quite what I was expecting, but good to have and put on the book shelf. Fast delivery.
Published on 30 April 2010 by Florence Hubbard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botany for the artist an inpirational guide to drawing plants, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
This is a beautifuly illustrated book and is exactly what it says in the title. It certainly is inspirational for botanical drawing, but don't expect there to be much advice on painting the finished drawing as this is only mentioned, almost in passing, on a few pages. I would hesitate to recomed the book to someone who has little or no experience in botanical drawing, other than something to aim for in future work. However for anyone who has been drawing and painting plants for a while I would say that this book will help you to reach a very high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful guide to botanical drawing, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
The subtitle claims that this book is inspirational, and it's no exaggeration. The author has produced a work of amazing detail and great beauty. Gorgeous photographs and superb examples of botanical painting supplement Sarah Simblet's own wonderful drawings. The specimens are presented in ways designed to reveal their underlying structure, and there is a wealth of biological information. For anyone who wants to learn how plants work, as well as any aspiring botanical artist, this book is a real treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 19 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
I just love this book, and return to it again and again. The drawings are so 'alive' and fluid, and just makes me want to go out sketching. This book is big, and full of interesting bits of info, without being too simplistic. It will appeal to all levels of skill and will also be of interest to anyone who just loves botany. A must for any collection of good quality art books, and a great price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Buy, 23 Feb 2012
By 
www.cjtbotanicart.com (Penarth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
The market currently seems flooded with instructional art books which set out to teach one "how to" paint or draw botanical subjects. However, these often end up being bland homogenous affairs, in which one is indoctrinated in the author's tedious methodology. This however, as its subtitle says, is "an inspirational guide to drawing plants" where the author leads by example, rather than step-by-step instruction. As such, this is a refreshing take on art tuition for those who would prefer not to read another "idiots guide to..."

The book is lavishly illustrated throughout with Simblet's dynamic pen and ink sketches and these are undoubtedly the books greatest strength. Although there are small sections on watercolour painting, these are less successful when compared to her ink work. The premise of this book is to take the reader on a journey through the elemental botany of plants, from their evolution to their fascinating and diverse morphology. As a non-botanist I learnt a lot from the well thought out chapters, especially those on seed dispersal. The text is also interspersed by Sam Scott-Hunter's sensitive and deftly composed photographs, as well as the work of "old masters" which compliment Simblet's artwork well.

I was pleasantly surprised by this book and dare those, even with modest artistic ambitions, not to feel a burning desire to draw after reading it. My only complaint is its oversize binding and weight mean it's a difficult volume to read in bed. But this is only a minor shortcoming from a book that's otherwise a real treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having this book is like having a botany art museum at home., 10 Feb 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 1:15 Mins

Botany for the Artist is a gorgeous reference for plants. The pages are filled with a mix of photographic plant portraits and Sarah Simblet's detailed sketches. Everything's beautifully laid out. The exquisite illustrations in the book are mainly black and white.

As with typical DK books, it's also filled with educational information. Every part of the plant is explored, from the roots, stems, leaves, flowers to the fruits. They are provided with scientific names and also interesting information on how they grow and their functions.

The drawing lessons are short two-page guides at drawing found throughout the book. There are tips on capturing likeness, establishing the composition, adding colours and details. Also included are selected features on Renaissance botany artist.

This is an excellent resource for botany artists. Having this book is like having a botany art museum at home.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book!, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
I found this book really great. I was concerned that it would be too technical but it is well written,easy to follow and beautifully illustrated. I would recommend it to anyone but especially Botanical Illustrators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Phoebe (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
This is the book I've been looking for - an introduction to botany written and illustrated by someone who's an artist. Botanical art is an absorbing and very difficult subject to learn, as I'm discovering, and having some knowledge of the structures of different parts of the plants is essential. I've never been someone who enjoyed the purely scientific aspects of botany, but this book makes it an absolutely fascinating subject. It's easy to read and Sarah Simblet's beautiful drawings are breathtaking. The subtitle is 'an inspirational guide to drawing plants' and that's exactly what it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning drawings, 8 Mar 2010
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced book. The drawings are breathtakingly detailed. It would be worth buying for these and Sara Simblet's painting of a watermelon which is a superb example of her craft. I begrudge the space taken by the photographs in the book (although they are first class) and would have preferred more watercolours or historical prints, which are very informative. I also would have liked more ideas on building a page of work including preliminary drawings and ending in a watercolour - also painting without any preliminary drawing. I think even non-artists would find it a fascinating volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botany artist, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Stuart L. Stacey "glover" (Andover Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
Really love this book. Arrived a few days after I had ordered it and I was completely blown away
by it especailly the drawings which were out of this world. I will always use this book and will be
trying to copy drawings from it for years to come. Well worth the wait. Surprised by how good I think
it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars botany for the artist, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants (Hardcover)
An absolutely fabulous book for the botanic artist.....has a selection of how to's and demos. The graphics are superb. Couldn't give a higher recommendation for a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants
Botany for the Artist: An Inspirational Guide to Drawing Plants by Sarah Simblet (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2010)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews