Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Value
This is an impressive book: useful for anyone learning English or Polish. I have been learning Polish for a few weeks and this was a welcome change from the usual material available for English people. A Polish friend took a look and now wants a copy, even though her English is already excellent. It is NOT an alternative to a standard POL-ENG dictionary. It is the best...
Published on 15 Nov. 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I was a bit disappointed with this book. The main problem for me was the typeface size. It's too small so that the dots and dashes over certain letters in Polish cannot be clearly seen, thereby making it is easy to mistake it for another letter with a different pronunciation. There are also not pictures of every word with boxes at the bottom of many pages giving a list of...
Published on 30 Jun. 2011 by M. S. Woodley


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polish Visual Dictionary, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
A first class visual aid which provides a huge amount of information using pictures and dual-language descriptions in almost every possible situation. Well worth the money....buy it....you'll be delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea!, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Ellis "Alex Ellis" (CAMBS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
The photos are clear and of exceptional quality. The words and images are organised into themes and provide a comprehensive level of detail for each subject.
The only pitfall for me of the text would be the lack of gender given for the words. As far as learning an inflected language like Polish is concerned, it is very important to know the gender of each new word learnt -- this is something elementary I would expect from a 'dictionary.'
This book is probably a bit bulky to take backpacking, but would be very useful for a longer trip in Poland or to complement studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This is a good practical, concise and comprehensive aid in learning the very difficult language of Polish.
Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ponglish pictionary, 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. No pronunciation help really (Osborne's First Thousand Words in Polish is the one for that!), but does what it says on the tin. I've also bought one for a Polish colleague whose family find it invaluable, especially at the doctors when pointing doesn't always get the message across!
Very clear book, well defined chapters and index in Polish and English so speakers of either language can use this easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really cool book. Its great to just pick up and ..., 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Really cool book. Its great to just pick up and browse! Like other comments said its not a traditional dictionary, so if you are looking for that I would suggest you look elsewhere. But great at increasing vocabulary on words you would not encounter everyday. Such as what different types of soil are called. Its great to find out the Polish/ English name for things even if you don't know the name in your mother-tongue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter who is learning Polish at the moment. She has found the book really helpful, as it has some excellent photographs in it of everyday things and situations. This has made it much more interesting and easier to learn this very hard language. This book has been so useful that one of my daughters Polish friends has also ordered this book, to help her with her English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's great. I have sold hundreds for you!, 1 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
I teach English as a foreign language, mostly to Polish students. I was given one by a Polish student. I took it into class and it just took off from there. It's great in a classroom because if there is a problem you have a picture to show them. They love this book. My only criticism is that from my point of view there is no pronunciation guide. Oh there is another - please do one in Bulgarian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Polish/English visual dictionary, 17 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me in learning Polish, and it really helps, in that you see what you are talking about. In fact it's so good that I have had to buy two more copies to send to Poland to my friends, as they too were impressed with it, as it works in reverse for them. A great addition to any Polish language course/books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dorling_Kindersley Polish-English Visual Dictionary, 7 Dec. 2010
By 
Larrygo (Winslow, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
An excellently produced dictionary although a little heavy for the pocket due to the coated pages on which the elegant illustrations are printed. DK might gain additional sales of smaller items like this if printed on un-coated paper since such an item is not being purchased as a 'coffe-table' display volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AN INSPIRATIONAL LANGUAGE RESOURCE, 18 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) (Paperback)
Having previously been given a copy of the 5-language D&K dictionary, I knew what to expect when the Polish version came out. Of equal value both to native Polish and English speakers, it represents a unique vocabulary-building resource that is of immeasurable use in real-life situations. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries)
Polish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (DK Bilingual Dictionaries) by First Edition Translations Limited (Paperback - 1 April 2008)
£7.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews