Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars61
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2008
This is an impressive book: useful for anyone learning English or Polish. I have been learning Polish for a few weeks and this was a welcome change from the usual material available for English people. A Polish friend took a look and now wants a copy, even though her English is already excellent. It is NOT an alternative to a standard POL-ENG dictionary. It is the best Polish book I have for simply picking up and browsing, and I've bought most of them on here.
0Comment24 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2009
If there's such a thing as a coffee-table dictionary this is it. Whereas my other dictionaries are either on book shelves or in the bag I carry with me to work/classes, this one really does sit on the coffee table at home. The beautiful presentation combines with a size and weight that makes the book feel good to hold (there are some very clever people at Dorling Kindersley), with the result that I often pick this picture-dictionary up to browse through it during quiet moments. How often can you say that about a dictionary?

The only negative (and I am not taking a star off for this as the dictionary is otherwise so good) is that there is nothing specific to Poland in the book. It is clear that the same set of photographs is used regardless of which language the dictionary is for (DK do picture dictionaries for a number of languages), so anything that is unique to Poland does not appear in the dictionary, this being particularly noticeable in the various food pages. Even so, this is still a great book.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Its a good size to stick in your bag, read on the bus ect. The dictionary is basically split into sections ie. appearance, Health, home, services and each section has colour images with arrows pointing to them explaining the words in both english and polish.

However if you are new to polish then i would recommend getting the Collins easy learning polish audio course as this will help with your pronunciation, the lonely planet polish phrase book is also good as it has key phrases, plus a pronunciation key in a handy pocket size book.

This book would also be good if you are polish wanting to learn english.

FANTASTIC
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
This book is small -- but slightly too thick to be considered a 'pocket' edition. Nonetheless, this DK visual dictionary is a great resource. Although all of the people and things inside are American stock photos rather than indicative of Poland, it has 6000(!) words connected to each one; human anatomy; work; leisure; around the home; traveling; nightlife; agriculture; computing (...) are just a small selection of the vocabulary areas explored.

Although this won't be an issue for those with a basic or intermediate understanding of the Polish language, the dictionary gives the absolute briefest pronunciation guide as to the 32 letter Polish alphabet and equivalent English sounds. Thus, it may not be useful for the casual reader as one MUST know the right pronunciations of the accented letters, otherwise you'll likely confuse a Polish person if you meet one.

As with DK books, this dictionary is very well made; filled with glossy photos; smooth and sturdy pages; and bound with a tough spine. However, all this means the small book is deceptively weighty.

Still, this Polish/English dictionary is a clever concept and will be immensely useful to anyone serious about learning Polish.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
A very useful book for any English speaker visiting Poland, but also for any Polish person in an English speaking environment.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
I was a bit disappointed with this book. The main problem for me was the typeface size. It's too small so that the dots and dashes over certain letters in Polish cannot be clearly seen, thereby making it is easy to mistake it for another letter with a different pronunciation. There are also not pictures of every word with boxes at the bottom of many pages giving a list of further words associated with the pictured items.

Ultimately I am not sure who this book is for. There is no pronunciation guide (so you will need some experience of Polish letters to work out how the words are spoken), no grammar guide (so you cannot form sentences of your own) and the format is probably too big to keep in your pocket on holiday. Also despite having one on the cover, I couldn't find the word for accordion in there either!

It is an all colour book on high quality paper so it is not bad value for money, but a standard dictionary is probably more useful.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
bought it as a Xmas present for my English friend and to be honest its not brilliant. Photos used to describe some word don't show Poland at all.. in example food, emergency services. The biggest downside in my opinion is missing phonetic list of polish letters. We have quite a few different ones and its impossible to read polish word in English way.
regards
Piotr
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
I purchased this a few years ago as part of an attempt to learn some Polish as a number of my colleagues are native speakers. Not only has it helped me, but it has also been invaluable to many of them. One particular example was when a few of them where learning First Aid (in English). Obviously many of the terms where unfamiliar as they are not used in day to day language, however not only does this book have the terms in both English and Polish but it also has diagrams of the human body! Likewise a close friend who is a native Polish speaker and pretty fluent in English has found this book contains many of the terms she has had difficulty finding in other dictionaries - simply because it is organised in categories with pictures making it very easy to find what you are looking for. I also have the German version of this and the content is identical (with German replacing the Polish). My friends have remarked that the words given in Polish actually correlate to the pictures/English which apparently is not always the case with some of the phrase books. Being a difficult language to pronounce, this book is also handy to simply point at an item - the text is always there to explain exactly what you are meaning to say incase of any confusion and the English text means you know exactly what the picture (and Polish) text are saying to the other party.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
This is an excellent book. I have been using it and my Polish colleagues have been delighted with it too. They had never seen a Visual Dictionary before and it was great to see their enthusiasm in being able to find new words within clear topic sections. The quality of the photographs/ images is excellent- very clear, colourful and appealing. The food/ meat/ vegetables section was particularly useful to us all. We have been amazed at the depth of coverage from car/ garage parts to medical terms. We have found that having a visual dictionary is particularly useful when the name for something is not known in ones' native language. The price is also amazing too given what it cost for a normal dictionary.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
A good reference tool for those only looking for "words" rather than full sentences / grammer (but then again it is a "dictionary"). That said there are some useful phrases also included. It is also very useful having pictures for easy reference and being constructed in themed chapteres . . . although I would suggest that you familiorise yourself with what is included in each otherwise your conversation can suddenly die when you have to refer to the idex at teh back.

There is no significant assistence with pronouciation as with some other books I have seen so I have had to write these in as I learnt them.

For a pocket refernce book I highly rate this and would definatly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.