Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Reccomended for all mums & dads to be!
I bought this book early in my first pregnancy & have found it very informative. You can read about the babies development day by day and your health & changing body with excellent, interesting pictures for each day. I would highly reccomend for all mums & dads to be.
Published on 14 Dec 2009 by S. Stubbs

versus
102 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitesize chunks but some inaccuracies
Having harassed my husband with information weekly ("did you know that this week the baby will start doing x, y, z"), when I saw a book that promised to give me an update every single day, I was sold!

It has been really nice to sit down and read this together every day, and because it is in such small chunks, just a page a day, I think you are far more likely...
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by A customer


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Reccomended for all mums & dads to be!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
S. Stubbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
I bought this book early in my first pregnancy & have found it very informative. You can read about the babies development day by day and your health & changing body with excellent, interesting pictures for each day. I would highly reccomend for all mums & dads to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information - recommended, 27 Sep 2009
By 
Thiri Thant Mon (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
I'm expecting my first baby and bought the ever-popular 'What to Expect When You're Expecting', which I found quite informative. However, I was looking for a book that went into a bit more detail and was recommended the 'Day by Day Pregnancy Book' by my consultant ObGyn who is a contributing author. I absolutely adore this book. It has weekly diagrams and photos of the baby's development as well as information and advice from pre-conception through to the first days with the baby. Strongly recommended for anyone looking for a comprehensive guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 118 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitesize chunks but some inaccuracies, 5 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
Having harassed my husband with information weekly ("did you know that this week the baby will start doing x, y, z"), when I saw a book that promised to give me an update every single day, I was sold!

It has been really nice to sit down and read this together every day, and because it is in such small chunks, just a page a day, I think you are far more likely to read this all the way through than you would a book with a more conventional format- thrilled as my husband is about the baby I think this day-by-day set up is the only way I could have got him to read about the pregnancy.

However, naturally because of this layout, not all the information under a specific day will be applicable to you, eg there are bits on twins scattered through the book, they have put info on sun care under 14 weeks of pregnancy if I recall rightly, which of course, will not coincide with summer for many women at this stage of pregnancy etc etc...obviously you just ignore the bits that don't apply, but on a couple of occasions this has meant that there hasn't been much under that specific day that was relevant to us.

My main bug-bear is that the book has some inaccuracies, and even contradicts itself a few times- for example, on the 7th day after birth they talk about the heel prick test, and say that it has to be done between days 5 and 7....this isn't true! I'm a midwife, and it is done between days 5 and 8! Not a massive thing, but if a couple had their home visit for this test put off until day 8 it could cause them some worry thinking it would be too late. Also on one page it mentions that a "show", the mucous plug coming away, is a sure sign of imminent labour- but then 4 pages later in their "ask a midwife" section, she advises that a show can occur up to 6 weeks before labour begins. I am 14 weeks and according to them, my baby can't hear anything yet, (although numerous other sources say that the fetus can hear at this stage), but they then later say that from 9 weeks onwards the fetus will jump at loud sounds in the uterus. They say that from around 26 weeks some fetus' will start practising opening their eyes- actually new research has shown some babies doing this as early as 18 weeks on scans. This book put tends to put the development a little bit behind what other sources suggest, I suppose they are erring on the side of caution, but when you are a parent-to-be longing to hear your baby is getting really big or doing loads of stuff, it can be a bit frustrating.

Another minor niggle is how "sure of itself" this book is- "you WILL be visited by a midwife on this day", "you WILL be feeling better now"...umm, well no, actually, as a midwife who does home visits, you may not necessarily receive a visit on the days they state categorically that you will, and no, I don't feel a whole lot better now I'm past 12 weeks, actually I feel worse, don't rub it in!

Overall though, it's pretty detailed, interesting, and easy to read, and I think you're more likely to actually read this book from cover to cover than some others because of the day by day layout, so you'll get value for money- just don't take it as complete gospel.
Incidentally, since this book covers from day "one" of the pregnancy, ie before you have actually conceived, it may also be of interest to couples trying to conceive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A daily ritual, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
The authors struggle for things to right some days, and end up repeating themselves, but it has been nice reading this to the bump on a nightly basis, and is very insightful in the early stages when the baby is developing so quickly!

While it's focused on pregnancy, there is some useful guidance for when the baby arrives. There are also the occasional bits of insight for expectant dads, and for those expecting twins. But if you are expecting twins I would recommend getting a specialist book, given the differences in development pace, and size etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was good to have something to look at each day, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
This was very helpful. It was good to have something to look at each day. With some handy tips and thoughts. It also has a helpful guide to birth and the first few weeks at the back which was helpful. Also helped hubby feel a bit more engaged, especially as he couldn't come to all anti-natal appointments. The pictures of growing baby are lovely. Helped make it all seem a bit more real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide although as it was written some time ago ..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
Good guide although as it was written some time ago some of the infoprmation will not be factually correct as things change over time. Contains some very useful inofrmation and has good amount of diagrams and photos. brought this for my daughter and she loves it and has found it really useful to refer to/keep up with what baby is doing while he is growing. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
Lovely day by day book for any expectant mother. Shows pictures and lots of details of your growing baby day by day. Best book I had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
I would highly reccomend for all mums & dads to be. Plenty of informations and very nice pictures. Must have it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great informative book, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
Bought this second hand, it was mentioned that the top cover was a bit damaged so I was expecting that but the rest was great and couldn't tell it was used! Very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only pregnancy reference book you need! 5*, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Day-by-Day Pregnancy Book: Comprehensive Advice from a Team of Experts and Amazing Images Every Single Day (Hardcover)
Absolutely love this book (just make sure you buy the version with the pink top right corner banner, which is the updated one. Just search Amazon). If you only buy one pregnancy reference resource; buy this! Full of informative and useful information to guide you through each DAY of pregnancy, with lots of baby development photos and biology, it really does tick every box. I have several other pregnancy and antenatal books but none match the sheer level of relevant and accessible information in this one. 5 stars! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews