Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jams & Chutneys
If you're looking to buy one book on jams and chutneys - this is it. It has every recipe you will ever need - I've already made the strawberry jam, raspberry curd, onion marmalade, rose wine jelly, tomato ketchup, Hoi sin sauce, limoncello, sweet dipping sauce, elderflower cordial and bread and butter chutney... and I've still 140 recipes to go! Best of all it's full of...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by S. Seiden

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely convinced...a pity
I've just finished making the first recipe (easy marmalade) from this. I consider myself pretty able in the kitchen and have been baking and making these types of things for years. While the book is great and i was GENUINELY excited about making everything in it, this first recipe has me a little concerned. The measurements were off and it ended up taking me about 3 x the...
Published on 12 July 2012 by FMK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the Harvest, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Newvistas (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
My wife is new to fruit and vegetable preservation and came across the book in the Library. She borrowed it, attempted some of the recipes with good success and so decided to buy. She found the book informative, practical, easy to follow and gave her plenty of scope to gain experience. Having moved to an area where there is an abundance of fruit in the countryside, she can see that this will be a well used book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
Absolutely excellent. We love this book and have really enjoyed trying the recipes. Very clear instructions, nice pictures and easy to follow. Cupboard now full of jams and chutney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 31 Dec 2009
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
This is a great little book, easy to follow recipes and great ideas. A must to anyone wishing to make jams or chutneys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jams, Chutneys ... and the rest!, 19 Nov 2008
By 
G. Don Fielder (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
"Jams & Chutneys" just doesn't do this book justice! There's so much more to it than that. It begins with a chapter on techniques and equipment, with all you need to know about ingredients, pots, pans, jars and the rest, with a description of the cooking methods for jams, jellies, curds, chutneys and savoury preserves.

Recipe chapters focus separately on berries, stone fruit, vegetables, orchard fruit such as apples, figs and pears, flowers & herbs, tropical fruit, citrus and spices. There are a few drinks too, such as frozen cranberry vodka, elderflower cordial and raspberry gin.

This is a beautifully laid-out and photographed book, in typical Dorling-Kindersley style, tasteful and informative. Amongst the recipes, you'll find such well-known staples as Tomato Ketchup, Piccalilli and Strawberry Jam but there also some wonderful-sounding unusual ones such as Lavender jelly, Melon & Vanilla conserve, Carrot & Cardamom jam, Candied Chestnuts, Rosé wine & Rose Petal jelly and various dipping sauces and vinegars. Gorgeous!

If you're at all keen on doing your own preserving, you'll be thrilled with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy!!!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
Cant wait to try out some of the recipes, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
That's all my Christmas presents sorted. So many things to make from this book & I am so glad I bought it early in the year so I can make things in time. Would recommend to anyone keen on making preserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Jam & Chutney Book, 19 May 2014
By 
wj (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
This is an excellent source book with the science, the practical and the recipes all in one place... I'm delighted with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recipes, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
Bought this book sometime ago along with a few other books on the subject. Having tried the recipes I have to say they give perfect results. Yummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book - we have made so many of the recipes, all of which are extremely easy to follow and taste delicious - even the combinations which sound odd! My husband was dubious about my making the tomato ketchup as he didn't think that it would work, but it absolutely did - it was the best ketchup that we have ever had. The chutneys have gone down a treat too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy with purchase;, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes (Hardcover)
very happy and would recommend it to anyone who loves to make jams or chutney;s. A great buy for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes
Jams & Chutneys: Preserving the harvest, over 150 recipes by Thane Prince (Hardcover - 2 Jun 2008)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews