Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way of the Warrior by Chris Crudelli
I bought "The Way of the Warrior" because of a fascination and deep interest in martial arts and their history. What you actually get with "The Way of the Warrior" is one of the most in depth and informative encyclopaedia on any subject written. The sheer effort, energy and visually stunning nature of this book are evident from your first inevitable flick through as you...
Published on 4 Oct. 2008 by HNN

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but could have been better
This book by Chris Crudelli (and the DK team) is a very good looking book about martial arts and fighting styles from around the world.
It covers nearly all of the globe and I have to say that I learned quite a lot about unknown (to me anyway) martial arts.
It has sections on Asia/India, China, Japan, Europe etc and does feature some excellent photographs to...
Published on 14 May 2009 by M. J. Maley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way of the Warrior by Chris Crudelli, 4 Oct. 2008
I bought "The Way of the Warrior" because of a fascination and deep interest in martial arts and their history. What you actually get with "The Way of the Warrior" is one of the most in depth and informative encyclopaedia on any subject written. The sheer effort, energy and visually stunning nature of this book are evident from your first inevitable flick through as you try to comprehend the wealth of martial arts that exist. It is actually when you sit down and start to really read "The Way of the Warrior" that you realise that you have made a purchase that is going to both inform and entertain you as a martial arts fan or knowledge fanatic. Gone are the days of "this martial art is better" or "this is more deadly than that." Chris Crudelli (author) presents you with informed, unbiased truths about the codified fight systems that have existed for centuries. The history of martial arts is presented as a journey through the world not just the precious domain of the Far East. For the first time the passage of fighting systems and how countries pooled from each other is truly exposed giving the reader a genuine perspective into how we as humans have always learnt from each other regardless of colour or creed. The writing is clear, always informative and will appeal to martial artists and casual readers alike.
For me, what really takes this book to the highest level is the fact that every page is a visual feast. The photography is stunning. The book and its information leaps off the page because you are presented with such exciting imagery so descriptive in its nature you would be excused for thinking this book was a work of art. Every page is soaked in bold and artistic yet completely functional images. Not the standard martial arts photography you have seen before but new perspectives and specifically commissioned photography giving this book a completely unique feel.
I would recommend this book to martial artists. I would recommend this book to fans of photography. I would recommend this book to anyone that reads. "The Way of the Warrior" does not polarise its potential buyer base. I do not own anything like this book and it is going to take a lot of effort to find any encyclopaedia that comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful encyclopedia of martial arts, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
It's not often you find a coffee-table style book devoted to the martial arts but this really is a hefty, large format tome filled with lots of high quality colour photographs.

This could equally well have been titled, "The Dorling Kindersley Colour Encyclopedia of Martial Arts" since it IS really comprehensive. It covers everything from Zulu stick fighting to pro boxing to sumo, with each sport covered in almost an equal level of detail. However, its main selling point is the huge number of large, action photos in each section which capture the excitement (and danger) of fighting sports.

I don't usually like buying books with cover prices of £25 but due to the size and quality of this hardback I have to admit it does offer value for money. However, it's probably more suited to the shelves of a public library than the home of a practising martial artist or boxer or wrestler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 Nov. 2008
By 
E. hales "whizzy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
If you have never experienced any martial art, this book is still worth buying. I am amazed at the photographic content and descriptions which show how well the author has researched this book.It is totally flickable and a great addition to any library! I am buying more than one copy for xmas this year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but could have been better, 14 May 2009
By 
M. J. Maley "mikeitup" (here) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
This book by Chris Crudelli (and the DK team) is a very good looking book about martial arts and fighting styles from around the world.
It covers nearly all of the globe and I have to say that I learned quite a lot about unknown (to me anyway) martial arts.
It has sections on Asia/India, China, Japan, Europe etc and does feature some excellent photographs to accompany the text.
As a southern Chinese kung fu practitioner I was surprised that quite a few styles were not included. Choy Li Fut was and also the Hung Sing branch of this style but not the Buk Sing branch. Also Hung Gar was mentioned as was my style (Lau Gar) but not other famous styles such as Mok Gar, Li Gar, the differnet types of Wing Chun (HK & Foshan for example), and the different Southern Praying Mantis styles (Chow Gar, Jook Lum, Iron Ox etc) and also Mainland Chinese Lau Gar and Lung Ying.
I think these should have been included and would have been happy if they took the place of the section about the kung fu disneyland or the Shaolin Temple as it is known. I personally found the Shaolin section to be a waste of space as the "modern" Temple is just a money making machine for the chinese government and does not teach "authentic" shaolin kung fu. It WAS derelict until the early 1980's!
Apart from that it is quite a good book overall but it could have been alot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully illustrated introduction to the martial arts, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Burgess "Samurai Ronin" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
I have always liked the style of the DK books & I have a great interest in the martial arts, so this was a perfect pairing for me. I wasn't dissapointed when I got my hands on a copy, the photography is stunning & it is an enjoyable read.
As with most DK books, it doesn't delve deep into each of the hundreds of differing martial arts that it covers, but offers a small synopsis of each style, with the exception of a number of the most commonly practiced martial arts. For those readers who are searching for a deeper exploration of the history & philosophies of the martial arts, there are many other more relevant sources to be found elsewhere. But this book presents a lot of interesting information on the different styles, including some of the more uncommon martial arts. It is nicely laid out & like I mentioned before, the photography is beautiful & is worth the purchase alone.
This would make the perfect gift for a martial artist, or for anyone who wants an interesting 'coffee table' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book worth having, 28 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
I received a copy of this book for Christmas and I must say it stands out as well put together and well presented. It's a great all round reference book for Martial Arts and well worth purchasing a copy of.

There is little point in me going in to depth about the book as it has all been said in the other reviews but for me I was a little disappointed in the lack of UK and European based martial arts featured. There has been a ground swell of European martial arts growing over the past 20 years or more and the UK has a large growing community of western style martial artists which are not featured. It would seem that some of the worlds `lesser known' martial arts have been included but it is a shame that Chris Crudelli missed out on UK based martial arts such as TE-MA (Traditional English Martial Arts), English Country Backswording (whihc has been around for ceturies) and the plethora of weapons based combat systems currently being taught throughout the UK and Europe. Yes it does mention a few but considering the martial heritage of the UK and Europe that goes back over 2,000 years, a little more research would have revealed a lot more content that could have been added.

Overall though this is a book that has been a long time coming and hopefully any future revised edition may include the above mentioned.

Go buy a copy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great encyclopedia of martial arts, 29 April 2009
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
I got this book after finding it in my recomendations list. The name of the author rung a bell so i had a look. Seemed to get good reviews so i ordered it on a whim. It is a great collection of information and superb picturs on just about any and all martial arts and/or fighting systems. You are not going to find any hidden moves or secret techniques in here but for a someone interested in martial arts this is a great bit of light reading. Big book though! Very impressed and would definalty recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way of the Warrior By Chris Crudelli, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
A. J. Rhodes "Big Bad Ade" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is the definitive guide to the FIghting Arts the world over. Just about every martial covered from every corner of the globe, a tremendous achievement and a visiually stunning and informative book. Chris Crudelli should be proud of creating such a masterpiece.

A concise explanantion of diferent martial arts as well as behind the scenes looks and in depth interviews with todays most prominent Masterts and Practitioners.

This Book is a DEFINATE must for any who has an interest in Martial Arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a big book, 11 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
To begin with I was a bit disappointed as many of the martial arts mentioned have little said about them. However since that initial read I've come back to this book time and again for a 'quick' look and I keep finding something of interest to read. The sheer number of fighting forms mentioned is astounding many of which I've never heard of before and this is where the book has to trade off number of forms mentioned against the amount of space available to describe each of them. This is a great coffee table book, something to pick up and just flick through looking for something to catch one's eye which won't take long given the wonderful pictures. It has left me hungry to know more about every style I've read about so far but therein lies the disappointment. ultimately I would have preferred the book to cost twice as much be twice as thick and contain more information on each fighting form. I feel that a book covering so many martial art forms could be more of a reference book as the opportunity is there to compare and contrast many of the styles and this is what I was hoping for. Having said that the book would not so much be on the coffee table as holding the coffee table up! I can see myself flicking through it for some time to come and think it was worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Encyclopaedia, 28 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World (Hardcover)
There are many pictures of a very high standard in here, but as a graphic designer/photographer I wonder why the cover is so average. Don't let it put you off, it's a visual treat inside, and generally a picture can show you certain techniques a lot easier than text.

This is definitely world based, with the 7 sections labelled the Indian Subcontinent, China and Korea, Japan, SE Asia and Oceania, Africa and Middle East, Europe, and The Americas.

Obviously the Chinese section is the largest, with the Japan and the SE Asia sections not far behind.

The most well known arts are given a few pages in depth, while the lesser known may be 2-3 to a page. It would be impossible to go in depth on each art. You could write 10 books on Jujitsu alone so don't expect it to answer everything. A summary of lesser known Indian or Senegalese arts is all most people will need. For what this is, it is brilliant and there isn't much you could add to it.

This is a big wad of a book, hardcover and quite thick. Well worth the £16.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of the Warrior: Martial Arts and Fighting Skills from Around the World
Used & New from: £6.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews